Headtracking hardware ideas? Anyone?

Greetings eh,

With 2.5 coming up I'm thinking about checking out head tracking... I've never tried it before. Does anyone have any recommendations?

I know about Track IR... it's expensive as all heck though, I'm curious if anyone has tried anything else.

I've heard of FaceTrackNoIR but apparently it's a bit glitchy and is a pain to set up... has anyone had any luck with it? What sort of camera do you need to make it work right? Almost anything?

Also, do any headtracking methods cut into framerates much?

Thanks so much!

AD

Kit:

B550 Aorus Elite AX V2, Ryzen 7 5800X w/ Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE, 2 x 16GB Kingston Fury DDR4 @3600MHz C16, Gigabyte RTX 3070 Windforce 8GB, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 PSU, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS fitted with Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller.

--Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!

I purchased this kit in 2014: http://www.delanengineering.com/shop/#!/DelanClip-Gamer/p/43397050/category=0

... costs much less than a trackir, includes everything you need and is fully assembled ... if you have do-it-yourself abilities you can make your own, I'd rather pay a bit of money and spend my time playing :)

The impact in framerates is minimal, and it works just fine ... here I've a video so you can see:

8NM7RM8uvA0

Best regards,

Edited by Rudel_chw

For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra

For Gaming: 34" Monitor - Ryzen 3600X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Win10 Pro - TM HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1

Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB

I purchased this kit in 2014: http://www.delanengineering.com/shop/#!/DelanClip-Gamer/p/43397050/category=0