Current Mig-29 in game flight model - Page 6 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2018, 09:46 PM   #51
zhukov032186
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 1,270
Default

That's why 1.5.8 remains available, for people with older systems, they can use the 5-10 year old engine. 2.5 is a different, much newer game which happens to provide backwards compatibility with already purchased modules.

The just released Doom requires a higher end/newer PC than the Doom 3 relaunch, which required more than Quake, which required more than Dos Doom. It's the way of things, always has been, always will be. I get not wanting to spend money :p But it's not anybody's fault. If they didn't upgrade game engines and so forth people would stop buying their product, too.

Nobody is putting a gun to anybody's head and forcing them to upgrade, the old game is still available, all the way back to LOMAC. BUT if somebody wants NEW stuff for the NEW game, they gotta keep up with the requirements.

The floppy died, the vhs died, the cd died, the dvd is rapidly passing away, etc. No, what people want doesn't matter if what they want is for technology to stay static, because it's not going to.

And yeah, peope will keep buying their product, because everybody is upgrading to meet the requirements, including you. DCS requires a modern low-to-mid range computer or a high end computer from 4-5 years ago. You have a mid range pc from 4-5 years ago, which puts you having to do a partial upgrade of weaker components. People much further down get bumped out altogether or have to stay with the previous game engine.

A current gen $600-700 PC can handle DCS as a minimum go. That's not 'extreme' or unreasonable. Even if it was, see Ferrarri and Lamborghini as examples of successful high end products. Just because something is out of one man's price range means nothing. So, no. 'What people want' doesn't matter
__________________
I do solemnly swear to strafe every pilot I shoot down, destructible or not, circumstances permitting, because reasonz. Opponents are advised to assume the position upon landing, or preferably, while still in the air.
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 09:48 PM   #52
Zoomer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jockey View Post
I couldn't agree more, except with the proposition in bold.
Because, at the end of the day, we are talking about money here.

I really do appreciate new and better graphics, features, realism, etc.

But if game developers make software in a way that gamers are forced to spend obscene amounts of money in hardware just to keep going, the tendency is to people stop buying their games - because everybody has their limit to spend money.

By the way, would Heatblur F-14 work with DCS World 1.5.x.x version, or one is obligated to have version 2.5 ?
The 770 is an old card now and game engines evolve for the better as demanded. You can buy 2nd hand 970`s for less than a 100 euro on ebay which would solve your problem. As for your CPU, I have the same i7 4790k which is one of the best gaming CPU`s around today. My one is paired with a 1070, but I`m using a rift and would be wasting my time with anything less than that for VR purposes.
Zoomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:32 AM   #53
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhukov032186 View Post
It's a CPU four generations or so removed. Not yet wholey obsolescent, but 'price tag' is utterly irrelevant.
Four Intel 'generations' you mean? Until AMD came out with Ryzen and forced them to finally add two more cores to their mainstream line, Intel has been pretty much selling the same architecture over and over (e.g. starting with Sandy Bridge) with minor refinements which would net like 5% improvement over the previous one.

So, there's nothing wrong with the i7 4790K and won't be for quite some time until multiple cores become used much more effectively as it doesn't seem likely some revolutionary new architecture will appear that would improve the single core performance significantly.
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1 btn 2 axis gameport joystick, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are absolutely useless. Just passing time till DCS: F-14..

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!

Last edited by Dudikoff; 09-14-2018 at 06:41 AM.
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:41 AM   #54
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jockey View Post
Man... I was mentally making time estimates to the Tomcat release, and now I realise I must first spend more money in hardware.
You're in the mid-range with your PC so stop whining. I have really low-end and it doesn't stop me from having loads of fun with 2.5 from day one! But I fly instead of counting fps.
And I wait for 14B too.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:18 PM   #55
Top Jockey
Member
 
Top Jockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
You're in the mid-range with your PC so stop whining. I have really low-end and it doesn't stop me from having loads of fun with 2.5 from day one! But I fly instead of counting fps.
And I wait for 14B too.
If I'm "whining", it's because I realised I need to spend some more money to be able to keep going with the sim, and eventually fly the F-14.

Let's see if i can explain myself :

- I already know I need a new GPU and an SSD also;
- your PC allows you to effectivelly fly with 2.5 version;
- mine does not ;

After 2 minutes or so of flight in Caucasus, with only my aircraft in the air (no other aircraft or ground units), it sudenly freezes.
I have all my graphic settings on LOW or OFF, and my FPS oscillate around 60.

CTRL + ALT + DEL ;
ALT + Enter ;
Windows key ;
Esc key, etc

All that have no effect whatsoever when the game freezes.
After that the PC goes to BSOD.

Yesterday managed to fly for brief moments without allowing it to freeze, got out of the sim and checked HW Monitor for GPU and HDD temperatures and % of utilization:

- GPU -

Max. temp - 65 ºC

GPU utilization - 100 %
Frame Buffer - 31 %
Video engine - 0 %
Bus Interface - 11 % (not sure)

- HDD -

Max. temp - 43 ºC ; never had this high temperature before, even on other sims.

Which makes me believe that even the HDD was being pushed to his limits...

- CPU -

Curiously, the CPU i7 4790 K, was being less used than in other "lighter" sims, go figure :

DCS World 2.5 ; Max. temp - 68 ºC
Strike Fighters 2 ; Max. temp - 81 ºC
__________________
CPU : Intel i7 4790 K
GPU : GeForce GTX 770 ( 2 GB )
RAM : 16 GB DDR 3 ( 1.600 MHz )
HDD : WD 500 GB ( 7.200 rpm )
MoBo : Asus B85M-G

Op. Sys : Win 7, 64 bit
Cooler : Noctua NH-U12P

Last edited by Top Jockey; 09-14-2018 at 12:56 PM.
Top Jockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 01:53 PM   #56
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jockey View Post
If I'm "whining", it's because I realised I need to spend some more money to be able to keep going with the sim, and eventually fly the F-14.

Let's see if i can explain myself :

- I already know I need a new GPU and an SSD also;
- your PC allows you to effectivelly fly with 2.5 version;
- mine does not ;

After 2 minutes or so of flight in Caucasus, with only my aircraft in the air (no other aircraft or ground units), it sudenly freezes.
I have all my graphic settings on LOW or OFF, and my FPS oscillate around 60.
Something is wrong with your system but it doesn't mean DCS 2.5 is totally unplayable. You should probably move this discusion somewhere here:
https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=444
Make detailed thread about what you do, add a picture of the BSOD, attach dcs.log... currently I have no idea what causes it for you.
When GPU is the best part of your rig, no wonder it stays cold.
And don't be that guy. Make an effort and find the problem before buying all new components. Maybe you just need to poke around the settings and drivers. Look, I'm not saying that 2.5 is bug free, though, or do I play without stutters... far from it Just that a lot of people are flying and having great time with it, still buying more modules. You can't really compare this sim niche with any game.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 03:05 PM   #57
frixon28
Member
 
frixon28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: NA
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
I have really low-end and it doesn't stop me from having loads of fun with 2.5 from day one! But I fly instead of counting fps.
If you had "really low-end" you wouldn't even be able to load 2.5, or your game crashes every 10 minutes in 1.5 whenever you look at a city, just saying. Now wheres that 1.2 revert guide...
frixon28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:42 PM   #58
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frixon28 View Post
If you had "really low-end" you wouldn't even be able to load 2.5, or your game crashes every 10 minutes in 1.5 whenever you look at a city, just saying. Now wheres that 1.2 revert guide...
C2D 8400, 8GB, GTX660... you decide. Yeah, I hit minimum requirements only with RAM. Crashes are very rare but I can live with that since I run OB.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 05:21 PM   #59
Vilab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jockey View Post
read that : https://stormbirds.blog/2018/01/31/w...nt-look-right/


you should buy a SSD to replace your HDD, even a "old" ( and cheap ) SATA SSD would help a lot about loading time and stutter/freezes


having pagefiles on SSD instead of HDD is a great improvement too, if you don t have more than 16G of RAM
Vilab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 09:19 PM   #60
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jockey View Post
Curiously, the CPU i7 4790 K, was being less used than in other "lighter" sims, go figure : DCS World 2.5 ; Max. temp - 68 ºC
Strike Fighters 2 ; Max. temp - 81 ºC
That's because the GPU is holding you down in the graphically much more intensive DCSW (100% load).

Strike Fighters 2 engine is completely obsolete and the graphics card can achieve much higher FPS there which then causes your CPU to get pushed harder as you haven't limited the FPS.
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1 btn 2 axis gameport joystick, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are absolutely useless. Just passing time till DCS: F-14..

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flight characteristics, mig-29, sfm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:13 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.