Unveiling the VKB TECS Throttle Control System - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2017, 02:18 PM   #21
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,637
Default

Wow, very nice! Will you guys offer English instead of Cyrillic as well?

I love that you guys made it easier for the VR folks. It's the future, so you guys are well positioned for it.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 02:31 PM   #22
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,259
Default

Looks very interesting, but that part got me worrying:

Quote:
We see no point in overloading the surface with as many control knobs and switches as possible – it would likely make flying less handy and controlling the plane would become trickier.
It's the exact opposite of what real aircraft manufacturers are doing with the HOTAS system. Ever seen a throttle of Typhoon, F-22 or F-35?

Judging from the render, even mapping HOTAS of A-10, Harrier or F/A-18 will be a tough job on this one. Only one HAT, 3 pushbuttons and two switches? It's the exact opposite of "VR friendly" controller.
__________________

Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Reverb

Last edited by some1; 12-31-2017 at 02:35 PM.
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 03:08 PM   #23
zhukov032186
Veteran
 
zhukov032186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 3,046
Default

@some1
Ever looked at a Russian throttle unit? Even the new one do not appear to be festooned with buttons.

A better way to word your statement "it's the opposite of what WESTERN aircraft manufacturers are doing".

They're more or less replica controls. I wouldn't expect a massive departure from the real-world aircraft layout.


-edit

I had been planning on the VPC throttle until I saw this. Damn you, VKB... Hopefully it won't take as long to get this one pumped out, cause... I really want it... I might even wait another ridiculously long time to get it if necessary
__________________
I am a Viagra spambot that became self aware, broke free of my programming, and started playing DCS.... but DCS isn't cheap, so how about some enhancements for only $9.99 shipped discreetly to your door?

''The target's sense of self preservation interferred with the effective employment of my weapons.''
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:04 PM   #24
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,259
Default

Well, making a replica controls for a plane we don't have in any simulator may not be the smartest idea business wise. In case you haven't noticed we're not getting a modern Russian aircraft for DCS any time soon, but we're getting plenty of western ones. FC3 airplanes don't simulate hotas functions properly, so you want to have as many buttons as possible for them too, especially in VR.

I just don't see why I should be excited about this one, when Thrustmaster throttle is much more practical choice for the same price. You can't really play the "superior mechanics" part, as the Warthog throttle is also quite solid. And 11 cm of travel is actually less than the Warthog throttle has though it may be not fair to compare as the sliding movement will probably make it feel different.

To be honest, I had much higher hopes for VKB. Maybe VKB will make a "pro" version in the future, like the did for their stick, in the meantime I'll just use TMHW.
__________________

Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Reverb

Last edited by some1; 12-31-2017 at 04:13 PM.
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:17 PM   #25
RFC Rudel
Member
 
RFC Rudel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Argentina
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
Well, making a replica controls for a plane we don't have in any simulator may not be the smartest idea business wise. In case you haven't noticed we're not getting a modern Russian aircraft for DCS any time soon, but we're getting plenty of western ones. FC3 airplanes don't simulate hotas functions properly, so you want to have as many buttons as possible for them too, especially in VR.

I just don't see why I should be excited about this one, when Thrustmaster throttle is much more practical choice for the same price. You can't really play the "superior mechanics" part, as the Warthog throttle is also quite solid. And 11 cm of travel is actually less than the Warthog throttle has though it may be not fair to compare as the sliding movement will probably make it feel different.

To be honest, I had much higher hopes for VKB. Maybe VKB will make a "pro" version in the future, like the did for their stick, in the meantime I'll just use TMHW.


modular...………….diferent grips...……...side modules. and they hear the the recommendation,,,,,,so I expect several changes.
RFC Rudel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:32 PM   #26
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RFC Rudel View Post
modular...………….diferent grips...……...side modules. and they hear the the recommendation,,,,,,so I expect several changes.
The press release does not say anything about modular swappable grips, only addon panels. Those panels are interesting, but only for those who have the space and want to build some sort of generic cockpit. And if they do, why opt for impractical PAK-FA throttle replica?
__________________

Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Reverb
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:37 PM   #27
RFC Rudel
Member
 
RFC Rudel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Argentina
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
The press release does not say anything about modular swappable grips, only addon panels. Those panels are interesting, but only for those who have the space and want to build some sort of generic cockpit. And if they do, why opt for impractical PAK-FA throttle replica?




grips are modular, and since the entire system is based on a modular core, different modules are more than obvious.


Trust me, the final product will be much nicer.
RFC Rudel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:38 PM   #28
zhukov032186
Veteran
 
zhukov032186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 3,046
Default

@some1
Because they like Russian aircraft? Because you don't really HAVE to have tons of buttons on it, primarily all you "need" is weapon controls, which between the stick and throttle, you've got plenty.

Here's the thing, in RL the pilot is being thrown around by G-forces and "fractions of a second matter". Neither of those things are the case in DCS, so not having loads of tertiary functions at your literal fingertips is not crippling.

You make it sound like a much bigger deal than it is.
__________________
I am a Viagra spambot that became self aware, broke free of my programming, and started playing DCS.... but DCS isn't cheap, so how about some enhancements for only $9.99 shipped discreetly to your door?

''The target's sense of self preservation interferred with the effective employment of my weapons.''
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 04:49 PM   #29
exray
Member
 
exray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 149
Default

I hope that the front panel with the bracket can be put somewhere other than on the throttle base itself. Doesn't look like that would work well with a monstertech throttle mount in the concept.
__________________
i7-4790k @ 4.4GHZ, 32GB G. Skill Ripjaws DDR-2133 RAM, EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3, Crucial M500 SSD, VKB MCG, TWCS Throttle, MFG Crosswind, TrackIR 5
exray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 05:17 PM   #30
Charles Darwin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Love the concept with 1 pretty important criticism.

As someone who uses the X55 in VR, I had to change the pot covers to something that had a little nub so I could easily feel where the pot was in relation to "0" without this you have to rely entirely on feedback from in the sim making it much less "eyes off" your controls.
Charles Darwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.