From 4K to Rift VR Questions - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2016, 03:37 PM   #1
CrimsonGhost
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 262
Unhappy From 4K to Rift VR Questions

Hello all. As the title says, I recently picked up the Rift with the sole intended use being for DCS. Previously I had been running DCS at 4K with no issues. The sim looked amazing.

Now when using the Rift, the level of immersion is stunning, but the graphical quality is rather disappointing. I have increased the pixel density, but did not notice any gain from going up to 1.8. My question is, will changing my graphic settings in the sim make things better? And if so, what have folks found to be the best? I noticed while in menu, using the Rift, that all my settings are still where I had them for 4K, including screen resolution. Any pointers in the right direction would be most appreciated. I just got out of a test flight in the F-5, and while really enjoyable, reading any of the gauges or switch labels was practically impossible. And forget spotting targets without labels. I was unable to even recognize aircraft type until under 1 mile.

Here are my system specs. Hopefully someone has a similar build and can steer me in the right direction.
i7-4790K, EVGA 980ti Hybrid, 32GB DDR3-2600. Small overclocks on the processor and video card. Thank you all.
CrimsonGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 04:06 PM   #2
Revelation
Senior Member
 
Revelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 2,166
Default

When DCS detects the Rift it will run DCS at the native resolution of the Rift regardless of your settings. Some people have messed around with their graphics settings to get, what they believe to be, a better image.

My settings are left the same as when I run DCS on a 1440p monitor with TrackIR. This way I don't have to changes settings back and forth. With CV1, reading gauges and text is a lot easier than with the DK2. I can't say that I have any issues reading the aforementioned, then again I'm used to the prior DK2 experience.

When it comes to ID targets, you can set your object size (forget the technical term) to medium or large - that will help while using the CV1.
__________________
Win 10 Pro 64Bit | 27" Asus ROG 1440p | i7-6700k @4.54GHz | ASROCK Extreme7+ | 32Gb @3GHz DDR4 | 512Gb SM951 M.2 SSD | GTX 1080Ti | H100i AIO CPU Cooler
Revelation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 05:02 PM   #3
DerekSpeare
Member
 
DerekSpeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boxx Town USA!
Posts: 994
Default

It's unrealistic to expect first generation VR to come close to a 4k screen. The benefits of VR far outweigh any screen if the realities of the limitations are kept in perspective.

VR screen resolution is fixed. You cannot adjust it.
__________________
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare
derekspearedesigns.com 15,000+ Gaming Enthusiasts Trust DSD Components to Deliver!
i7-5930k| GTX1080ti | 32gb Ram | 1TB SSD | CV1/DK2/2xWMR | CH Pro Throt/Fighterstick Pro | 2 DSD Boxes
Falcon XT/AT/3.0/4.0 | LB2 | DCS | FI-P3D v2.5/3 | FI-FSX
My Hangar: FC3 | F-16 | C101 | M2000 | Mi8 | UH1 | F86 | L39 | A10C | NTTR | F5E | F/A-18 | Harrier
DSD TS Server: derekspeare.typefrag.com | PW = dsdftw!
Useful VR settings and tips for DCS HERE
DerekSpeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 06:33 PM   #4
Warthog_Farmer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 137
Default

Sacrificing the resolution for immersion is a no-brainer for me. And you get used to it after a while... Cannot go back to 2D/TrackIR...
__________________
System Specs
Spoiler:

Hardware
Asus Maximus X Code
Intel i7 8086k @ 5.1GHz (Watercooled)
32GB G.Skill Trident Z at 3600MHz
GTX1080Ti Strix OC
DCS on the M.2 SSD
--
TM Warthog Stick on a VPC MongooseT50 base
TM Warthog Throttle
MFG Crosswind
Oculus CV1


Modules
Spoiler:

Modules
A-10C
AJS37
AV8B N/A
Bf-109
F5E
F-86F
F/A-18C
Flaming Cliffs 3
FW-190
Hawk
KA50
L39C/ZA
M2000C
Mi-8
MiG-21Bis
P51D
SA342
Spitfire
UH1H


Theatres
Caucasus
Hormuz
Nevada
Normandy


Warthog_Farmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 09:45 PM   #5
CrimsonGhost
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 262
Default

Thank you all for the quick replies. I certainly did not expect 4K quality from the Rift. I knew there would be sacrifices. I guess I was expecting closer to 1080 resolution quality. But it's not even close to that.

Like I mentioned in my first post, even zooming in, all the gauges and switch markings are totally unreadable. I see videos on YouTube, and the quality of their image is vastly superior. Particularly Bunyap's VR videos if you are familiar with them. I will keep researching and tweaking, but have there been any reports of "defective" Rifts?

I know the technology is still in the early stages, but if others are having success with it I would like to troubleshoot the issue.
CrimsonGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:02 PM   #6
BlackLion213
Senior Member
 
BlackLion213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Fransciso Bay Area
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrimsonGhost View Post
Like I mentioned in my first post, even zooming in, all the gauges and switch markings are totally unreadable. I see videos on YouTube, and the quality of their image is vastly superior. Particularly Bunyap's VR videos if you are familiar with them. I will keep researching and tweaking, but have there been any reports of "defective" Rifts?

I know the technology is still in the early stages, but if others are having success with it I would like to troubleshoot the issue.
Any product could be defective, but the Rift also requires much more "fitting" than a normal computer peripheral. If the lenses aren't properly aligned with your pupil they will distort the image. Have you checked to see if the blurriness equally effects both eyes? If one eye is clearer that could easily be IOC adjustment issue. Much like binoculars, rotational mal-alignments and IOC/IPC issues could mess up the appearance, but without a prior baseline its harder for you to know what should be expected.

I haven't heard of anyone else finding that the image is blurry even when zoomed or leaning in. Plus, most users (including Bunyap) have stated that their Rift image quality is much better than the recorded video.

It seems like something is amiss in your case.

-Nick
BlackLion213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:42 PM   #7
yellow_jacket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackLion213 View Post
Any product could be defective, but the Rift also requires much more "fitting" than a normal computer peripheral. If the lenses aren't properly aligned with your pupil they will distort the image. Have you checked to see if the blurriness equally effects both eyes? If one eye is clearer that could easily be IOC adjustment issue. Much like binoculars, rotational mal-alignments and IOC/IPC issues could mess up the appearance, but without a prior baseline its harder for you to know what should be expected.

I haven't heard of anyone else finding that the image is blurry even when zoomed or leaning in. Plus, most users (including Bunyap) have stated that their Rift image quality is much better than the recorded video.

It seems like something is amiss in your case.

-Nick
Ghost, Did you go though the alignment of the three vertical lines and three horizontal lines on the rift during setup? This is super important I think
yellow_jacket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:55 PM   #8
CrimsonGhost
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow_jacket View Post
Ghost, Did you go though the alignment of the three vertical lines and three horizontal lines on the rift during setup? This is super important I think
I don't recall that being an option I saw during setup. But that could very well explain the problems I'm having. Thanks for the tip, I shall investigate further.
CrimsonGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 12:50 AM   #9
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,637
Default

Also, do you normally wear glasses?
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 02:30 AM   #10
DerekSpeare
Member
 
DerekSpeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boxx Town USA!
Posts: 994
Default

Any video capture is going to be what is shown on the mirror and not on the VR device itself. I'm not even sure a HDMI capture will do it.

Run the tooltips. That's the best you can get. Some planes are better than others. The F5 is impossible to read. VR is too good right now, so it's worth it.
__________________
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare
derekspearedesigns.com 15,000+ Gaming Enthusiasts Trust DSD Components to Deliver!
i7-5930k| GTX1080ti | 32gb Ram | 1TB SSD | CV1/DK2/2xWMR | CH Pro Throt/Fighterstick Pro | 2 DSD Boxes
Falcon XT/AT/3.0/4.0 | LB2 | DCS | FI-P3D v2.5/3 | FI-FSX
My Hangar: FC3 | F-16 | C101 | M2000 | Mi8 | UH1 | F86 | L39 | A10C | NTTR | F5E | F/A-18 | Harrier
DSD TS Server: derekspeare.typefrag.com | PW = dsdftw!
Useful VR settings and tips for DCS HERE
DerekSpeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.