Low FPS with 1080ti - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2018, 12:36 PM   #1
sinuos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 30
Default Low FPS with 1080ti

Hello guys I have some problem with in my VR.I got upgrade gpu to 1080ti and I did not see a big difference.On multiplayer with VR I have about 45 or 25 FPS and without it about 70fps.I have the same FPS with my old gtx1060 6gb.On bios I see ram runs about 2400.Should I go the 3000mhz?
Should I put 16gb more?
If my cpu bottleneck the gpu what can I do?
Anyone using the same cpu has any problem?

Pc specs:
Ryzen 7 1700 3ghz
Asus-Rog-Strix-B350-F-Gaming
G-Skill-TridentZ-RGB-16GB-DDR4-3000MHz
Msi gtx 1080ti
Samsung-970-Evo-NVMe-M-2-250GB

Last edited by sinuos; 10-11-2018 at 12:41 PM.
sinuos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 01:46 PM   #2
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 392
Default

Unfortunately, I think you are CPU limited.

I have the 1600X overclocked to 4Ghz and a 1080ti. I did some testing awhile back, and found that even on lowest settings, I still can’t consistently get more than 45fps. Predictably, GPU utilization was low, and CPU use on one core was high (after some analysis - it isn’t obvious).

My recommendations:

1. Overclock the 1700 if you can, you should be able to get close to 4ghz all cores;
2. Reduce CPU heavy options like shadows, civ traffic, and trees;
3. Increase graphics heavy settings like MSAA, PD, textures, etc until you reach about 90% GPU utilization, but before you see frame rates start to drop.
4. Not an option for everyone, but I frequently play on my dedicated server. This allows me to run missions with lots of AI, where the server handles the CPU intensive AI and frees up my system to focus on rendering. Some of these missions I run have so much AI they cripple even my gaming system, but run great on the server.

The above recommendations, particularly 2 and 3, will ensure you get the best balance between CPU and GPU usage. You’ll still be stuck at the lowest bottleneck (45fps for CPU limitations) but you will get as much graphical fidelity as is possible for that frame rate.
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 03:29 PM   #3
Pappen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 39
Default

If you have ASW on witch I think is on by default you get 0-45 and then 90. You have to disable ASW to get anything between 45-90.
Pappen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 03:41 PM   #4
sinuos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappen View Post
If you have ASW on witch I think is on by default you get 0-45 and then 90. You have to disable ASW to get anything between 45-90.
How I disable it?
sinuos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 03:42 PM   #5
sinuos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman1330 View Post
Unfortunately, I think you are CPU limited.

I have the 1600X overclocked to 4Ghz and a 1080ti. I did some testing awhile back, and found that even on lowest settings, I still can’t consistently get more than 45fps. Predictably, GPU utilization was low, and CPU use on one core was high (after some analysis - it isn’t obvious).

My recommendations:

1. Overclock the 1700 if you can, you should be able to get close to 4ghz all cores;
2. Reduce CPU heavy options like shadows, civ traffic, and trees;
3. Increase graphics heavy settings like MSAA, PD, textures, etc until you reach about 90% GPU utilization, but before you see frame rates start to drop.
4. Not an option for everyone, but I frequently play on my dedicated server. This allows me to run missions with lots of AI, where the server handles the CPU intensive AI and frees up my system to focus on rendering. Some of these missions I run have so much AI they cripple even my gaming system, but run great on the server.

The above recommendations, particularly 2 and 3, will ensure you get the best balance between CPU and GPU usage. You’ll still be stuck at the lowest bottleneck (45fps for CPU limitations) but you will get as much graphical fidelity as is possible for that frame rate.
I have no idea how to overclock cpu and I am afraid to do that.I believe it is better to change motherboard and cpu and go to intel.What you think?
sinuos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 03:45 PM   #6
javelina1
Senior Member
 
javelina1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WAFB, Arizona
Posts: 2,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinuos View Post
How I disable it?

a lot of folks like to use Oculus Tray Tool.



https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comm...lus_tray_tool/
__________________

Gigabyte Z87-HD3, i5-4670K O/C 4.2ghz, NH-U12S cooler, 16GB RAM, Geforce GTX 1080 SC, SoundBlaster Z sound card, Yamaha 5.1 A/V Receiver, 2x 256GB Samsung SSD, 1x 500GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Rudders, TM MFD's, Enermax Case, 39" Samsung HDTV, 21.5" Acer VT220 touchscreen (for Helios & Ikarus), TrackIR5, JetSeat KW-908, Oculus Rift CV1, Wheel Stand Pro Super Warthog
javelina1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 04:26 PM   #7
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinuos View Post
I have no idea how to overclock cpu and I am afraid to do that.I believe it is better to change motherboard and cpu and go to intel.What you think?
Up to you, but it will be a significant expense for minimal gain. You might get 5fps extra, Ryzen is not a bad chip and only lags behind intel slightly.

The issue is the DCS engine is CPU intensive, and until it is better optimized (Vulkan API), there isn’t a system out there that can hold 90fps in VR.

Overclocking to moderate levels is pretty safe, and amounts to a free upgrade. There are plenty of guides online for how to safely do this. Ultimately, it’s up to you, an overclock will only gain you a little bit so if you are not comfortable doing it, it won’t be a huge loss to you.

At this point, we just need to accept that 45fps is going to have to do, for now. I find 45fps to be quite playable myself.
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 04:56 PM   #8
sinuos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman1330 View Post
Up to you, but it will be a significant expense for minimal gain. You might get 5fps extra, Ryzen is not a bad chip and only lags behind intel slightly.

The issue is the DCS engine is CPU intensive, and until it is better optimized (Vulkan API), there isn’t a system out there that can hold 90fps in VR.

Overclocking to moderate levels is pretty safe, and amounts to a free upgrade. There are plenty of guides online for how to safely do this. Ultimately, it’s up to you, an overclock will only gain you a little bit so if you are not comfortable doing it, it won’t be a huge loss to you.

At this point, we just need to accept that 45fps is going to have to do, for now. I find 45fps to be quite playable myself.
Can you post your settings so I try them at least?
sinuos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 09:31 PM   #9
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,604
Default

You want to hold 45 fps with ASW if you can for smooth game play and decent looks.

What settings have you got set in game sinuos?

I hit the VR preset button, then up the view distance to high, textures to high and a PD of 1.5.

Even with that, I have ups and downs below 45 on large missions etc. That's my starting point.
__________________


i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3466Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | 2 X Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | Fractal Design R5 Case

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:33 AM   #10
sinuos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David OC View Post
You want to hold 45 fps with ASW if you can for smooth game play and decent looks.

What settings have you got set in game sinuos?

I hit the VR preset button, then up the view distance to high, textures to high and a PD of 1.5.

Even with that, I have ups and downs below 45 on large missions etc. That's my starting point.
I have the preset vr settings with pd1,5
sinuos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.