Do your menus flicker in VR mode? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2019, 06:57 PM   #1
derammo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 98
Default Do your menus flicker in VR mode?

Does everyone see a flickering mess when looking at the text of the main menu and the pre-flight mission briefing screens? If I compare what I see in the DCS menus to any other VR application, the text looks like a flickering mess for some reason. The edges of all the letters shimmer like a graphics bug where subpixel rendering is just plain wrong.

In case you are wondering, I am using an HTC Vive Pro on RTX 2080 with 2x MSAA and 8x Anisotropic Filtering. I am using equivalent settings in other VR programs with no problems.

Is this just frame interpolation noise caused by dropping frames and having SteamVR try to fix it? If so, it is very surprising to me that I get this flickering on interpolation between frames that basically don't change (I am staring at a static scene showing the menu, trying to move as little as possible.)

Anyways, is this a common experience?
derammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 07:14 PM   #2
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pocari Pocky
Posts: 4,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derammo View Post
Anyways, is this a common experience?
Nope, shouldn't be. Haven't experienced that with neither O+ nor HP Reverb.
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.0GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | 32GB DDR4 RAM | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Glear: HP Reverb | Jetseat 908 | Monstertech MTX Sim Rig | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II w/ MCG PRO (center mount) | VKB Gunfighter /w SCG-R Premium (side mount)




rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:28 PM   #3
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 3,588
Default

Do you mean the loading screens? If so yes, if not then no.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:24 PM   #4
obious
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Do you mean the loading screens? If so yes, if not then no.
I get a ridic amount of flickering during loading which is pretty annoying tbh
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme - Intel 3930K @ 4.6Ghz - Zotac GTX 1080TI - Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400Mhz 16GB RAM - Samsung 860 Evo SSD - Thrustmaster Warthog & F-18 stick, Pendular Rudder Pedals - HP Reverb
obious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:25 PM   #5
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pocari Pocky
Posts: 4,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obious View Post
I get a ridic amount of flickering during loading which is pretty annoying tbh
But it's normal and okay, because if you turn that feature off in Steam VR, those menus make me sick to my stomach otherwise.
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.0GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | 32GB DDR4 RAM | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Glear: HP Reverb | Jetseat 908 | Monstertech MTX Sim Rig | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II w/ MCG PRO (center mount) | VKB Gunfighter /w SCG-R Premium (side mount)




rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:45 PM   #6
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 601
Default

I've gotten exactly the same shimmering/flickering of the text in the menus when I was using my Rift CV1, but it seems to me that it was brought on with a DCS update, and later fixed by a subsequent update. I found that when I had the shimmering/flickering of the text in the menus that I could make it go away by turning MSAA off. But that was a long time ago. I thought that issue was fixed. Try turning your MSAA off, just as an experiment, and see what it does.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, MSI GTX2080Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, HP Reverb Pro, and Oculus Rift CV1.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 11:29 PM   #7
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,532
Default

Other than the flickering screen during loading, no I do not see any menu or text flickering in the game.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 11:35 PM   #8
FeistyLemur
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 388
Default

I just got in the habit of closing my eyes during load screens, and holding very still to avoid the eyestrain.


The text menus kind of artifact a little bit for me when using them in flight, like if I am in the keybinds, I assume that's the asw or whatever you call it on the oculus.
FeistyLemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.