MFD stops working with USB Audio - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2020, 06:21 PM   #1
chamelean90
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Default MFD stops working with USB Audio

Hi, strange issue but I just can't work it out. Any suggestions welcome.

I have DCS + TM Hotas WH + Trackir + 2 Thrustmaster MFDs.

All work fine, if I use external speakers. At night however (to keep quiet) I need to use my USB Headphones (Turtle Beach Stealth 700). USB headphones work fine (they are through a USB switch-box, so I can also use them with my PS4). It all works perfectly well.

However, as soon as I switch on my Turtle Beach USB Headphones the 2 MFDs stop working. Pressing any button on the MFDs doesn't work in the sim. All the lights are on. If I disable the USB Headset the MFDs work fine again.

I have disabled Power Management for all USB devices/ports.

Just can't work it out. Please post any thoughts. More than welcome.

Many Thanks
chamelean90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 09:42 PM   #2
Boosterdog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 54
Default

Hi

My thought is that your asking your USB hub for too much power. The MFDs are hungry hectors. Certainly the hub on my secondary Dell monitor couldnt handle them both although its perfectly content to power the Track IR camera, Delan led clip and headphones.
Boosterdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:21 AM   #3
Bob_Bushman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 295
Default

Getting a power plug on the hub is a good idea, another oddity with DCS, and USB devices.
the headset waking up could cause the hub renumerate devices slightly differently and suddenly they identify the mfd's as different devices and won't use your defined keybinds.
__________________
i7 8700k @ 4.7, 32GB 2900Mhz, 1080ti, CV1
Virpil MT-50\Delta, MFG Crosswind, Warthog Throttle, Virptil Mongoost-50 throttle.
Bob_Bushman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 01:47 AM   #4
FOXFIRE TWOONE
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 591
Default

Try unplugging your usb hub they are connected to, restart computer plug back in and see that helps. I have a seven port hub that sometime's all or one port will stop working and the doing this works for me. Also try unchecking hardware acceleration in your headphone properties if it is checked.
__________________
Intel core I7 4790K 4.0 ghz
Fatality Z97X Killer 3.1
G-SKill Trident X 32GB
Cooler Master 120m
GTX 980 Superclocked
Corsair AX850w psu
Samsung 850 ssd x 2
Sony 48 in HD TV
Trackir 5
Hotas Warthog
Windows 10 64

Last edited by FOXFIRE TWOONE; 01-16-2020 at 01:56 AM.
FOXFIRE TWOONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 06:56 AM   #5
chamelean90
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Hi all, many thanks for your replies. The MFDs are connected to an internal USB card, only the headset is connected to the powered USB HUB.
But i'll try connecting the USB headset to an internal USB slot also and see how that goes.
Please keep any suggestions coming
chamelean90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 09:39 AM   #6
chamelean90
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Default

OK, fixed it thanks to your help & recommendations. It was USB power I think.

Both the USB Hub/Switch and the 2 MFDs were all connected into the same internal PCIe USB Card. I have now plugged the USB Hub into an onboard USB slot and its all fine. PCIe card mustn't have had enough power.

Thanks again all.
chamelean90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.