NS430 integration poll - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

View Poll Results: Would you like the Yak to get NS430 3D integration
Yes 101 87.83%
No, the pop-up is good enough 14 12.17%
Voters: 115. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2018, 02:40 AM   #11
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 278
Default

Reminds me of the good times of CAT III landing with ADF navaids in the L-39...

__________________

VRET #1 - Lead

AMD Ryzen 5 | AMD Radeon RX 580 | 8 GB DDR4 | 128 HDD | 2 TB SSD
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 07:03 AM   #12
bbrz
Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vali_grad View Post
tacan is not basic, ndb/adf is....
Radio navigation = basic = TACAN/VOR and NDB
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 04:00 PM   #13
Bourrinopathe
Member
 
Bourrinopathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Indian Ocean
Posts: 917
Default

I voted "yes" but I can't see where a NS430 would fit.

It might fit on the rear dashboard below the main instruments but it would then be both unpractical (sitting low, behind the stick) for the rear seat and useless for the front seat pilot which I'm sure is what most of us use.

So it's also a solid "no" if it's not properly integrated.
__________________
/// ВКБ: Black Mamba MkIII/Gladiator/T-Rudder MkII | X-55 Rhino throttle | OpenTrack+UTC /// ZULU +4 ///
/// "THE T3ASE": i9 9900K | 64 GB DDR4 Trident Z | RTX 2080ti OC | 2 TB NVMe SSDs, 1 TB SATA SSD, 8 TB HDDs | Gigabyte Designare mobo ///
Bourrinopathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 06:52 PM   #14
zcrazyx
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: England
Posts: 200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourrinopathe View Post
I voted "yes" but I can't see where a NS430 would fit.

It might fit on the rear dashboard below the main instruments but it would then be both unpractical (sitting low, behind the stick) for the rear seat and useless for the front seat pilot which I'm sure is what most of us use.

So it's also a solid "no" if it's not properly integrated.
Wouldn't be useless at all, A lot of important stuff sits behind the stick on aircraft, the spitfire, has its magnetic compass there, the Mustang has its rocket/bomb selector as well as fuel tank selector and gunsight switch there.
zcrazyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 06:44 PM   #15
Bourrinopathe
Member
 
Bourrinopathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Indian Ocean
Posts: 917
Default

I meant useless for the front seat if it's only fitted in the rear cockpit. But I get your point.
Still, I wouldn't be comfortable using an instrument as complex as this navigation system sitting behind the control stick. A few switches or a compass are fine though.

The only retrofits photos I've seen are modernised dashboards with the GPS in the center or a GPS unit fixed to the right side of the dashboard.
__________________
/// ВКБ: Black Mamba MkIII/Gladiator/T-Rudder MkII | X-55 Rhino throttle | OpenTrack+UTC /// ZULU +4 ///
/// "THE T3ASE": i9 9900K | 64 GB DDR4 Trident Z | RTX 2080ti OC | 2 TB NVMe SSDs, 1 TB SATA SSD, 8 TB HDDs | Gigabyte Designare mobo ///
Bourrinopathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 08:13 PM   #16
Cunning_Fox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 88
Default

Just slap it on the front dashboard and use tape to fasten it. What's the problem?


I never understood people who want LESS options.


If you don't want it - don't switch it on in the game settings. Using radio for navigation is not a purist approach - use the stars like our stone age ancestors (it's called STARboard for a reason, Frank!) who flew without any of this TACAN shamanism, then again Yak-52 flew near known cities for flight training, not some Soviet backwater like Georgia where you have to have some sort of navigation.

Last edited by Cunning_Fox; 02-10-2019 at 08:15 PM.
Cunning_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 03:50 PM   #17
1987kess
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Default

Definitely yes!
1987kess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 07:55 PM   #18
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 929
Default

All of the real Yak-52s I've sat in have had GPS units so... Yeah, Why not. lol
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

DCS F-16C REALLY IS A THING! - BLOCK 50 BABY!!!

My Screenshots - Excited About = PointCTRL VR
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.