Message font scaling is great, but... - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2019, 08:33 PM   #1
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,741
Default Message font scaling is great, but...

Please to see that this type of issue is being dealt with the message font scaling now in 2.5.5. However, it only goes part way to solving the problem wen running DCS in 4K as the Label font size, the FPS indicator font size and the Training Instructor text size have not been addressed.
Until that happens, I still have to use 2 mods to make this stuff readable in 4K.
See attached. First with ED's new option at max size, and the second with the mods running.
As you can see, all that the new option does is increase the size of 'Press SPACE to continue'. The text above, and the FPS indicator in the top left are almost unreadable. In the modded image, everything is perfect.
Can we expect to see this kind of option been expanded to labels, FPS/sys info and instructor text?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mess1.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	838.9 KB
ID:	211548   Click image for larger version

Name:	mess2.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	893.4 KB
ID:	211549  
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 11:53 AM   #2
Bobik2002
Member
 
Bobik2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Please to see that this type of issue is being dealt with the message font scaling now in 2.5.5. However, it only goes part way to solving the problem wen running DCS in 4K as the Label font size, the FPS indicator font size and the Training Instructor text size have not been addressed.

Until that happens, I still have to use 2 mods to make this stuff readable in 4K.

See attached. First with ED's new option at max size, and the second with the mods running.

As you can see, all that the new option does is increase the size of 'Press SPACE to continue'. The text above, and the FPS indicator in the top left are almost unreadable. In the modded image, everything is perfect.

Can we expect to see this kind of option been expanded to labels, FPS/sys info and instructor text?
Theres settings in graphics something like font scale. Not at home so im not 100%sure.

Odesláno z mého Mi A1 pomocí Tapatalk
__________________
Ryzen 7 2700x | 16GB DDR4 | GTX 1080ti | 250gb SSD

Modules: Mig-29 | SU-27 | KA-50 | L-39 | Mirage-2000 | F-15 | F/A-18C | Harrier
Bobik2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 01:17 PM   #3
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobik2002 View Post
Theres settings in graphics something like font scale. Not at home so im not 100%sure.

Odesláno z mého Mi A1 pomocí Tapatalk
Thanks, but did you actually read my post?
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 01:19 PM   #4
Bobik2002
Member
 
Bobik2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Thanks, but did you actually read my post?
OH Sorry was doing other things when was replying.

Odesláno z mého Mi A1 pomocí Tapatalk
__________________
Ryzen 7 2700x | 16GB DDR4 | GTX 1080ti | 250gb SSD

Modules: Mig-29 | SU-27 | KA-50 | L-39 | Mirage-2000 | F-15 | F/A-18C | Harrier
Bobik2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 01:21 PM   #5
BuzzU+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,127
Default

Larger font for the fps would really be helpful.
__________________
Buzz
BuzzU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 09:34 AM   #6
draconus
Senior Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
the Training Instructor text size have not been addressed
I found that only first message is not scaled, the next are ok.
__________________
G4560/16GB/GTX970/SSD, 22"FullHD, HOTAS X, customTiR
NTTR, FC3, F-14B
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 10:37 AM   #7
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzU View Post
Larger font for the fps would really be helpful.
See mod I posted here https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...58&postcount=6. Works perfectly in 4K and is OvGME ready. (Sorry, can't remember the original author's name!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
I found that only first message is not scaled, the next are ok.
Well spotted! Obviously a bug. I'll post in the appropriate forum.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro

Last edited by imacken; 06-10-2019 at 11:02 AM.
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 10:48 AM   #8
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,492
Default

I scaled it to 1.25. Worked but the larger size font then moved the text down further inside a constrained box area and so F1-10 was visible but F11 was half obscured and F12 was completely invisible so it's worthless.
__________________
Whilst some parrots may jabber,
"To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often". (W.Churchill)
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 11:04 AM   #9
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
I scaled it to 1.25. Worked but the larger size font then moved the text down further inside a constrained box area and so F1-10 was visible but F11 was half obscured and F12 was completely invisible so it's worthless.
It's not useless, works fine for me in 4K 1.5!
I'm guessing you scaled it too high for your monitor res, as the text will have to be contained in a box, so scale it to fit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mess4.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	219.0 KB
ID:	211671  
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro

Last edited by imacken; 06-10-2019 at 11:30 AM.
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:11 AM   #10
draconus
Senior Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
I scaled it to 1.25. Worked but the larger size font then moved the text down further inside a constrained box area and so F1-10 was visible but F11 was half obscured and F12 was completely invisible so it's worthless.
Tried 1.25 and it's ok, on a monitor @1080p. Using VR? It might be a bug.
__________________
G4560/16GB/GTX970/SSD, 22"FullHD, HOTAS X, customTiR
NTTR, FC3, F-14B
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.