STEAM or DCS E-SHOP

davcorsil

Hi

I'm new at DCS.

I was looking in the forum but didn't find any answer for my doubt!

What is the diference in buying planes or modules in Steam or in DCS E-Shop ?

Why in DCS E-Shop is written not for use in steam! It is not the same think or the same game?

Thanks in Advance

Best Regards

Davcorsil

Generally a license issue to go between the two (i.e. if you buy at DCS, you can't use that license on Steam). Updates on Steam tend to be later than updates on DCS (i.e. you might have to wait some time (maybe a week or two?? not positive how long since I don't use Steam) for updates after they become available on DCS). Other than that they should be the same. But since I don't use Steam other's may chime in with other minor differences.

It is the same game, but Steam takes a cut of anything sold through their store front, and uses proprietary copy protection, so ED keys won't work to activate modules on a Steam installation.

For my .02 (though I am admittedly a bit biased) the E-shop is the way to go both in terms of supporting the developers and with regards to features. Steam can sometimes see a delay in access to new maps, modules and campaigns anywhere from a few weeks to a few months depending on the nature of the content.

If you want to use the Steam GUI while playing DCS, you can simply add it as a non-Steam game and still launch it through the Steam interface. The only thing you lose is the automatic patcher (assuming you leave Steam running 24/7; if you don't, then you lose nothing.)