DCS A-10C QUESTIONS - Page 524 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2018, 03:26 PM   #5231
Scotch75
Member
 
Scotch75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 200
Default

G'day Warthog experts,

I've been flying the Red Flag campaign on latest DCS World 2.5.3, learning how to use the CDU more effectively.

In these missions, you are provided with a pre programmed flight plan, with a "Push" time for Waypoint 6. I have learned how to input that time as a DTOT for Waypoint 6.

My question is, can the CDU EGI system provide you with a real time cumulative RIAS after take-off, even though you don't make Waypoint 6 a Steerpoint until later? ie. Can it display RIAS earlier so you can adjust your speed earlier accordingly while still following the flight plan to meet the PUSH time? It only seems to bring up the RIAS when Waypoint 6 is made the Steerpoint, by which time a major adjustment in speed is needed.

Many thanks and kind regards

Cheers!
__________________
W10 Home 64Bit, Intel Skylake I5 6600K 3.50GHz, ASUS ROG Stryx Z270F MoBo, 32GB G.Skill RipJaws V DDR4 3200 RAM, Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 SSD (OS), Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD, 2TB Seagate SDHD, 2TB WD Green HDD, GALAX GTX GeForce 1070 EXOC Sniper White 8GB VRAM
Scotch75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 08:25 PM   #5232
Emmy
Senior Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,267
Default

As I'm flying the route, I just cycle up to the PUSH waypoint and check my TOT and then cycle back to the current steerpoint. If I'm ahead, I pull off a few ITT. If I'm behind, I push it up. If you find yourself WAY behind really early (like after the first waypoint after departure) you can cut corners to make up the time.
__________________

http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 02:24 AM   #5233
Scotch75
Member
 
Scotch75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 200
Default

Ok thanks Emmy, I wasn't sure if I was missing something with the system.

Cheers!
__________________
W10 Home 64Bit, Intel Skylake I5 6600K 3.50GHz, ASUS ROG Stryx Z270F MoBo, 32GB G.Skill RipJaws V DDR4 3200 RAM, Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 SSD (OS), Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD, 2TB Seagate SDHD, 2TB WD Green HDD, GALAX GTX GeForce 1070 EXOC Sniper White 8GB VRAM
Scotch75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 03:34 AM   #5234
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotch75 View Post
G'day Warthog experts,

I've been flying the Red Flag campaign on latest DCS World 2.5.3, learning how to use the CDU more effectively.

In these missions, you are provided with a pre programmed flight plan, with a "Push" time for Waypoint 6. I have learned how to input that time as a DTOT for Waypoint 6.

My question is, can the CDU EGI system provide you with a real time cumulative RIAS after take-off, even though you don't make Waypoint 6 a Steerpoint until later? ie. Can it display RIAS earlier so you can adjust your speed earlier accordingly while still following the flight plan to meet the PUSH time? It only seems to bring up the RIAS when Waypoint 6 is made the Steerpoint, by which time a major adjustment in speed is needed.

Many thanks and kind regards

Cheers!

The way I know how to work such on-speed, on-time waypoint passages is to apply DTOT to both the desired waypoint and at least one prior so by passing #5 on time you will arrive at #6 on time by way of the desired speed.


If it's important to pass a certain waypoint at a certain time then it's not left up to chance that you arrive just in time since takeoff. Instead the flight plan is to arrive deliberately early at a prior point and hold for 5, 10, 20 whatever minutes and then push from hold to the next waypoint which is the time-critical gate. In this way exact departure time and speed from the hold isn't that important because it can be adjusted from hold to gate to some degree.


The system will display required speed for every waypoint with a DTOT entered which is normally all of them. What it won't do is display a required speed for a destination other than the currently selected one. If the flight plan handed to you only has DTOT for 6 then it won't show for others.


Example:
Desire to pass #6 at 12:00:00 at 360 KGS.
#5 is 20nm prior
20/6 minute is 3:20
Set #5 DTOT 11:56:40
Arrive at #5 as early as practical and hold leaving at or slightly before DTOT
If RGS to #6 is < (or >) 360 knots, fly slow (or fast) until RGS = 360
Arrive #6 at 12:00:00 at 360 KGS.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 07:39 AM   #5235
Scotch75
Member
 
Scotch75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
The way I know how to work such on-speed, on-time waypoint passages is to apply DTOT to both the desired waypoint and at least one prior so by passing #5 on time you will arrive at #6 on time by way of the desired speed.


If it's important to pass a certain waypoint at a certain time then it's not left up to chance that you arrive just in time since takeoff. Instead the flight plan is to arrive deliberately early at a prior point and hold for 5, 10, 20 whatever minutes and then push from hold to the next waypoint which is the time-critical gate. In this way exact departure time and speed from the hold isn't that important because it can be adjusted from hold to gate to some degree.


The system will display required speed for every waypoint with a DTOT entered which is normally all of them. What it won't do is display a required speed for a destination other than the currently selected one. If the flight plan handed to you only has DTOT for 6 then it won't show for others.


Example:
Desire to pass #6 at 12:00:00 at 360 KGS.
#5 is 20nm prior
20/6 minute is 3:20
Set #5 DTOT 11:56:40
Arrive at #5 as early as practical and hold leaving at or slightly before DTOT
If RGS to #6 is < (or >) 360 knots, fly slow (or fast) until RGS = 360
Arrive #6 at 12:00:00 at 360 KGS.
Many thanks Frederf, that's a good technique. Prior to becoming airborne (sitting in the jet on the apron) does the CDU show you the distance between waypoints so you can do a quick calculation of the the DTOT eg between #5 and #6? I tend to fly the flightplan that is pre-loaded with the mission eg Red Flag.
__________________
W10 Home 64Bit, Intel Skylake I5 6600K 3.50GHz, ASUS ROG Stryx Z270F MoBo, 32GB G.Skill RipJaws V DDR4 3200 RAM, Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 SSD (OS), Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD, 2TB Seagate SDHD, 2TB WD Green HDD, GALAX GTX GeForce 1070 EXOC Sniper White 8GB VRAM
Scotch75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 08:35 AM   #5236
Wrench
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 579
Default

It's been a bit since I've flown the hog. But I think you can to this with the TAD. iIRC, one of the hook funtions is (for displaying bearing and range) is hook>SPI. You you can set one waypoint to SPI and hook the other.
Not sure though you'll have to check.
__________________
Carrier Script.
Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 08:04 AM   #5237
Scotch75
Member
 
Scotch75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench View Post
It's been a bit since I've flown the hog. But I think you can to this with the TAD. iIRC, one of the hook funtions is (for displaying bearing and range) is hook>SPI. You you can set one waypoint to SPI and hook the other.
Not sure though you'll have to check.
Ok thanks Wrench. I'll try that out next time flying
__________________
W10 Home 64Bit, Intel Skylake I5 6600K 3.50GHz, ASUS ROG Stryx Z270F MoBo, 32GB G.Skill RipJaws V DDR4 3200 RAM, Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 SSD (OS), Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD, 2TB Seagate SDHD, 2TB WD Green HDD, GALAX GTX GeForce 1070 EXOC Sniper White 8GB VRAM
Scotch75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 07:48 PM   #5238
Spadje
Member
 
Spadje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 270
Default

Not sure if this has been answered or not. I had to reinstall my system a short while back, bought a new NVMe drive and wanted to install everything to it. When I went to activate it appears that several of the older modules have the starforce activation and I used the last one that was available. I know that they will give you another activation around 30 days but I was wondering if there were any plans to replace the older modules without starforce and if we would be able to exchange our originals for those that do not require the starforce DRM?

Thanks,
Spadje
__________________
Intel i7 4790K @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR 3, eVGA 1080 SC 8GB, Intel 600P 512GB M.2 NVMe, WD Blue 512GB SSD, TM Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, Acer AH101 WMR
Spadje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 09:06 PM   #5239
The AMRAAMer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 69
Default

Why are Shilkas and other self propelled anti air guns referred to as AAA if they are not artillery?
The AMRAAMer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 09:15 PM   #5240
BuzzU
Senior Member
 
BuzzU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The AMRAAMer View Post
Why are Shilkas and other self propelled anti air guns referred to as AAA if they are not artillery?
They're all thrown together. Basically, all guns that shoot down planes.
__________________
Buzz

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a-10c, mission editor, satellite view

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do we get these in DCS: A-10C? zakobi DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark 44 01-16-2010 05:01 PM
DCS: A-10C Screenshots Shepski DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark 63 09-02-2009 11:22 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.