000rick000's Mirage Paints and Recent Update - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2018, 02:38 AM   #1
000rick000
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 371
Default 000rick000's Mirage Paints and Recent Update

---FYI---

The Recent update has brought about the Roughmet Changes in the Mirage. So although, initially my paints worked in v2.5, the roughmet files no longer produce the desired effect. I've also noted this in the Beautifully done RAF RED ARROW's scheme. It is no longer glossy.

I will be updating my Roughmet files and Description.Lua files accordingly once I've got them looking the way thy did previously (or better!). I've REMOVED them from the USER FILES area for now.

The only one that seems affected for the better is the Chevaliers Du Ciel Paint, which actually looks better with the default new Roughmet files (except for the exhaust petals - they're too dark).

Thanks,

Rick
__________________
Cheers,

Rick
CSEL\CMEL\IFR
Certified Airplane Nut
000rick000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 03:14 AM   #2
000rick000
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 371
Default

Quick Technical Question for the Gurus around here:

Now that the roughmet is defined in the Mirage, in order to use my customer roughmets in the Liveries Folder, I need to change the following (in RED)?

Code:
livery = {
    {"ext1", 0 ,"M2KC_1T_USAF_MN_388",false};
    {"ext1", 2 ,"M2KC_1Specular_USAF_MN_388",false};
To this:

Code:
livery = {
    {"ext1", 0 ,"M2KC_1T_USAF_MN_388",false};
    {"ext1", ROUGHNESS_METALLIC,"M2KC_1Roughmet_USAF_MN_388",false};
__________________
Cheers,

Rick
CSEL\CMEL\IFR
Certified Airplane Nut
000rick000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 05:33 PM   #3
sushy73
Member
 
sushy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: France
Posts: 167
Default

Hi .
this is how I do:
{"ext1", 13 ,"M2KC_1T_RoughMet",false};
Hope that's help you.
Bye
sushy73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 01:20 AM   #4
000rick000
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushy73 View Post
Hi .
this is how I do:
{"ext1", 13 ,"M2KC_1T_RoughMet",false};
Hope that's help you.
Bye
Thanks Sushy73, is the "13" the number designation for RoughMet material?
__________________
Cheers,

Rick
CSEL\CMEL\IFR
Certified Airplane Nut
000rick000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 08:05 AM   #5
sushy73
Member
 
sushy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: France
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 000rick000 View Post
Thanks Sushy73, is the "13" the number designation for RoughMet material?
Hi 000rick000 yes it is.

Type of material can be:
0=diffuse map
1=normal map
2=specular map
13=roughmet
Bye
sushy73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 01:23 PM   #6
000rick000
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 371
Default

Thank you! Very helpful info! I wish ED would release a painters' SDK, but oh well! Seems like I've been able to find most everything here in the forums. I've been able to update the MN_388 skin and the RoughMet are now being refined. Also discovered the Modelviewer, which had been s BIG help not having to load the sim each time!
__________________
Cheers,

Rick
CSEL\CMEL\IFR
Certified Airplane Nut
000rick000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 05:49 AM   #7
000rick000
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 371
Default

Getting there

__________________
Cheers,

Rick
CSEL\CMEL\IFR
Certified Airplane Nut
000rick000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.