IP Protocol Issue - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 12:23 AM   #1
Tiburtius
Junior Member
 
Tiburtius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 76
Default IP Protocol Issue

After some troubles testing my DCS server, I found a solution.
Problem & Solution outlined below.

Problem:
DCS VOIP would not show myself and another user in the room list. We could only see ourselves, and we can not hear each other.

Local Configuration:
DCS Server on LAN IP 192.168.1.127
Client on LAN IP 192.168.1.5
Public IP will not be included for privacy, but will be referenced by "A.B.C.D"
Router has port 10308 forwarded to DCS Server @ 192.168.1.127, and working for over a year.
Connection to Public Internet is by IPv4 only.

Router Info:
Make: ASUS
Model: RT-AC3200
Firmware: 3.0.0.4.382_51640

Tested Setups:
  • No Port Forward on 10309 - leaving this to UPNP
  • Port forward enabled for 10309

Results:
Clients still cannot see each other.

Observations:
My local client sees the DCS server in the listing (and as the last IP in the "Connect by IP" dialog) as its IPv6 link-local [FE80::/10 series] address.

Subsequent Test:
  • Attempting to connect to DCS server on same LAN via IPv6 does not allow VOIP traffic.
  • Attempting to connect to DCS server on same LAN via A.B.C.D (IPv4/Public) fails "Address Unavailable". [Not particularly an issue, should be using a LAN IP anyway]
  • Attempting to connect to DCS server on same LAN via IPv4 192.168.1.127 succeeds, with functional VOIP traffic.

Results:
  • VOIP traffic does not appear to be able to cross between IPv4 and IPv6 clients, at least for LAN.
  • DCS server could also bind/broadcast LAN IPv4 in addition to public IPv4 and IPv6, so users on the same LAN as thier server can connect from the list using LAN IPv4. (If this is feasible)
__________________
My Rig:
Spoiler:

CPU: i9-9900k - Corsair H150 Cooler. RAM: 32GB, 3200Mhz.
Mobo: Asus MAXIMUS Formula XI - Main Drive: 512GB NvME SSD
DCS Drive: 512GB NvME SSD - Graphics: GTX 1070 Ti. Display: 23" 1080p LG LCD.
Input: Razer Naga & Blackwidow Ultimate, TrackIR 5, HOTAS Warthog & MFDs (x4), Saitek Rudder Pedals, TurtleBeach PX22 Headset.

Last edited by Tiburtius; 12-03-2019 at 12:56 AM.
Tiburtius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 12:50 AM   #2
Tiburtius
Junior Member
 
Tiburtius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 76
Default

To follow up with my initial report, as it is related but not exactly the same issue.

After the successful test above, I turned off the port forward for 10309 again to test with UPNP since we were able to verify that the VOIP would work. Relying on UPNP, we were unable to make a successful VOIP connection and encountered some client crashes.

My friend connecting over the internet had one client crash on slot selection.
Connecting myself encountered crashes with IPv4 or IPv6 LAN IPs (crash reports submitted).

Re-enabling the port forward solved the issue for my friend, and using the IPv4 LAN IP myself brought back the successful VOIP connection. LAN IPv6, still failed as described above.
__________________
My Rig:
Spoiler:

CPU: i9-9900k - Corsair H150 Cooler. RAM: 32GB, 3200Mhz.
Mobo: Asus MAXIMUS Formula XI - Main Drive: 512GB NvME SSD
DCS Drive: 512GB NvME SSD - Graphics: GTX 1070 Ti. Display: 23" 1080p LG LCD.
Input: Razer Naga & Blackwidow Ultimate, TrackIR 5, HOTAS Warthog & MFDs (x4), Saitek Rudder Pedals, TurtleBeach PX22 Headset.
Tiburtius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 09:05 AM   #3
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17,533
Default

Thank you for the feedback.

I will make sure the team see's it.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 09:10 AM   #4
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 18,142
Default

Please add to server's 'Saved Games\DCS\Config\autoexec.cfg' line:

net.force_ipv4_lan=true

and check again - is it helps?

(create autoexec.cfg if necessary, this file doesn't created by DCS automatically)
__________________
When the eagles are silent, the parrots begin to jabber (W.Churchill)

DCS World 2.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 02:50 PM   #5
Tiburtius
Junior Member
 
Tiburtius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 76
Default

BigNewy & USSR_Rik,

Thank you for the prompt response!
I have added the line to my autoexec.cfg (I also have the line to disable tracks to save disk space from long MP sessions) and the server restarted successfully showing it bound to the IPv4 address for LAN.

I will follow up after work when I can hopefully do a other round of testing.

Cheers!
__________________
My Rig:
Spoiler:

CPU: i9-9900k - Corsair H150 Cooler. RAM: 32GB, 3200Mhz.
Mobo: Asus MAXIMUS Formula XI - Main Drive: 512GB NvME SSD
DCS Drive: 512GB NvME SSD - Graphics: GTX 1070 Ti. Display: 23" 1080p LG LCD.
Input: Razer Naga & Blackwidow Ultimate, TrackIR 5, HOTAS Warthog & MFDs (x4), Saitek Rudder Pedals, TurtleBeach PX22 Headset.
Tiburtius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 04:43 AM   #6
Tiburtius
Junior Member
 
Tiburtius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 76
Default

USSR_Rik,

It doesn't seem that the autoexec change of adding net.force_ipv4_lan = true worked, at least as hoped.
I have disable_write_track = true as well, which is working - so I know the file is being read.

In the Server browser I still see the link-local IPv6 address from the LAN, and it appears to connect with that unless I manually connect via IP like mentioned above. VOIP works with a manual connect via LAN IPv4 and does not with Link-Local IPv6, same as before.

Excerpts from my DCS Log file, emphasis added, personal information redacted.
Note, ports 10308 and 10309 are forwarded at the router.

2019-12-04 04:18:46.034 INFO NET: UPNP IGD detected.
2019-12-04 04:18:46.034 INFO NET: Internal LAN IP address: 192.168.1.127
2019-12-04 04:18:46.034 INFO NET: External WAN IP address: <public IPv4 address>
2019-12-04 04:18:46.076 INFO NET: TCP external <public IPv4 address>:8088 is redirected to internal 192.168.1.127:8088
2019-12-04 04:18:46.077 ERROR NET: AddPortMapping(10309, 10309, 192.168.1.127, TCP) failed with code 718 (ConflictInMappingEntry)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.082 ERROR NET: GetSpecificPortMappingEntry(10309, TCP) failed with code 714 (NoSuchEntryInArray)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.104 ERROR NET: AddPortMapping(10309, 10309, 192.168.1.127, TCP) failed with code 718 (ConflictInMappingEntry)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.109 ERROR NET: GetSpecificPortMappingEntry(10309, TCP) failed with code 714 (NoSuchEntryInArray)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.109 ERROR NET: UPNP failed to map WebRTC port 10309
2019-12-04 04:18:46.109 INFO NET: Registering HTTP control interface as <public IPv4 address>:8088 (port is forwarded by UPNP)


2019-12-04 04:18:46.680 INFO Dispatcher: //=== END OF INIT ======================================//
2019-12-04 04:18:46.681 INFO NET: server has started
2019-12-04 04:18:46.682 INFO NET: Using LEDBAT for UDP congestion control.
2019-12-04 04:18:46.683 ERROR NET: AddPortMapping(10308, 10308, 192.168.1.127, TCP) failed with code 718 (ConflictInMappingEntry)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.687 ERROR NET: GetSpecificPortMappingEntry(10308, TCP) failed with code 714 (NoSuchEntryInArray)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.709 ERROR NET: AddPortMapping(10308, 10308, 192.168.1.127, TCP) failed with code 718 (ConflictInMappingEntry)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.713 ERROR NET: GetSpecificPortMappingEntry(10308, TCP) failed with code 714 (NoSuchEntryInArray)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.713 ERROR NET: UPNP failed to map server port 10308
2019-12-04 04:18:46.714 ERROR NET: AddPortMapping(10309, 10309, 192.168.1.127, TCP) failed with code 718 (ConflictInMappingEntry)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.718 ERROR NET: GetSpecificPortMappingEntry(10309, TCP) failed with code 714 (NoSuchEntryInArray)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.739 ERROR NET: AddPortMapping(10309, 10309, 192.168.1.127, TCP) failed with code 718 (ConflictInMappingEntry)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.743 ERROR NET: GetSpecificPortMappingEntry(10309, TCP) failed with code 714 (NoSuchEntryInArray)
2019-12-04 04:18:46.743 ERROR NET: UPNP failed to map WebRTC port 10309
2019-12-04 04:18:46.743 INFO NET: Successfully set up Dual-Stack socket, using both IPv4 and IPv6
2019-12-04 04:18:46.744 INFO NET: Listen to IPv6 on port 10308
2019-12-04 04:18:46.744 INFO Dispatcher: loadMission C:\Users\<user>\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta_server\Missions\<mission file>"
2019-12-04 04:18:46.744 INFO WORLDGENERAL: loading mission from: "C:\Users\<user>\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta_server\Missions\<mission file>"
2019-12-04 04:18:47.306 INFO NET: Loading mission: "C:\Users\<user>\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta_server\Missions\<mission file>"
2019-12-04 04:18:47.307 INFO NET: Registering server as <public IPv4 address>:10308 (port is assumed to be open)
__________________
My Rig:
Spoiler:

CPU: i9-9900k - Corsair H150 Cooler. RAM: 32GB, 3200Mhz.
Mobo: Asus MAXIMUS Formula XI - Main Drive: 512GB NvME SSD
DCS Drive: 512GB NvME SSD - Graphics: GTX 1070 Ti. Display: 23" 1080p LG LCD.
Input: Razer Naga & Blackwidow Ultimate, TrackIR 5, HOTAS Warthog & MFDs (x4), Saitek Rudder Pedals, TurtleBeach PX22 Headset.
Tiburtius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 07:15 AM   #7
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 18,142
Default

It's very strange, I answered yesterday ticket in Tech. Support with similar issue (v4 and v6 conflict on server) and net.force_ipv4_lan = true helps.

Will consult with programmers.
__________________
When the eagles are silent, the parrots begin to jabber (W.Churchill)

DCS World 2.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 04:26 PM   #8
Tiburtius
Junior Member
 
Tiburtius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 76
Default

Thanks Rik,

I updated to the newest Open Beta earlier this morning on the server.
Haven’t had a chance to test client yet, but the server logs don’t look any different,
the entry about dual stack and listen on ipv6 are still there.
__________________
My Rig:
Spoiler:

CPU: i9-9900k - Corsair H150 Cooler. RAM: 32GB, 3200Mhz.
Mobo: Asus MAXIMUS Formula XI - Main Drive: 512GB NvME SSD
DCS Drive: 512GB NvME SSD - Graphics: GTX 1070 Ti. Display: 23" 1080p LG LCD.
Input: Razer Naga & Blackwidow Ultimate, TrackIR 5, HOTAS Warthog & MFDs (x4), Saitek Rudder Pedals, TurtleBeach PX22 Headset.
Tiburtius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 12:01 PM   #9
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 18,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USSR_Rik View Post
net.force_ipv4_lan = true
Sorry, this advise was not quite correct. Forcing IP v4 is applicable for DCS clients only. Server always listen both v4 and v6 protocols.

Secondly, VC now works only by v4 (work in progress).

Note (just by the way). If your server forced another port than default (using webrtc_port parameter) your clients also have to use the same port. I.e. all clients have to add webrtc_port = XXXXX into their autoexec.cfg (already fixed in internal version but not tested properly and not ready to release in OB).
__________________
When the eagles are silent, the parrots begin to jabber (W.Churchill)

DCS World 2.5: Часто задаваемые вопросы

USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 01:44 PM   #10
c0ff
ED Team
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USSR_Rik View Post
Server always listen both v4 and v6 protocols.
Unless you disable IPv6 support completely by specifying:
Code:
net.use_ipv6 = false
in the autoexec.cfg file of your server.
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
Listen to my music here: http://soundcloud.com/c0ff ---> Latest track: https://soundcloud.com/c0ff/winter-night
c0ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.