Last Mission difficulties (spoiler alert)

Fantastic campaign. It's really stretched my knowledge of the sim to things I've never tried before and has been fun in the process.

I'm looking forward to the next campaign from Baltic

With that said, the last mission is, difficult to say the least. Going with nvg through the valleys is possible up until the point where I see the special forces shoot the flares but after that, I just get white out from the clouds. To make matters worse, the pipper for the rockets is bleached out on and adjusting the goggles doesn't help much.

Any suggestions?

Hi cfarsr, I am happy you enjoyed it.

As for the last mission:

Of course the difficult conditions are on purpose, to attain a surprise. And navigating in a thunderstorm is not easy, especially in 1.5 (falling rain was less distracting in NVG under 1.2 when the mission was built). Still, when testing it I managed to finish it 3 out of 4 times, the 4th being when I got shot down, and not necessarily crash :)

As for the advice: reduce the hud intensity to a minimum, so that it does not get in the way of NVG. Put NVG on and off, sometimes you will get better visibility without it. Keep your eye on the radar altimeter and increase zoom on your TAD to maximum, you can get the cues about altitude from the map. If you are really in trouble, try to fly a bit higher, but make sure to dive down again when you are being tracked by SAMs. Set your rockets to ripple-pairs-4 to make sure you will put some deadly volley when approaching the target and shoot your gun at the same time. You will most probably not know what you hit, but just in case jink your plane like crazy when extending after first attack and coming in for the second one.

Hope that helps!

ce535d_9d347b62819c4372b3c485a4f95d2004~mv2.png

Difficult (but doable), thrilling, full of adrenaline, perfect ending.