Intro and a Newbie question

NC-Boomer

Happy 2020 to All,

I'm an absolute beginner with DCS, but not simming. The first flight sim I used was back in '85-'86. It was all wire-frame and the two things you could do: shoot at other planes and land on a carrier...before you played you had to insert the 5.25inch floppy with the game's tiny binary.

I moved on from there over the years - Falcon 3 & 4, Jetfighter, a couple of Jame's sims and a few others I forget the names of. I also played Naval sims - The Silent Hunter series and a very good WWII surface combat sim called '1942' covering the Battle of the Solomans. I've been using land based sims for many years - M1A Tank platoon and I've been using Steel Beasts for over ten years so far. But, here I am back into flying and blowing things up.

So, Santa brought me a T1600M FCS this year and now I'm trying to get it setup. My newbie question is this: After RTFMing, it seems that you actually geet DCS World to be windowed its resolution needs to less than the monitor. Is this true? If not how can it be done (yes, I don't have 'full screen' checked.

Thanks

Edited by NC-Boomer

Welcome!

I don't think I understand your question correctly. If you want DCS fullscreen you should check that in options. The resolution should be the same as your desktop - usually monitor native. DCS being very hard on your PC will achieve peak performance when run fullscreen.

🖥️ Win10 i7-10700KF 32GB RTX3060   🥽 Rift S   🕹️ T16000M HOTAS   ✈️ FC3, F-14A/B, F-15E   ⚙️ CA   🚢 SC   🌐 NTTR, PG, Syria

I think form what I understand, correct. The "Windows bar" and window controls only appear in resolutions less than your primary screen. the same or larger and they disappear. This is automatic its seems but I think you can set a custom resolution if you rememeber the size for a full window on your desktop and you might get the window control you are after. Never thought about it before tbh.