Newest EDM Model Tools - Page 126 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2017, 02:34 PM   #1251
eelcoool
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Gouda, Netherlands
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
the modelviewer is located in the bin folder of the DCS installation path.
THankss found it
eelcoool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 06:54 PM   #1252
DHZSM
Junior Member
 
DHZSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 7
Default

hey guys, any edmplugins for Max2018? The latest versions seems to be only for 2016
DHZSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 10:15 PM   #1253
joey45
Veteran
 
joey45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: West London UK
Posts: 10,061
Default

No. Hope they do.

on ma mobile
__________________
General 3D modeling thread and reference sites
new UK liveries for planes, ships and MODS.
The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.
"Me, the 13th Duke of Wybourne, here on the ED forums at 3 'o' clock in the morning, with my reputation. Are they mad.."
Please send all hate mail to No11
V0.99 of my UK Yak-52 is now available in the user files..
joey45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 01:26 PM   #1254
cubanace
Senior Member
 
cubanace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 1,107
Default

Are the links for the Newer Tools for EDM down?

I just installed 3dx max 2016 and windows 10 and when I click on the link to get the edm tools the links stay like loading and says it cant reach that address or cant find it ex,"Blank Page"
__________________

Developer Apprentice For DCS WORLD
"2D 3D Texturing Coding Apprentice"


SU-57 PAK FA Project
https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/2539621/
Cubanace Simulations
https://www.facebook.com/Cubanacesimulations/
My 3D/2D Modeling PortFolio
https://www.artstation.com/cubanace-simulations

AMD Athelon 64 X2 5600+ 2.90 GHZ
4 GB Ram.
AMD Board.
Windows 7
"Rig will be updated on 2019."
cubanace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 01:33 PM   #1255
Hawkeye60
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA Ma.
Posts: 1,879
Default

Hope it is ok to leave this here,

For 2016, Working version,

https://www.dropbox.com/s/62utunc5oz...29550.zip?dl=0
__________________
"Yeah, and though I work in the valley of Death, I will fear no Evil. For where there is one, there is always three. I preparest my aircraft to receive the Iron that will be delivered in the presence of my enemies. Thy ALCM and JDAM they comfort me. Power was given unto the aircrew to make peace upon the world by way of the sword. And when the call went out, Behold the "Sword of Stealth". And his name was Death. And Hell followed him. For the day of wrath has come and no mercy shall be given."
Hawkeye60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 01:58 PM   #1256
cubanace
Senior Member
 
cubanace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye60 View Post
Hope it is ok to leave this here,

For 2016, Working version,

https://www.dropbox.com/s/62utunc5oz...29550.zip?dl=0
Thank you i fixed the problem it was my stupid Firewall, i got windows 10 and i overlooked the setting,thanks in advanced,we will be back in modding in no time
__________________

Developer Apprentice For DCS WORLD
"2D 3D Texturing Coding Apprentice"


SU-57 PAK FA Project
https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/2539621/
Cubanace Simulations
https://www.facebook.com/Cubanacesimulations/
My 3D/2D Modeling PortFolio
https://www.artstation.com/cubanace-simulations

AMD Athelon 64 X2 5600+ 2.90 GHZ
4 GB Ram.
AMD Board.
Windows 7
"Rig will be updated on 2019."
cubanace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 04:12 PM   #1257
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
This weekend I'm fighting w/ Smoothing again,

As soon as I cut the squares for the Bort Numbers and detach them, the smoothing goes wonky,

Even if I Wipe and re-smooth the sections, there's a distinct difference between the normal mesh and the part cut w/ the bort numbers,

Tried Re-Smoothing Individually,
Tried Re-Smoothing all Meshes together,
Tried Editing the Normals.

No Luck.

I think it doesnt like being cut in editable poly mode..

Might just go back to my original plan
Make Clone Main Mesh, cut bort meshes out, delete the rest, and apply transparent single layer, and animate that,

it just wont have any specular on it.

I'm trying to figure out how BST just cut Bort Meshes on the F-86 and didnt have any seams on speculars or smoothing.

Examples..

First Shot, w/ Squares Cut out of the nose mesh, you can clearly see a smoothing group difference both around the Bort Number Meshes, and a few bad groups heading up the nose which appeared after the cutting.



Second Shot w/ Bort meshes exported, I Imported them to a scene before I cut them and just put them over top of the nose mesh, smoothing groups on the nose remain fine, but there's still an evident line around the meshes.

My Fail safe right now is to remove the specular and diffuse layers from the material and just export decals w/ transparency set, w/ separate meshes.

I might try to use other cutting methods but so far, no luck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Rudel- View Post
Skate, this is where I had difficulty. The solution that worked for me is a bit time consuming though.

1. I made the cuts, but did not separate.

2. I applied a Normal modifier, selected all the normal and made them explicit.

3. Made 3 copies of the object.

4. (one object at a time) delete polies around the bort number section.
--- 1st object delete bort number area.
---2nd object, delete all polies but 001
---** 010
---** 100

It's important not to detach the section, but delete the polies around them.

For export, go to the settings and check/select "mark def off"



While optimizing the model/meshes for future use, I decided to give composite layered borts another shot so the borts inherit the airframe's specular/pbr values and look more natural.

I was able to re-cut all of the numbers except the nose, previous trouble spots were easily done, and the other hard spot on the vertical stabs was easily fixed by making an extra cut to separate the smoothing groups and eliminate the corrupted smoothing/normals.

My issue is the NOSE, no matter how I try to cut out the number sections, every cut corrupts the normals/smoothing,

I've tried to disable smoothing and re-smooth/ unify/explicit the normals, everything.

Nothing has worked, I even started fresh from the source model to make sure the adjustments havent caused bad vertices.

Nothing has worked.

-Polygon Cut
-Mesh Slice,
-Boolean,
-ProBoolean,
-ProCutter

Maybe I could try inserting Extra Vertices, I'm not sure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ModelViewer 2017-11-13 11-37-21-23.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	172058   Click image for larger version

Name:	ModelViewer 2017-11-13 11-37-26-07.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	172059   Click image for larger version

Name:	ModelViewer 2017-11-13 11-37-29-89.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	172060  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ModelViewer 2017-11-13 12-53-36-31.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	172065   Click image for larger version

Name:	ModelViewer 2017-11-13 12-53-40-80.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	81.7 KB
ID:	172066  
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 11-12-2017 at 05:05 PM.
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:37 PM   #1258
Weltensegler
Member
 
Weltensegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santa Monica/Venice Beach
Posts: 640
Default

@SkateZilla The tension of normals interpolates to their neighbours so if you detach or cut that relation breaks and the higher tension from other sides make the normals change there orientation which results in a break in smoothing/shading.

To fix that you need to get the new normals of both edges to align in the original orientation and strength with each other which is in many cases close to impossible but in some it is.
It will be much harder on asymmetric and organic surfaces as in your case and some normals may need to be modified individually to only reduce the problem but its very easy on symmetric bodies.

I gonna make an example on a sphere and you can see how far that brings you or maybe inspires new solutions for your individual case with a more organic loaction.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=io_mz5XlDXE

Hope that helps a bit.
Let me know here or in SplashOne discord, cheers

WELD
__________________
4790K@4,6Ghz | EVGA Z97 Classified | 32GB @ 2400Mhz | Titan X hydro copper| SSD 850 PRO
____________________________________
Moments in DCS:
--> https://www.youtube.com/user/weltensegLA
--> https://www.twitch.tv/weltensegler

WELD's cockpit: --> http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=92274

Last edited by Weltensegler; 11-12-2017 at 10:42 PM.
Weltensegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:24 PM   #1259
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,170
Default

Not sure if it's 100% Normals or if Smoothing Groups Play apart,

I've played with both smoothing groups and normals and I'm still not able to eliminate the problem, it only shows in EDM Format, in 3DS and other Formats there are no problems.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 11-13-2017 at 07:35 PM.
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 09:23 PM   #1260
Weltensegler
Member
 
Weltensegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santa Monica/Venice Beach
Posts: 640
Default

Smoothing works by normals. as shown in the video I made.

I'm too rusty to try it in EDM and see if the normals reset on export.
I may try the next days.
__________________
4790K@4,6Ghz | EVGA Z97 Classified | 32GB @ 2400Mhz | Titan X hydro copper| SSD 850 PRO
____________________________________
Moments in DCS:
--> https://www.youtube.com/user/weltensegLA
--> https://www.twitch.tv/weltensegler

WELD's cockpit: --> http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=92274
Weltensegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.