Engine startup A-10C - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2019, 09:37 AM   #31
knightal
Junior Member
 
knightal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintifaxl View Post
Most often than not, enabling this option didn't work properly in my DCS install. I have turned it off and have zero problems. So it definately is not necessary.
Well I just turned it off and all went OK. I'll try a few more cold start missions and see how it goes.
knightal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 03:23 AM   #32
knightal
Junior Member
 
knightal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 57
Default

Thanks everyone for the numerous offer of assistance. I believe I have found the problem.

I found the problem it was a conflict in the saved file for the throttle.
I had to delete a file called "Throttle - HOTAS Warthog" which is a LUA File (.lua). I then reset the "Throttle" to default in the throttle controller section. Then replaced the inappropriate settings and all seems to be OK.

Oh I should ad that I'm using the Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS.

Last edited by knightal; 01-30-2019 at 05:32 AM. Reason: added some info
knightal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 03:03 AM   #33
aleader
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 42
Default

I was having this exact throttle issue today when trying to start the engines. I screwed around for over 2 hours and only managed to get them both started once. I'm wondering if the 2.5.4 update maybe messed something up. I have my old Saitek X45 HOTAS that normally works flawlessly. I thought it maybe had something to do with my recently acquired Cougar MFD's, but I don't think that's it. I'll try your fix...
__________________
Win7/64, i54670k@4.3Ghz, GTX 1070, 16GB RAM, DCS on SSD
aleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 10:44 PM   #34
knightal
Junior Member
 
knightal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aleader View Post
I was having this exact throttle issue today when trying to start the engines. I screwed around for over 2 hours and only managed to get them both started once. I'm wondering if the 2.5.4 update maybe messed something up. I have my old Saitek X45 HOTAS that normally works flawlessly. I thought it maybe had something to do with my recently acquired Cougar MFD's, but I don't think that's it. I'll try your fix...
The location of the file is here just in case you need it:-
root DCS World\Mods\aircraft\A-10C\Input\A-10C\joystick\Throttle - HOTAS Warthog.lua

Yes maybe the 2.5.4 update did do something I only got my Warthog HOTAS after that update so never used it on a previous build.

I also remapped a couple of the switches on my Warthog throttle namely 'ENGINE OPER' and the two 'FUEL NORM OVERRIDE' 'ENG L' & 'ENG R' I'm not at my PC now so not exactly sure what I mapped them to but it was something connected with the engine startup. Let me know if you need to know.

Oh and I made backups of the files once I got rid of the inappropriate controller setting 'DEFAULT' put in. That way if I later on make changes and it cause the conflict again I can easily get back on track.

My main problem has been getting the APU % gauge bottom Right to get up to 100% I've had it stall out since I changed things but think that was more an error on my side.
That said the A-10C seems to be a bit of a beast to get up and running from cold, but after so many attempts I feel I could almost do it with my eyes shut now.

Now if I could know how to launch all the ordinance as easily

Last edited by knightal; 01-26-2019 at 10:53 PM. Reason: added a bit of extra info
knightal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 06:56 PM   #35
aleader
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightal View Post
The location of the file is here just in case you need it:-
root DCS World\Mods\aircraft\A-10C\Input\A-10C\joystick\Throttle - HOTAS Warthog.lua

Yes maybe the 2.5.4 update did do something I only got my Warthog HOTAS after that update so never used it on a previous build.

I also remapped a couple of the switches on my Warthog throttle namely 'ENGINE OPER' and the two 'FUEL NORM OVERRIDE' 'ENG L' & 'ENG R' I'm not at my PC now so not exactly sure what I mapped them to but it was something connected with the engine startup. Let me know if you need to know.

Oh and I made backups of the files once I got rid of the inappropriate controller setting 'DEFAULT' put in. That way if I later on make changes and it cause the conflict again I can easily get back on track.

My main problem has been getting the APU % gauge bottom Right to get up to 100% I've had it stall out since I changed things but think that was more an error on my side.
That said the A-10C seems to be a bit of a beast to get up and running from cold, but after so many attempts I feel I could almost do it with my eyes shut now.

Now if I could know how to launch all the ordinance as easily
I have an X45 HOTAS, so my file is for that. It doesn't have a split-throttle, so I use CTRL/ALT HOME to put them into IDLE for engine start. My biggest issue was that these wouldn't work, or would sometimes, but not other times. Sometimes the left would start the right engine too, which made no sense.

I went in the control settings again and had a look. I noticed several of my HATS were mapped to views, which is not what I want as I use a TrackHAT. I deleted these keys and my throttle IDLE seems to work now. Must have been an update or maybe installing the Cougar MFDs that messed them up.

I'm still not sure of the startup order though as there are several guides out there and they all seem to differ. I started with the game manual. The issue I'm still having is when I start the left engine and get it up to 60% (before I start the right one), shortly after (the engine cycle light goes off) I get a Master Caution and the only way to shut it up is turning off the APU GEN.

I can then start the right one normally. If you read the manual and all the guides it says to shut off APU GEN only after starting BOTH engines, so I'm not sure what's wrong here. And does it really matter when you flip the pump/inverter/AC L & R, etc, so long as it's after you turn the Power on?
__________________
Win7/64, i54670k@4.3Ghz, GTX 1070, 16GB RAM, DCS on SSD

Last edited by aleader; 01-27-2019 at 11:14 PM.
aleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 08:05 PM   #36
KomandoKorndog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Blue Springs, Mo
Posts: 18
Default

I wouldn't be too concerned about that Master Caution during the start sequence. In fact, you may even consider it a confirmation of a properly functioning warning system you're not likely to hear any other time. When the AC Gen L&R switches are in the ON position, either generator will come on line as soon as the engine spools up enough. At that point, it will come online and trip the APU Gen offline. ( The electrical system is redundant, like everything else, so one generator is sufficient to power the entire aircraft.) When the APU Gen is tripped offline, the system senses that the switch is in the ON position, but the generator isn't supplying any power to the bus. This is the condition that generates the Master Caution. You can either silence the Master Caution and shut off the APU Gen switch later in your checklist, or shut it off now and silence the alarm at the same time. That's what I do. I've tried at least 10 different Cold Start procedures and eventually distilled all I learned into one that works for me, but isn't exactly like any of the ones it's derived from. In all that study, the best advice I got was that there is no single right way to do it because there are so many ways that it can be done that work just fine. Some groups of items have to come at somewhat certain points in the procedure in order to proceed. Others may have to be performed pretty much together, but it doesn't make much difference if you do them early or late. When it's all said and done, you have a set list of tasks to accomplish. If at the end of this list, you have both engines running properly, all systems up & ready, no warnings, you understand how and why it all got that way AND you can do it again any time you need to, then you have arrived at YOUR proper Cold Start Proceedure. Once I started looking at it that way it really made things easier. I hope it helps you.
KomandoKorndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 05:29 AM   #37
knightal
Junior Member
 
knightal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KomandoKorndog View Post
I wouldn't be too concerned about that Master Caution during the start sequence. In fact, you may even consider it a confirmation of a properly functioning warning system you're not likely to hear any other time. When the AC Gen L&R switches are in the ON position, either generator will come on line as soon as the engine spools up enough. At that point, it will come online and trip the APU Gen offline. ( The electrical system is redundant, like everything else, so one generator is sufficient to power the entire aircraft.) When the APU Gen is tripped offline, the system senses that the switch is in the ON position, but the generator isn't supplying any power to the bus. This is the condition that generates the Master Caution. You can either silence the Master Caution and shut off the APU Gen switch later in your checklist, or shut it off now and silence the alarm at the same time. That's what I do. I've tried at least 10 different Cold Start procedures and eventually distilled all I learned into one that works for me, but isn't exactly like any of the ones it's derived from. In all that study, the best advice I got was that there is no single right way to do it because there are so many ways that it can be done that work just fine. Some groups of items have to come at somewhat certain points in the procedure in order to proceed. Others may have to be performed pretty much together, but it doesn't make much difference if you do them early or late. When it's all said and done, you have a set list of tasks to accomplish. If at the end of this list, you have both engines running properly, all systems up & ready, no warnings, you understand how and why it all got that way AND you can do it again any time you need to, then you have arrived at YOUR proper Cold Start Proceedure. Once I started looking at it that way it really made things easier. I hope it helps you.

Yeah that pretty well sums it up. After I did the mission where you are playing the part of the Russian stealing the A-10C I learnt the quick way to get the Hog into the sky.
knightal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 06:56 AM   #38
Opy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 39
Default

Just for a laugh at my expense;
I've had the TMWH duo for longer than I can remember. Always had trouble with the startup sequence too.
Only a couple years ago I realised that you can lift the throttle levers up to pull them into the cut off area. So much easier!
I was by myself at the time and burst into hysterical laughter at such a simple oversight.

Then again, I think it was only last year that I discovered the nose wheel button doubles as the laser. Doh!
Opy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 07:25 AM   #39
GTFreeFlyer
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 108
Default

Now that I’ve been trying this for a few days, I think I found the fix to engines not starting properly with the TMWH...

Just make sure that when you start the sim, the throttles are in the idle position. After you’re in the cockpit, move them to the cutoff position, then start your engine start sequence. It doesn’t like when I load into the sim with throttles in the cutoff position. It’s been working 100% of the time since I started doing this.
__________________
Sim: RTX2080, Rift CV1, 16 GB DDR4, Intel i7-8700 3.2 GHz, SSD, Windows 10 (Omen by HP Obelisk Desktop), Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro Rudder Pedals
DLC: A-10C, The Enemy Within 2.2 and 3.0, Piercing Fury
IRL: Private Pilot, UAS Test Pilot, Aircraft Designer
GTFreeFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 07:30 AM   #40
Opy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 39
Default

Any movement will do. It's a little less effort if throttles are already above zero, as GTFreeFlyer says, but if you start with them already down in the cut off area, you just need to lift them, push forward and pull them back.
I try to do what GT is saying before loading in, but my memory and my self discipline were left at a bar somewhere in my 20's.
Opy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:27 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.