X65F "mouse stick" - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2020, 06:33 AM   #1
LTRMcrew
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 117
Default X65F "mouse stick"

Hey All,

With the Saitek x65f has anyone gotten the "mouse stick" to move the mouse cursor? I don't see that option anywhere...

Thanks for the help.
LTRMcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 07:06 AM   #2
noisy_lightning
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 333
Default

I own an X55 and have had no luck, and its very similar in the setup. I gave up in the end and setup bands in the Saitek software to to allow me to use it as a 4 way hat. Its still rubbish as a Hat switch though as (at least on the X55) its very spongy and difficult to be accurate with.
noisy_lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 07:42 PM   #3
LTRMcrew
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 117
Default

That's a shame really, would've been nice to use that as the mouse. The x65f is very "loose" or as you put it "spongy", "light" on the touch so would be difficult. Thanks for feedback though.
LTRMcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 10:58 AM   #4
kievbsm
Senior Member
 
kievbsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DCS World
Posts: 1,022
Default

I have Saitek X-65F and can use "mouse stick" as mouse.
But with my hands it is not as accurate as a regular mouse. But he definitely works in DCS
kievbsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 06:10 PM   #5
LTRMcrew
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kievbsm View Post
I have Saitek X-65F and can use "mouse stick" as mouse.
But with my hands it is not as accurate as a regular mouse. But he definitely works in DCS
What on earth did you do to get that to work?? I've downloaded the profile software and it shows in there as mouse... but dcs just doesn't seem to recognize it.
LTRMcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 06:50 PM   #6
kievbsm
Senior Member
 
kievbsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DCS World
Posts: 1,022
Default

Ups...
I did nothing.
Many years ago I pluged it into my PC, downloaded drivers for Win7 and installed it.
Nothing more. I don't use profiles or something other like this.
Few monthes ago I've just downloaded some official multimedia file (or something like this - don't remember correct name) from Microsoft site and upgraded my Win7 to Win10. After uprade I did nothing with drivers for Saitek.
So, for the current moment I have not any SW for Saitek installed on my PC, but have old drivers for that joystick which I've never changed.

And of course inside of DCS this ministick recognized as usual mouse. So, you can operate with it like with mouse only.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ministick.PNG
Views:	26
Size:	205.5 KB
ID:	247584   Click image for larger version

Name:	Systems.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	3.6 KB
ID:	247585  

Last edited by kievbsm; 09-16-2020 at 06:57 PM.
kievbsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 10:35 PM   #7
LTRMcrew
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 117
Default

Isn't that saitek software though in your pic? or did that come with the driver? I'm not sure if i have actual drivers for mine TBH. I'll try that next.
LTRMcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:30 PM   #8
kievbsm
Senior Member
 
kievbsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DCS World
Posts: 1,022
Default

I don't know if be true.
On my PC I haven't any Saitek SW except drivers.
kievbsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:32 PM   #9
wowbagger
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 242
Default

My X-65F mouse stick works without issue. It's not accurate enough for hitting buttons, but works well for panning view.



I don't recall having to do anything special to have it work. Windows is picky about the driver and I have to manually select which driver to use every time it switches USB ports.
wowbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 07:44 PM   #10
LTRMcrew
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wowbagger View Post
My X-65F mouse stick works without issue. It's not accurate enough for hitting buttons, but works well for panning view.



I don't recall having to do anything special to have it work. Windows is picky about the driver and I have to manually select which driver to use every time it switches USB ports.
Hmm interesting. Do you recall what driver you used?
LTRMcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.