Dummies Guide for the “MonitorSetup.lua“ - Page 12 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2015, 01:39 PM   #111
splash
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 784
Default

Excellent job, this is what i was looking for. I tried it several times with no luck.
splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 08:52 PM   #112
Snacko
Senior Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splash View Post
Excellent job, this is what i was looking for. I tried it several times with no luck.
That works with 1.2 using PeterP's Export mod. But some things have changed for 1.5/2.0. And I am working that out now..
__________________
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen


- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 12:40 AM   #113
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,456
Default

Ah,,, finally found something, Snacko, I have been using Helios for many years with Loz files, and Peter P files to handle the exports. I am in the midst of installing 1.5 & 2.0 fresh because I have had some keybinding issues, likey related to copying over INPUT file for controls etc. So what I'm trying to find out before I proceed is if Peter P's files are still valid to use in 1.5 and 2.0 to help with the exports? I'm basically trying to figure out what the latest procedure to be so I can install it. I see you mentioned you are working on something. Please advise, thanks
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers / Primary Monitor =30” HP LP3065 @ 2560 x 1600 / Secondary Monitor = Acer 23" Touch Screen for Helios / TrackIR4 / Cougar HOTAS w/Saitek PRO Flight Combat Rudder Pedals
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 02:07 AM   #114
Snacko
Senior Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,572
Default

PeterP's viewport mod doesn't work for me in 1.5 or 2.0. I didn't want to spend the time trying to figure out why they fail. I have a friend who has the exports working and just tested the A10c. It worked in a simple monitorsetup.lua but not in my 'all in one' script. So, I am going to try and get the Ka50 and others working and then try and fix my 'all in one' script.

I am not sure what mod or where he got his scripts. But I have attached the files to this post. It's just for the A10c.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Helios A10-C.rar (8.9 KB, 49 views)
__________________
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen


- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 11:46 AM   #115
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,456
Default

ok,,, I did get everything to work for Helios in 1.5 as it was for 1.2, but that is when I took the latest backup.00# file from 1.2 and copied them into the 1.5 root directory. All was well, but since i'm doing a clean install because Im trying to figure out what is interrupting the key commands, Im not copying and files over (not supposed to anyway).
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers / Primary Monitor =30” HP LP3065 @ 2560 x 1600 / Secondary Monitor = Acer 23" Touch Screen for Helios / TrackIR4 / Cougar HOTAS w/Saitek PRO Flight Combat Rudder Pedals
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 01:19 AM   #116
Snacko
Senior Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,572
Default

The main problem that I can find is that the reconfigure_for_unit() function does not work anymore in 2.0. It's in Alpha, so I cannot complain.

But I spent several hours today trying to figure it out. When I use that function to setup different viewports for different aircraft, none of it works. And there is NO error or any message of any kind in the DCS.log file! And I cannot write any of my own debug output to see where it is failing using the lua io object or use the dbg_print() function. Both are unavailable in these lua files. So, it's hard to debug, but it seems to be that the reconfigure_for_unit() function simply does not work. If I just comment out that function, everything works.

So, at this point I will just have to wait until I hear something else or they fix that function. All of my exports will need to be in separate MonitorSetup lua files I guess, or I just wont use Helios now..
__________________
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen


- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 12:00 PM   #117
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,456
Default

Just for the heck of it. look at the last post of this thread, I am in the middle of editing the provited monitor config file so I can test it out, but Scooternuts & RightStuff have seemingly made this work. I am looking into both options, but trying Rightstuffs 1st as he has it setup to use with JSGME

http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=70716
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers / Primary Monitor =30” HP LP3065 @ 2560 x 1600 / Secondary Monitor = Acer 23" Touch Screen for Helios / TrackIR4 / Cougar HOTAS w/Saitek PRO Flight Combat Rudder Pedals
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 01:49 PM   #118
Snacko
Senior Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,572
Default

Are you saying that they have 'all' of the viewports for the a10c, ka50, and other aircraft in one MonitorSetup Lua file?

I took a quick look at that thread yesterday but didn't see that..

Sent via Galaxy Note 4 with Tapatalk.
__________________
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen


- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 03:02 PM   #119
Fakum
Senior Member
 
Fakum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North East, USA
Posts: 2,456
Default

I will say this, I downloaded Rightstuffs file, and looked in his monitor config.lua, and yes, he has the A-10C and KA-50 in it along with some others. i am in the process of editing that file to accommodate my X & Y coordinates, so I have not tested yet, but to me, it all looks in order.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit / GIGABYTE 3866MHz GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 MOBO / Intel i7-6700K 4.0GHz Processor (OC to 4.Eight) / G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 Ram / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA III SSD / EVGA GTX 980 Ti Hybrid/ Onboard Audio card / Creative Inspire 5.1 Surround Speakers / Primary Monitor =30” HP LP3065 @ 2560 x 1600 / Secondary Monitor = Acer 23" Touch Screen for Helios / TrackIR4 / Cougar HOTAS w/Saitek PRO Flight Combat Rudder Pedals
Fakum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 04:45 PM   #120
Snacko
Senior Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 1,572
Default

Thank you so much!

I downloaded his files last night, but was too tired to look at them deeply. And I was not sure what version of DCS his stuff worked with...

But he did use that function to get the names of the aircraft. And that function does work. But the old init viewport files that I had tried must have not been reporting the correct aircraft names (ie. 'A-10C'). After trying his init files for one viewport it worked. So, I tried them all, and now my all-in-one monitorsetup lua file seems to work.

Off to wrap Christmas presents and run errands now.. But it seems to be fixed with these new init files. So, hopefully I will get a chance to fix everything today or tomorrow..

Merry Christmas!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS 2015-12-17 14-25-15-29.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	554.2 KB
ID:	130610  
__________________
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen


- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:13 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.