VR trackIR Like non 1:1 pointer mouvement

Neurowork

Hey guys,

I fly VR most of the time without the mouse setting enabled, meaning that I get a pointer at the center of my view that remains centered as I move my head and that allows for cockpit interaction.

I find that with a proper Hotas configuration, the ability to point with my head and interract with the cockpit buttons is the most efficient, short of having an actual hardward cockpit with all of the buttons.

However, one thing that drives me nuts is that when trying to reach for buttons with my head, it sometimes get to the point where it is unconfortable far down/left/right, having to cranck my head down to make that centered pointer reach buttons.

A nice solution and honnestly not that hard to implement (being a software engineer myself) is to provide the option for the pointer not to stay centered but rather a trackIR-like configuration capability where downwards head movement gradually make the pointer move off-center down to make it easier to reach cockpit buttons.

Conversely, Upwards movement would gradually move the pointer off-center up to make the radio easier to reach as well.

That would be a nice feature to have and a step closer to a full mouse-less VR experience.

I hope this gets into the product someday.

Cheers,

Edited by Neurowork
Clarifications

Happy Flying ! :pilotfly:

--

My specs: i7 8700K oc 5.0gHz, Asus Maximus Hero X, 32 Go DDR4 3600MHz, GTX1080 oc 2025MHz, Samsung Evo 960 SSD, Oculus rift CV1, 2 sensors. VKB Gunfighter w/ Warthog stick. Warthog throttle. Custom 6xrotary box. MFG rudder pedals

In VR, this would be a recipe for motion sickness! But if you’ve got the stomach for it...

Ryzen 7 5800X3D / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / Sapphire Nitro+ 6800XT / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 / Samsung 980 Pro M.2 / Virpil Warbrd base + VFX and TM grips / Virpil CM3 Throttle / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Reverb G2