Option for Maverick Boresighting - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2019, 05:39 PM   #1
kraszus
Junior Member
 
kraszus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 88
Default Option for Maverick Boresighting

Haven't bought this module yet, but just wondering will it be necessary to boresight Mavericks to TGP prior to use?
__________________
http://raptr.com/badge/e8c161557e4d4dee232f739932f2ab74/fs.png
kraszus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 06:33 PM   #2
Cupra
Member
 
Cupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 319
Default

No.
__________________
DCS F-16C 40/42
Cupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 07:03 PM   #3
beppe_goodoldrebel
Senior Member
 
beppe_goodoldrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,018
Default

If yes please make it optional.
beppe_goodoldrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 08:13 PM   #4
Eaglewings
Member
 
Eaglewings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beppe_goodoldrebel View Post
If yes please make it optional.
Yeah optional like the TDC slew control.
Boresighting is quite a process with the maverick.
Eaglewings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 01:18 AM   #5
Jetguy06
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Plaquemine, Louisiana
Posts: 224
Default

I'd love for it to be implemented, even better if it's an option for those that don't want it. It's one of the few things I find missing from the A-10c, as it is a real world part of getting the mavericks ready.
Jetguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 04:25 AM   #6
Cupra
Member
 
Cupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 319
Default

But if you do not have something like a TGP... you will have to work without

But interesting question… just waiting for someone who asks if also the flying of the jet will be implemented… A look at the list and you have what will come.. first it has to fly and run stable. A well working radar code and flight model. Weapons are getting interesting if the system itself are working.
__________________
DCS F-16C 40/42
Cupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 09:31 AM   #7
Geraki
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cupra View Post
But if you do not have something like a TGP... you will have to work without

But interesting question… just waiting for someone who asks if also the flying of the jet will be implemented… A look at the list and you have what will come.. first it has to fly and run stable. A well working radar code and flight model. Weapons are getting interesting if the system itself are working.
Since the DCS F-16 block50 would have TGP i think it is must to boresight the MAV if we want realism .....
Geraki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 02:58 PM   #8
Harker
Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 919
Default

Mavericks need to be boresighted regardless if you have a TGP or not. If not, they won't work correctly with the rest of the aircraft's sensors. The HUD TD box will point to the desired spot and the MAV camera will point to another. Same deal with A/G radar designation etc.

I'm guessing that if you don't have a TGP to help you with boresighting, you'd use the HUD to match the TD box location with the location the MAV camera is looking.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 03:33 PM   #9
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,004
Default

Given that no other module we have has to do this (and they all should). I'm pretty skeptical that we will see it on the viper.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 03:34 PM   #10
Swiftwin9s
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 105
Default

what do you guys mean by 'boresight'? Collimating it or doing like in the hornet where it re centres the display?
Swiftwin9s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.