DCS World on Kubuntu (linux) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2020, 10:49 PM   #1
Aviators
Senior Member
 
Aviators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,387
Default DCS World on Kubuntu (linux)

I installed Kubuntu 20.04 (linux system) on my laptop (Dell Alienware 17), I would like to try to start DCS World.

Do you know if it works?

Is there a specific procedure?

Maybe I need steam and protonDB?

I accept answers also from ED developers
Aviators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 03:44 AM   #2
SkateZilla
ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,800
Default

DCS World Requires Windows 7, 8, or 10, Microsoft DX11, and MS Visual Runtimes.

There's no way around this.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
X470 Taichi Ultimate, 2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Oculus HMD,
Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS + MFDs, CH Fighterstick+Pro Throttle+Pro Pedals
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 05:30 AM   #3
reece146
Member
 
reece146's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 342
Default

Search youtube - there's a guy that got it going on wine several months ago and has a video how to of sorts posted.
reece146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 06:10 AM   #4
Lorthirk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
DCS World Requires Windows 7, 8, or 10, Microsoft DX11, and MS Visual Runtimes.

There's no way around this.
As reece146 said in the post above, I think that with Wine should be theoretically possible. I would try myself but unfortunately I have not enough disk space in my Linux box. WineHQ App Database reports aren't promising though...
https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManag...sion&iId=38165
Lorthirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 10:21 PM   #5
Aviators
Senior Member
 
Aviators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,387
Default

Thanks I will do other research
Aviators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 11:04 PM   #6
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 7,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aviators View Post
Thanks I will do other research

You could partition your hard drive and use both Windows and Linux ... that is the easiest and less painful way to get DCS on this type of machine.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 34" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:45 AM   #7
Dunks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Default

I had it working on linux mint, and it runs very very well, better than it does on windows imho, but could not get any head tracking working :o(


Look for "How to Make DCS 2.5.6 Run under Linux -again- using Lutris- Wine- DXVK" on youtube.
Dunks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.