What is this Offset in the CDU? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2018, 08:29 PM   #1
Biga42
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 282
Default What is this Offset in the CDU?

How it works?
Biga42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:58 PM   #2
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,899
Default

It measures direction and distance between two points. Or it can create a new point an input direction and distance from a given point.

Take Instant Action, Easy mission and active pause (LShift-Pause) soon after starting. Look at OFFSET page by FUNC-4 (UFC) or the OSET button (CDU). In my example I am looking as CDU page on MPCD but you can use CDU screen as well.

As seen when first on page
Code:
OFFSET    F1    1       D5/B1

±0                                  L/L↕

[]INIT POSIT       MH/DIS:[]
                             354/0.0
[]N41°58.913                ?10◎

[]E043°49.623                   0[]
        [█                      ]
±0 is start point. 0[] is end point. 354/0.0 is direction/distance of from "start" to "end".
We change "start" to 5 and "end" to 3.
Code:
OFFSET    F1    1       D5/B1

±5                                  L/L↕

[]TANKS              MH/DIS:[]
                            278/14.7
[]N42°10.753                ?10◎

[]E043°43.727                   3[]
        [█                      ]
From 5 TANKS it is direction/distance 278° 14.7nm to 3.
Maybe we want to know measurement from 5 to N42°12.345, E048°55.543 instead.
Code:
OFFSET    F1    1       D5/B1

±5                                  L/L↕

[]TANKS              MH/DIS:[]
                             073/222
[]N42°12.345                ?10◎

[]E048°55.543             ****[]
        [█                      ]
It is 73° 222nm from 5 to these coordinates. **** means these coordinates are not any waypoint in memory.

Lastly you can type in MH/DIS value to create a new point "end" which is MH/DIS from "start". Maybe we wish to find new point 090° 123nm from 5 TANKS.
Code:
OFFSET    F1    1       D5/B1

±5                                  L/L↕

[]TANKS              MH/DIS:[]
                             090/123
[]N41°34.953                ?10◎

[]E046°39.244             ****[]
        [█                      ]
If ?10◎ is pressed then a new waypoint 10 is created at this "end" point.

Code:
OFFSET    F1    1       D5/B1

±5                                  L/L↕

[]TANKS              MH/DIS:[]
                             090/123
[]N41°34.953                ?11◎

[]E046°39.244                  10[]
        [█                      ]

Last edited by Frederf; 11-09-2018 at 02:45 AM.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 01:26 AM   #3
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,548
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
As seen when first on page [...]
Wow, brilliant explanation! I just learned several new things about this CDU page. Thanks a lot!
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 11:55 AM   #4
kaltokri
Junior Member
 
kaltokri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Germany NRW
Posts: 22
Default

Hi Frederf,


how did you create the ANSI-Art CDU Code Snipplets?
Manually or with a tool?


Thank you for the information. I will try and practice it today.
kaltokri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 07:05 PM   #5
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,899
Default

Manually. Nice thing about code tag is fixed(ish) width font. I didn't get the exact number of characters right I'm sure.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 08:49 PM   #6
ZeroReady
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 55
Default

OK I can make an offset waypoint from bullseye. If I want to the edit the DOT to that waypoint, do just set the knob back to steer point, select the waypoint I just made, and edit it from there like normal?
ZeroReady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 01:14 AM   #7
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,899
Default

DTOS is a waypoint or waypoint-as-flight-plan-point attribute. You'd either edit the waypoint DTOS or the flight plan entry DTOS if your waypoint isn't/is part of your flight plan the same as you would for any other waypoint not created by offset. Once the waypoint created it's the same as any other.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.