[NO BUG]F-5E pilot does not require oxygen - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2019, 08:20 PM   #1
cosmicdoubloon
Member
 
cosmicdoubloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Posts: 168
Post [NO BUG]F-5E pilot does not require oxygen

Per the title, the F-5E currently does not require the pilot to turn on his oxygen supply for high altitude work. This bug is present regardless of hot start, cold start and air start. In hot/air start you start with oxygen on but if you turn it off the pilot never blacks out. If a cold start you never need to turn it on. Track attached.
Attached Files
File Type: trk F5 o2 bug.trk (553.8 KB, 8 views)
__________________
cosmicdoubloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 08:50 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 16,984
Default

Reported

thank you
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:20 AM   #3
Dehuman
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Otautahi, Aotearoa
Posts: 346
Default

I can confirm this. However you DO need oxygen if you jettison the canopy
Dehuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 04:35 PM   #4
Sarge55
Senior Member
 
Sarge55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 1,570
Default

Nice bit of bug reporting.

You should teach the complainers on the Viper and Bug threads how it's done. They just whine (alot) and then when asked for a track file they throw a fit. I suspect they don't know how to find the track files let alone upload them...
__________________

i7 3770K OC 4.4GHZ / H100 Cooler / 120GB & 240GB SSD's & 1TB HDD / ASUS Sabertooth MB / GTX 980 / 16GB RAM / Win 10 / TrackIR 4 Pro / CH Pedals / TM Warthog
Sarge55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 02:32 AM   #5
tom_19d
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 384
Default

Hi guys, someone needs to help me here because I am not seeing a bug...

The F5 is a pressurized aircraft. If you carefully watch the OP’s track, when he levels at FL300 you can verify his cabin altitude is only 11,000 feet. This is well within normal parameters according to the pressurization schedule provided in 1F-5E-1. There is no physical need for a healthy, fit individual (ie most fighter pilots) to be on oxygen at 11,000 feet, and in fact depending on the type of operation the FAA might not even require a pilot to be using supplemental oxygen.

To then verify the system is working as designed, take control of the OP’s track at FL300, verify the O2 supply is still off, and dump the cabin. The cabin altitude will rapidly rise to aircraft altitude and shortly thereafter symptoms of hypoxic hypoxia set in. Turn on the O2 and pilot function is immediately restored.

Unless you are talking about the supply lever/diluter lever interlock which from what I can tell isn’t modeled (and I don’t think that is what the OP is getting at) I don’t see a bug here. There is no reason to need supplemental O2 at 11,000 feet.
__________________
Multiplayer as Variable

Asus Z97-A - I7 4790K - 32 GB HyperX - EVGA GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair 750i PSU

TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar MFDs - CH Pedals - TrackIR 5 - Samsung RU8000 55”
tom_19d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:29 AM   #6
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 16,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_19d View Post
Hi guys, someone needs to help me here because I am not seeing a bug...

The F5 is a pressurized aircraft. If you carefully watch the OP’s track, when he levels at FL300 you can verify his cabin altitude is only 11,000 feet. This is well within normal parameters according to the pressurization schedule provided in 1F-5E-1. There is no physical need for a healthy, fit individual (ie most fighter pilots) to be on oxygen at 11,000 feet, and in fact depending on the type of operation the FAA might not even require a pilot to be using supplemental oxygen.

To then verify the system is working as designed, take control of the OP’s track at FL300, verify the O2 supply is still off, and dump the cabin. The cabin altitude will rapidly rise to aircraft altitude and shortly thereafter symptoms of hypoxic hypoxia set in. Turn on the O2 and pilot function is immediately restored.

Unless you are talking about the supply lever/diluter lever interlock which from what I can tell isn’t modeled (and I don’t think that is what the OP is getting at) I don’t see a bug here. There is no reason to need supplemental O2 at 11,000 feet.
Thanks for the reply,

I have asked the devs as soon as I have some info I will let you all know, I wanted to confirm the pressurised cabin.

Edit:

No Bug, cabin is pressurised, and switching the guarded cabin press switch will allow for hypoxia.

thanks
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR

Last edited by BIGNEWY; 11-11-2019 at 09:41 AM.
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:51 AM   #7
nessuno0505
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,270
Default

So I do not have to switch oxigen on like in a-10c? It needs to be on only if canopy Is jettisoned? I ask just to simulate correctly what pilots do...
nessuno0505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 11:01 AM   #8
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 16,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nessuno0505 View Post
So I do not have to switch oxigen on like in a-10c? It needs to be on only if canopy Is jettisoned? I ask just to simulate correctly what pilots do...
Hi, the cabin is pressurised,

if you switch the guarded cabin pressure switch and the oxygen switch is off you will loose consciousness.

If you jettison the canopy the cabin is no longer pressurised, this will also lead to hypoxia.

this is correct
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 12:21 PM   #9
cosmicdoubloon
Member
 
cosmicdoubloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Posts: 168
Default

thanks for the investigation and followup Bignewy, and thanks for the informative post tom_19d. It hadn't occurred to me to check if the F-5E has a pressurised cabin and the detail provided by you two absolutely makes sense. Glad it got checked out regardless!
__________________
cosmicdoubloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 12:37 PM   #10
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 16,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicdoubloon View Post
thanks for the investigation and followup Bignewy, and thanks for the informative post tom_19d. It hadn't occurred to me to check if the F-5E has a pressurised cabin and the detail provided by you two absolutely makes sense. Glad it got checked out regardless!
No problem, never hurts to ask, and I learned something new also
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.