One button for flares, another for chaff, possible? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2019, 11:25 PM   #1
madeiner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 93
Default One button for flares, another for chaff, possible?

As title.
I'd rather avoid working with programs if it means its going to waste countermeasures, nor i want to have to press multiple buttons (like change programs) in the middle of a dogfight. I like the hornet's one click = one countermeasure and you have two buttons in bypass mode, one for each type.

Anything similar in the viper?
madeiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 12:30 AM   #2
mthatdan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 39
Default

Don’t know if fully implemented but, you could set program 5 for 1 flare and program 6 1 chaff
__________________
aka Badger
X570 Aorus Master, Ryzen 3700X @3.8, 32GB DDR4@3200,RTX1070 Super, GTX 1070Ti, Win 10 Home, HOTAS Cougar, and some other DoDads
mthatdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 12:32 AM   #3
Dee-Jay
Member
 
Dee-Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 130
Default

Hi!


Quote:
Originally Posted by madeiner View Post
As title.
I'd rather avoid working with programs if it means its going to waste countermeasures, nor i want to have to press multiple buttons (like change programs) in the middle of a dogfight. I like the hornet's one click = one countermeasure and you have two buttons in bypass mode, one for each type.

Anything similar in the viper?

Unlike VERY old F-16 blocks ... only program are possible on F-16 blk 50/52. However, you can set PGM1 for one flare and PGM2 for one chaff (or Slap switch and or PGM6).
But if one flare or one chaff is enough to be efficient, ... it means that something is rather wrong in the game. Normal, to be efficient, smartly defined sequences are required.


Regards.
__________________

ASUSTeK ROG MAXIMUS X HERO / Intel Core i5-8600K (4.8 GHz) / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 / 16GB DDR4 Ballistix Elite, 3200 MHz / Windows 10 Home 64-bit / HOTAS Cougar FSSB R1 (Warthog grip) / SIMPED / MFD Cougar / ViperGear ICP / Track IR 5
Dee-Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 03:33 AM   #4
NeMoGas
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 155
Default

What I did was set the panic wall button to drop only chaff in the CSM lau file. Then I setup my other programs as desired inside the same lau. This allows me to only drop chaff if I know it's a radar only launch, while not giving my position away to God and everybody with flares. Then with the CSM forward I can drop flares and chaff when I think it's IR and radar. I mapped the CSM wall button to the CSM left on my TMW because it is unused.
NeMoGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:01 AM   #5
Wicked.-
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeMoGas View Post
What I did was set the panic wall button to drop only chaff in the CSM lau file. Then I setup my other programs as desired inside the same lau. This allows me to only drop chaff if I know it's a radar only launch, while not giving my position away to God and everybody with flares. Then with the CSM forward I can drop flares and chaff when I think it's IR and radar. I mapped the CSM wall button to the CSM left on my TMW because it is unused.
This.

Program the slap switch for chaff only or flare only. Typically though, if you need a flare, you need 3 or more.
__________________


Intel i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz HT Disabled, Asus RoG Strix z390E Gaming, 64GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200, Asus RoG Strix RTX2080Ti OC @ 1.9Ghz, 1TB Samsung Evo 970Pro M.2 TM Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, Saitek Pro Rudder Pedals, Samsung 49" Curved Gaming Monitor, Samsung 50" 4KUHD TV, Acer 27" Touch Panel, CV1, Pimax 5K+, Valve Index, FSSB3 Lighting, F-16SGRH, 3 TM Cougar's and a Saitek X36 that I can't bring myself to part with.
Wicked.- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:20 AM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,945
Default

I also set the wall button (program 5) to drop only flares and then use program 1 as a chaff program.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 08:52 AM   #7
madeiner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 93
Default

Thanks everyone Wall button configuration it is.

Btw yes, i launch multiple countermeasures but i try to dump a few when in a notch/after disabling AB, in a very short time. I found that it works best.
madeiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 12:13 PM   #8
earnil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeiner View Post
Thanks everyone Wall button configuration it is.

Btw yes, i launch multiple countermeasures but i try to dump a few when in a notch/after disabling AB, in a very short time. I found that it works best.
My setup on CMS warthog switch is like this:
CMS forward - start program
CMS aft - wall switch
CMS left - select prog 1
CMS right - select prog 2

Prog 1 is chaff only, prog 2 is chaff + flare, wall program is panic.
This way you can have Progs 1 / 2 for your normal stuff and wall for dogfight or MANPADs evasion.
earnil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 07:04 PM   #9
Sierra99
ED Testers Team
 
Sierra99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 2,175
Default

Ok...I am a moron...

Where is the slap switch?
__________________

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3, i7-3770K CPU @ 3.90GHz, 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 @ 1600Mhz, ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 Ti AMP Extreme, Windows 10 Professional, Thrustmaster Warthog, Thrustmaster Cougar Throttle, Cougar MFDs x3, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals and TrackIR 5.
Sierra99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 08:51 PM   #10
Wicked.-
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 564
Default

The slap switch is the same as the wall switch. It's right above where your hand rests on the throttle grip, below the canopy. I guess you could call it "the bottom of your fist switch" as well lol.
__________________


Intel i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz HT Disabled, Asus RoG Strix z390E Gaming, 64GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200, Asus RoG Strix RTX2080Ti OC @ 1.9Ghz, 1TB Samsung Evo 970Pro M.2 TM Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, Saitek Pro Rudder Pedals, Samsung 49" Curved Gaming Monitor, Samsung 50" 4KUHD TV, Acer 27" Touch Panel, CV1, Pimax 5K+, Valve Index, FSSB3 Lighting, F-16SGRH, 3 TM Cougar's and a Saitek X36 that I can't bring myself to part with.

Last edited by Wicked.-; 12-05-2019 at 08:53 PM.
Wicked.- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:17 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.