Belsimtek AH-1G Cobra questions. - ED Forums

Notices

Old 06-28-2014, 09:48 AM   #1
Stratos

Default Belsimtek AH-1G Cobra questions.

If I understood correctly, the next Belsimtek project after the Sabre is the G model of the Bell Cobra helicopter right? I'm not a expert in the Cobra so I have some doubts regarding the capabilities, armament (as our G Cobras had 20mm cannon, but can't find what the US ones had) and specially how it works as a combat chopper, so hope this post will help to clarify some of the features this chopper had back in the day. My main doubt is how the pilot and copilot interact between them, what's the role of the Copilot and If he had direct control over the weapons and the chin turret. For last being the first real combat chopper with two seats, my doubt is, how the AI copilot will interact with the human pilot. What we know and what we can guess?
Old 06-28-2014, 10:04 AM   #2
Flagrum
Veteran

I would expect it working similar to what we have and what we can do with the Huey atm. If you sit in the back, you fly the helo and can fire the rockets and the fixed, pylon mounted 20 mm cannon. If you sit in the front seat, you can probably fire those, too, and additionally use the turret sighting to fire the turret gun - while the AI pilot flies "straight and level" or "orbits" (or does some silly stunts :o).

Flagrum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 10:06 AM   #3
Stratos

Sounds good. Any place I can learn about weaponry used by this mark?
Old 06-28-2014, 10:27 AM   #4
Flagrum
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratos View Post
Sounds good. Any place I can learn about weaponry used by this mark?
There were some discussions of what "our" cobra will be able to carry (and in comparisation to what the Huey can). I think, it was somewhere in these threads:

http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=118514
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=117580