Losing energy in turns - n00b question

I keep losing energy in my turns in the F-5. I'm a bit of a noob, so that's my official excuse.

I've tried finding a solution on YouTube and in the forums, but I can't find an answer that makes sense to me. Ergo, I am posting here.

How do I turn in the thing during a dogfight, without losing energy to the point of stalling. My Tiger always wants to stall.

I have tried turning slow, I have tried turning with flaps down, I have tried turning with my nose down. No matter what I do, I am losing energy.

Can you please tell me how you turn efficiently in combat?

I appreciate your time and answers.

Thanks!

Quite a good point to start is this wiki page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basic_fighter_maneuvers

You can pick which maneuver is suitable for F-5 in certain situation and find more of that topic. And rehearse rehearse rehearse ...

E.g. in most situations you can out-turn Mig-21 and (s)he can out-climb you. So if you are attacked by fast-flying Mig-21 you generally don't want to initiate vertical scissors (unless you know very well what you are doing).

BTW flaps do increase drag. Doing sharp turn with flaps down causes you to lose more energy than doing it with flaps up. Maneuvering simply slows you down. Look at alpine skiing competition and compare speed of slalom and downhill racers. Who are faster? Those who turn or those who follow their noses down? ;)

Edited by emko