Noob with a question

Hi all. I'm pretty new to DCS. Been doing civilian flight sims since the SubLogic flight sim days, and still sim in P3d using mostly stuff like PMDG tubeliners, so I know my way around flying and airplane systems, but am new to the combat side of things. Having fun so far!

One question: Why are the tracks inaccurate when I play them back? I'll do a mission, shoot down a plane, then play back the track and it'll have me shooting when I'm pointing completely away from the bandit, and then half the time the playback shows me doing something really dumb, like flying into the ground when that didn't happen. It's almost like it's playing back some other session. Any insight on what's going on?

It's happening on the Nevada map in an F-18 if that matters.

Have you used time acceleration?

DCS tracks are a recreation of your simulation session. Inputs are applied and the simulation calculates the reaction.

If you make long tracks, or you advance time too quickly you risk introducing errors which can compound and give the results you experience.

These are of course the downsides of this system of replay, but it has benefits as well.

I don't even know how to use time acceleration in DCS. When you're used to flying a 747 across the ocean at around Mach 0.84, getting from one end of the map to the other in DCS at Mach 1+ doesn't really seem like it takes all that long. ;)

It's all 1:1 speed. Things seem to start normally - this last time, the first time I shoot at him is accurate (I fired on the lead pass to verify that the track I was watching was, in fact, the track I just recorded). Then there's half a minute or so of turning and by the time I shoot the second time, I'm not pointing anywhere near him. Just firing at nothing. Then a little later I slam into the ground. What really happened was that I shot at him in the lead pass, got into a turning fight, ended up behind him, and shot him down, then ended the mission and hit replay.