TM Warthog A/B Detent curve - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2017, 09:27 PM   #21
Baz000
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 323
Reputation power: 3
Baz000 will become famous soon enoughBaz000 will become famous soon enough
Default

Can someone verify the flanker curves? Mine kicks in the AB every now and then.
Baz000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 02:57 AM   #22
streakeagle
Member
 
streakeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 443
Reputation power: 10
streakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nicestreakeagle is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytai01 View Post
It's kind of funny that DCS World and Thrustmaster collaborated on working together, but didn't provide compatible programming for the AB detent!. It must have been a very loose collaboration indeed.

For the record, the A-10 doesn't have an afterburner and its throttle does not have a detent for one. They collaborated on making a controller for the DCS A-10C. At that time, there was no DCS World and the only fighter jets were in a separate game, LOMAC/Flaming Cliffs.


I have never liked controllers that attempted to model an afterburner detent. Unless it could be adjusted to match the requirements of each specific game, it would only work for games that followed some kind of industry standard.


The ability to easily remove/install the detent on the Warthog was a good idea. But what games have an afterburner setup that utilizes the Warthog's detent correctly? So I have never used the optional detent on the Warthog.


I really like the $1,000 authentic F/A-18 throttle I have seen posted here. But it includes fully functional detents identical to the real throttle. I would hope some sims can use it correctly with minimum modifications to the game for that kind of money.
__________________
streakeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 06:06 AM   #23
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,178
Reputation power: 20
some1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nicesome1 is just really nice
Default

It's not a matter of collaboration, it's just poor omission in DCS input options. Every joystick has the same issue, as each joystick type has detent in different place and every aircraft in DCS activates afterburner at different throttle position.

In BMS matching afterburner to a physical detent on the joystick is as easy as clicking one button in the joystick setup screen.
__________________

Owned modules out of beta: A-10C; Ka-50; P-51; FW-190D; UH-1; FC; FC2; FC3; L-39C/ZA; MiG-15bis; F-86F Sabre; Bf 109 K-4; F-5E; Mi-8MTV2; M-2000C
Owned betas: SA-342; NTTR; MiG-21bis; C-101 Aviojet; Hawk T.1A; Spitfire IX; AJS 37
Hardware: Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift CV1
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:53 PM   #24
MTFDarkEagle
Veteran
 
MTFDarkEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands, near EHTW
Posts: 4,862
Reputation power: 154
MTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baz000 View Post
Can someone verify the flanker curves? Mine kicks in the AB every now and then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTFDarkEagle View Post
Your milage may vary, so some personal adjustment might be required
__________________
MTFDarkEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 08:43 PM   #25
Baz000
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 323
Reputation power: 3
Baz000 will become famous soon enoughBaz000 will become famous soon enough
Default

And how would I make said personal adjustments? What do you recommend
Baz000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:44 PM   #26
MTFDarkEagle
Veteran
 
MTFDarkEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands, near EHTW
Posts: 4,862
Reputation power: 154
MTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud of
Default

In the axis tune menu, where you set the curves, look at which point in the curve it sits when you have your actual throttle against the detent and slightly change the sliders up/down to make it fit better.
__________________
MTFDarkEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.