SA-5 : Any updates? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2019, 10:58 AM   #11
Silver_Dragon
ED Translator
 
Silver_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,711
Send a message via MSN to Silver_Dragon
Default

Take acount meanwhile a 3D modeler need build a 3D model, build animations, damage zones, damage models, texturize and others, and maintain them update when the DCS engine make a improve or change, That is only a little part to add them to DCS World. Search a codder to build all lua files, a FM specialist to add a propper flight model if has a weapon, aircraft or helo. Other person to add them to ED main engine and databases, and more to other funtionality if not require to the ED team to build no existant funtionality as examples, missile balistic flight profile, torpedoes underwater, implement realistic armour and a long etc on the To Do list to DCS....
__________________
More news to the front
Wishlist: ED / 3rd Party Campaings
My Rig: Intel I-5 750 2.67Ghz / Packard Bell FMP55 / 16 GB DDR3 RAM / GTX-1080 8 GB RAM / HD 1Tb/2Tb / Warthog / 2 MDF / TFPR

DCS: Roadmap (unofficial):https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=116893
DCS: List of Vacant models: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...91#post4076891
21Squad DCS: World News: https://www.facebook.com/21Squad-219508958071000/
Silver_Dragon Youtube
Silver_Dragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 02:17 PM   #12
pepin1234
Senior Member
 
pepin1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,770
Default

I think they have some main problems with this implementation.

The Range for S-200 missiles in comparison with more modern S-300 range in current game play ( they are forced to increase range for current S-300 as this last have more range IRL than in current game ).

Because the above mentioned. The game play will be OP and the Bluefor fighters will be forced to low level altitude approaches and this is hard task when you add Redfor units for CAP this SAM area.

They are IRL fixed LN with long time rearming, at the next level S-300 is supposed to be a mobile SAM as this is his major advantage respect S-200. Amazingly our S-300 remain forever as no mobile SAM in current game, killing the major difference advantages respect S-200.
__________________
pepin1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 02:35 PM   #13
Silver_Dragon
ED Translator
 
Silver_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,711
Send a message via MSN to Silver_Dragon
Default

S-300 have planned to update (ED was show some launcher updated in the pass).
__________________
More news to the front
Wishlist: ED / 3rd Party Campaings
My Rig: Intel I-5 750 2.67Ghz / Packard Bell FMP55 / 16 GB DDR3 RAM / GTX-1080 8 GB RAM / HD 1Tb/2Tb / Warthog / 2 MDF / TFPR

DCS: Roadmap (unofficial):https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=116893
DCS: List of Vacant models: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...91#post4076891
21Squad DCS: World News: https://www.facebook.com/21Squad-219508958071000/
Silver_Dragon Youtube
Silver_Dragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 02:30 AM   #14
Ironwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 196
Default

Sure, I take those into account. They would have also been required for the Chinese SAM system
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 09:22 AM   #15
Dun_Aenghus
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 189
Default

Kind of agree with earlier posters who would opt for more simplified models. The stuff we're getting looks incredible but if it's taking six months to build a new model of a truck, we can forget about badly needed new units being added to the sim. Maybe this is something the community can eventually help out with.
__________________
Dun_Aenghus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 09:33 AM   #16
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,116
Default

I disagree. More quality units are great, granted it takes more resources to create but I am willing to wait rather than have low poly low quality substitutes. Don't forget this is a combat sandbox and not all people are high in the air all the time, not to mention Combined Arms users.
Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 10:08 AM   #17
Silver_Dragon
ED Translator
 
Silver_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,711
Send a message via MSN to Silver_Dragon
Default

I recomend "patience"..... the "list" has very high (And I missing someone.....) and surelly, someone missing in the road, but if only the 25% has coming, can be a good funny welcome.
__________________
More news to the front
Wishlist: ED / 3rd Party Campaings
My Rig: Intel I-5 750 2.67Ghz / Packard Bell FMP55 / 16 GB DDR3 RAM / GTX-1080 8 GB RAM / HD 1Tb/2Tb / Warthog / 2 MDF / TFPR

DCS: Roadmap (unofficial):https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=116893
DCS: List of Vacant models: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...91#post4076891
21Squad DCS: World News: https://www.facebook.com/21Squad-219508958071000/
Silver_Dragon Youtube
Silver_Dragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:42 PM   #18
Kid18120
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cik View Post
to be honest i wish they would stop doing such highly detailed texture models.


look at the truck they teased in the weekly update a while ago. I mean, no kidding really pretty, perfectly modeled seams in the tarp over the back, high res license plate, beautiful reflection mapping and all this stuff.. none of which you will ever see even at 150ft going over the thing in a helicopter, the slowest and lowest type of thing you will ever fly by in one.


just give us a basic looking model that performs pretty close and do it inside 3 months, the game is in dire need of units and if it takes years to put in a single SAM system we're actually behind the event horizon.


there are going to be new SAMs coming out in real life faster than old SAMs are being added to the game, it's silly. We're still missing huge chunks of the order of battle of almost everything, guys, come on.
There's this thing named "LOD" where said good looking stuff won't even be loaded if you're not close enough. At the same time this allows for a better experience for those playing Combined Arms, or for those who enjoy creating content (pics / vids).
Still, good looking models are not going to impact the development of say a flight model or other stuff so why not have them? Implementing a new SAM or whatever other unit it's not as simple as just making a 3D model for it. ED is constantly innovating in the AI logics, systems modeling and anything else. In the meantime the graphics guy / guys can have fun with models.
__________________

Simming since 2005
My Rig: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming, AMD Ryzen7 2700X, G.Skill RipJaws 32GB DDR4-3200, EVGA GTX1070 FTW, Corsair HX850
Kid18120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 02:35 PM   #19
kam
Member
 
kam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver_Dragon View Post
S-300 have planned to update (ED was show some launcher updated in the pass).
Do you mean the model shown by Significant from several years ago or newer ED model?
__________________
Intel 5820k | Asus X-99A | Crucial 16GB | Powercolor Devil RX580 8GB | Win 10 x64 | Oculus Rift | https://gallery.ksotov.co.uk
Patiently waiting for: DCS: Panavia Tornado, DCS: SA-2 Guideline, DCS: SA-3 Goa, DCS: S-300 Grumble
kam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 02:52 PM   #20
Sierra99
Campaign Testers
 
Sierra99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 2,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepin1234 View Post
Because the above mentioned. The game play will be OP and the Bluefor fighters will be forced to low level altitude approaches and this is hard task when you add Redfor units for CAP this SAM area.
A couple of JSOWs from 35k ft and 60 miles away deal with SA-10s quite effectively. Fighter cap or. It.

It has been stated many times the SA-5 is coming after other priorities.
__________________

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3, i7-3770K CPU @ 3.90GHz, 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 @ 1600Mhz, ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 Ti AMP Extreme, Windows 10 Professional, Thrustmaster Warthog, Thrustmaster Cougar Throttle, Cougar MFDs x3, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals and TrackIR 5.
Sierra99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.