A twin jet tanker / awacs - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2018, 01:46 AM   #1
nessuno0505
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default A twin jet tanker / awacs

In theese days I'd like to fly an airliner, so I've done some game in x-plane 11.
No way: VR Is worst, default airliners are too semplified, There are no extensive manuals, not to deal with the flight model. I do not ask for an airliner in DCS, but a twin jet tanker or AWACS could be the best solution to fly a medium size airliner-like Plane in a military environment. A dcs tanker 767 would be the definitive solution for my "problem" of theese days...
nessuno0505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 03:39 AM   #2
Evoman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 93
Default

The KC-10 which is based on the DC-10 might just fit DCS and your needs perfectly. Plus if firefighting ever got introduced the Firefighting tanker variant would also fit in nicely.
I am sure you would get a much more enjoyable kick out of flying firefighting missions down low over a wildfire than just flying along in a plain airliner.






Last edited by Evoman; 09-13-2018 at 03:49 AM.
Evoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:01 AM   #3
nessuno0505
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default

I've suggested a twin jet cause I Remember to have read somewhere that DCS Is not modeled for more than two engines. The model you suggest Is three engines. But you get the point. A subsonic medium range "big" plane. It Is military related, It Is suited for DCS maps size, It fits military type missions both single and multiplayer. I know ED already has a defined roadmap, but maybe a 3rd party developer could take It into consideration.

Last edited by nessuno0505; 09-14-2018 at 09:14 AM.
nessuno0505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:30 AM   #4
MustangSally
Member
 
MustangSally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 443
Default

KC-30A comes to mind

__________________


Obutto Ozone
i7-7740x @ 4.9 (Delided), ASRock X299 Fatal1ty M/B
Samsung 970 EVO Series 500GB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD
Crucial M500 and M300 SSD's, 32gig GSkill Ripjaws DDR4
Gigabyte 1080Ti, Corsair 1115 Pro water cooler
Philips BDM3270QP2/75 32inch 2k monitor
HP L2105TM Touch screen
Virpil T-50 Mongoos Throttle
Virpil T50 CM, VKB T-Rudders Mk.IV, TrackIr, DS FLT1

Please remember that there is no such word as "aircrafts"

Last edited by MustangSally; 09-14-2018 at 02:35 AM.
MustangSally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 01:07 PM   #5
doldi1989@web.de
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Posts: 61
Default

+ 1^10
doldi1989@web.de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 03:36 PM   #6
Evoman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 93
Default

There is also the newest KC-46 tanker based on the Boeing 767 which is a twin engine. But since its is so new I am not sure of the feasibility.

There is also a AWACS variant called the E-767 but only Japan operates them.





Last edited by Evoman; 09-14-2018 at 03:42 PM.
Evoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:08 PM   #7
nessuno0505
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default

Yes, maybe Kc-46 is too new, but hey… what can there be so secret in a 767 (that, for instance, is all but new)? Maybe Kc-30a is more feasible? Anyway, I think that obtaining precise data of a 767 or an airbus a-330 (on which kc-30a is based) should not be so difficult… they are civil airliners after all.

Just imagine a multiplayer multicrew mission with four people in which two people fly the tanker, one operates the boom and the latter flies a refueling hornet…
I could spend all my time in DCS doing such things!

Last edited by nessuno0505; 09-14-2018 at 04:12 PM.
nessuno0505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:19 PM   #8
Airj247
Member
 
Airj247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 204
Default

What about an A310 aerial refueling, it’s a little smaller than the 767 and A330 and might better fit the map size we got. Plus quite I a bit of countries use it as a base for airway refueling and transport.
__________________
Modules: A10C, Mig 21, F15C, F5E, M2000C, AV8B
Airj247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:21 PM   #9
nessuno0505
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default

A310MRTT. Why not? But I do not believe the size of a subsonic plane is a problem related to DCS maps size. If it's bigger it takes more fuel, but it goes from A to B in the same amount of time.


Last edited by nessuno0505; 09-14-2018 at 04:25 PM.
nessuno0505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 05:06 PM   #10
Airj247
Member
 
Airj247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 204
Default

Ik but we got small runways and stuff lol
__________________
Modules: A10C, Mig 21, F15C, F5E, M2000C, AV8B
Airj247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.