Air to air refueling... - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2019, 04:02 AM   #1
Rhinozherous
Member
 
Rhinozherous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vienna
Posts: 324
Default Air to air refueling...

Hello!
I noticed that the connection point for a2a refueling is quite a distance behind the cockpit... It comes to my mind that the boom operator has a lot to do with aiming that thing in.

As I am absolute no a2a expert, I wonder if this circumstance makes refueling the viper in DCS more easy or harder for us?

Thank you
__________________
Rhinozherous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 04:39 AM   #2
Emmy
Senior Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,684
Default

There are two sets of guide lights on the underside of the tanker (UP/DWN .. FWD/AFT) which the pilot uses to hit the right point in space so the Boomer can hit the receptacle on the spine of the Viper.

Then you just have to pace the tanker per normal.
__________________
http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 05:08 AM   #3
AG-51_Razor
Senior Member
 
AG-51_Razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,571
Default

Yeah, it's gonna be a Some Beee ach!!
__________________
AG-51_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 05:21 AM   #4
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmy View Post
There are two sets of guide lights on the underside of the tanker (UP/DWN .. FWD/AFT) which the pilot uses to hit the right point in space so the Boomer can hit the receptacle on the spine of the Viper.

Then you just have to pace the tanker per normal.
I was wondering about those lights since they're practically invisible from the A-10 when tanking. I was curious if they even worked in DCS.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 05:32 AM   #5
Emmy
Senior Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nealius View Post
I was wondering about those lights since they're practically invisible from the A-10 when tanking. I was curious if they even worked in DCS.
They do, but I believe they are “prism-ed“ or specifically aimed for when you are further forward than where you park in a Warthog.

Try the F-15 sometime...
__________________
http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 05:43 AM   #6
probad
Senior Member
 
probad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2,138
Default

its actually easier than probe and drogue, the 'box' you need to be in is larger
__________________
hahaha hey look at me i surely know more about aviation and coding than actual industry professionals hired for their competency because i have read jalopnik and wikipedia i bet theyve never even heard of google LOL
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 05:49 AM   #7
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,894
Default

Ah holy hell I totally forgot I even had the F-15. That's the one jet I still haven't popped my AAR cherry with.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 06:22 AM   #8
aileron
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: California, USA
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmy View Post
There are two sets of guide lights on the underside of the tanker (UP/DWN .. FWD/AFT) which the pilot uses to hit the right point in space so the Boomer can hit the receptacle on the spine of the Viper.

Then you just have to pace the tanker per normal.
Sadly, in VR they're impossible to read... At least they are in the CV1. Don't know about the Reverb, or Index.
aileron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:11 AM   #9
TonyG
Member
 
TonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aileron View Post
Sadly, in VR they're impossible to read... At least they are in the CV1. Don't know about the Reverb, or Index.
I’ve successfully tanked quite a bit in the F-15 to see if I could do it in preparation for the Viper. The lights are very easy to read, see, use with the Rift S.
TonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 07:30 AM   #10
petritis
3rd Party Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 44
Default

I think that it might be very challenging. But that's the beauty.
__________________
"ARGO 2.0 Project Phoenix" UH-1H DLC Campaign - WIP
"ARGO" DCS UH-1H DLC SP Campaign
petritis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:45 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.