SA-5 : Any updates? - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2019, 03:15 PM   #21
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,015
Default

Except that the sa10 can and will shoot down the jsow.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:24 PM   #22
Schmidtfire
Senior Member
 
Schmidtfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,187
Default

I don’t mind waiting But it is frustrating to get hyped up over something that seems to go in and out of development for an extended period of time. Just like the WWII damage model. Or the new Kutznetsov. Or SCUD.

It would be better to give estimated release windows and show weekly progress in in the newsletters. If no work has been done on the particular project that is fine too. At least people know what is going on and what projects are getting attention at the moment.
Schmidtfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 11:56 AM   #23
Lunatic98
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 1,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dun_Aenghus View Post
Kind of agree with earlier posters who would opt for more simplified models. The stuff we're getting looks incredible but if it's taking six months to build a new model of a truck, we can forget about badly needed new units being added to the sim. Maybe this is something the community can eventually help out with.
The thing is those models are already complete at the very least a hair-thin line away from being complete, it's not the model that is taking up so much time - the models are already basically complete if not completed, you can look at and inspect them already in the model viewer, the SCUD looked as though it was visually complete ages ago. I'm certain it's something else that's causing the delay and not the 3D model.

I mean a lot of weapons were completely overhauled and drastically improved ((all Mk80 series, all GBUs, all Sparrows and all AMRAAMs as well as a few others) over literally 1-2 update cycles, these models are pretty much perfect and all have animated control surfaces (well, except for the JDAMs for some reason) so I think it's definitely something else which is taking the most amount of time (if you look in the ModelViewer you can see that the model for the AGM-84H, ATFLIR (ASQ-228), AGM-62, Mk40 Destructor all already there, just waiting to be implemented). I have incredibly limited experience with 3D modelling, but I can't imagine it taking much more than a week at the very most to make a new 3D model for something like a launcher or a missile including animation, I imagine the bulk of it can be done in a single day providing adequate documentation, measurements etc.

It's almost certainly going to be the FDM, guidance and AI that's taking the most amount of time as well as other things on EDs long list (don't forget they are a small team).

For me, I also use CA directly, and I make use of the F6, F7, F9 and Ctrl+F11 cameras a lot and I definitely notice the difference in graphics without taking any performance hit. I care about it enough that I actually stay away from lower quality units.

Spoiler:
Just as a side note you can find the Model viewer in the base installation folder of DCS in the bin folder under ModelViewer2.exe, most of the models including in the base game (apart from player aircraft) can be found under Bazar -> World -> Shapes and is what Silver_Dragon uses in his videos.
__________________
Spoiler:
Modules I own: F-14A/B, F/A-18C, AJS-37, F-5E, Ka-50, MiG-21Bis, FC3, MiG-15Bis, A-10C, Mi-8MTV2, UH-1H, P-51D, CA, C-101, Hawk

System (my old PC died): Dell XPS 15 9570 w/ Intel i7-8750H, NVIDIA GTX 1050Ti Max-Q, 16GB DDR4, 500GB SSD

VKB Gunfighter Mk.II w. MCG Pro

Wishlist: https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/KKpznH


Last edited by Lunatic98; 09-04-2019 at 11:22 PM.
Lunatic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 12:47 PM   #24
Sierra99
Campaign Testers
 
Sierra99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 2,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Except that the sa10 can and will shoot down the jsow.
Sometimes...yes...most of the time...no. Just dropped 4 from max range using TGP. One of each radar and the command vehicle...site shot at ME not the JSOWs.

AMMV...

That being said it's all about tactics. To simply believe the S-300 is invincible is silly.
__________________

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3, i7-3770K CPU @ 3.90GHz, 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 @ 1600Mhz, ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 Ti AMP Extreme, Windows 10 Professional, Thrustmaster Warthog, Thrustmaster Cougar Throttle, Cougar MFDs x3, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals and TrackIR 5.
Sierra99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 05:50 PM   #25
pepin1234
Senior Member
 
pepin1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sierra99 View Post
That being said it's all about tactics. To simply believe the S-300 is invincible is silly.
Don’t take wrong the idea for IRL behavior will be the same as DCS do. You are facing a SAM AI in automatic mode in DCS. That mean they will launch missiles as a kid throws stones to a river.
__________________
pepin1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 05:52 PM   #26
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sierra99 View Post
Sometimes...yes...most of the time...no. Just dropped 4 from max range using TGP. One of each radar and the command vehicle...site shot at ME not the JSOWs.

AMMV...

That being said it's all about tactics. To simply believe the S-300 is invincible is silly.
I don't think the SA10 is invincible. Then again as portrayed in DCS I doubt they all happily cluster around the main radar waiting for me to bomb the crap out of them either.

I've seen it both ways, but in general I'd say the DCS double digit sams will shoot down JSOW's quite often, especially if released far away.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 06:03 PM   #27
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,116
Default

Interesting find, I release from max range while at 30000 feet and not a single shot towards JSOWs, two aimed at me though. S300 set to excellent level.
I concur Sierra99.
Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 09:54 AM   #28
schurem
Member
 
schurem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: nijmegen, the netherlands
Posts: 520
Default

The mission builder could have chosen to prohibit the SAM to fire at munitions. It's an option you set in the group settings window.
__________________
I7 4790K, 32GB, 1070, CV1, PointCTRL
schurem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 03:38 PM   #29
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,015
Default

I actually think its interesting that the SA10 does engage them at rather longer ranges from what I've seen, and given that they are supposed to be "stealthy" I wonder how realistic it is. Of course most SA10 sites I've attacked online also have point defense in terms of having SA15's, SA11, and SA19 nearby as well, so I may be confusing which ones are actually shooting the JSOW.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 04:33 PM   #30
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,515
Default

It is still in development, but consists of several new units that must be created in order to have a functional SA-5 battery. When we have new news, we will share it.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.