i7 worth it for DCS? - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2018, 02:21 PM   #21
Pilotasso
Veteran
 
Pilotasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Working for IMF (not as an employee:] )
Posts: 11,120
Default

Well CPU utilization has varied between 13% and 43% when I tested my 2700X over Nellis map and that varied with the number of objects on screen (13% was above the desert while 43% was over the urbanized areas). ED has stated that DCS 2.5 already incorporates some elements of Vulcan API, so I lean towards the conclusion that higher the detail you set on graphics configuration, the more spread the detail will be across multiple cores.

I would like to know the detail that this 2600K was configured to ingame, and the screenshot appears to indicate a rural area was used. I suspect at the time it was taken without a whole lot of objects visible. Both the CPU and GPU are lightly used and that doesn't look right for proper testing purposes. If you fly over Dubai or Nellis your going to see CPU bottlenecks for sure (hell even some cities in the Caucasus map will do that). I just dont think that 2600K can feed a 1080Ti because during my testing the GPU was locked at 100% even when the CPU usage dropped towards lower % (make sure VSYNC is off for testing purposes or else you cant compare FPS on different machines).


If you are building a machine, you have 2 possible approaches to max your performance in DCS on the CPU side:

1- either you have an Intel 6 core clocked really high
2- or you go 8 core for more threads on AMD side of things (Skylake-X 8 cores performs on same level for gaming but costs a whole lot more)

right now option 1 has an advantage in FPS numbers but that seems to be shifting away to 2 gradually. Not that you will notice a difference right now in your gaming experience, or heck even the price for the builds are similar.



Quote:
Originally Posted by David OC View Post
You should still check if your GPU is getting feed enough to be maxed out and stable in sim? I was helping a guy recently as he was having stutter problems running a GTX 1080TI....


His specs

Asus Maximus Formula V, i7-2600k, 16gb DDR3 1866mhz, Samsung 840 EVO SSD, Gigabyte GTX 1080TI, HTC VIVE, Windows 7 Ultimate

This was his 1080TI usage in sim using MSI afterburner below.






This was my usage on 4 main cores below, sim on max settings no GPU overclock.




I was using the 4 main cores, so it's more like I was using 50% of all 4 cores with one spiking all the way to 90.

-
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4448_29.gif
My PC specs below:
Spoiler:
Case: Corsair 400C
PSU: SEASONIC 760W Platinum
CPU: AMD RYZEN 2700X @ 4.2Ghz
RAM: 32 GB 4266Mhz (two 2x8 kits) of trident Z RGB @3533Mhz CL 15 CR=1T
MOBO: ASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI AM4
GFX: GTX 1080Ti MSI Gaming X
Cooler: NXZT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2+6GB WD 6Gb red
HOTAS: Thrustmaster Warthog + CH pro pedals
Monitor: ASUS PB278Q IPS 27" LED 1440P

Last edited by Pilotasso; 06-02-2018 at 02:36 PM.
Pilotasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 04:04 PM   #22
etherbattx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
I use 6 of my 6 cores, Pilotasso uses 7 of his 8 cores from his 2700x.
that’s because the same “job” is being context’d switched over to the next free random core. but none of the cores are being fully utilized.

most likely, someone could turn off 2 of those cores, leaving you with 4 and you wouldn’t even notice the difference.
etherbattx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 05:32 PM   #23
Hoffster
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 137
Default

Lots of good input here. I pretty much decided on a 8700k. My 1060 6gb will carry over to the new system until a 1080 is not crazy expensive anymore.
Last time i fired up DCS was right after 2.5 beta came out in january, and my fps on ground was 25-35 fps slowly climbing to 60 at altitude single player 1 aircraft loaded in caucasus.
Hopefully some improvements have been made in a couple of months.
The DCS itch is real now!
Hoffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 05:43 PM   #24
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David OC View Post
You should still check if your GPU is getting feed enough to be maxed out and stable in sim? I was helping a guy recently as he was having stutter problems running a GTX 1080TI....


His specs

Asus Maximus Formula V, i7-2600k, 16gb DDR3 1866mhz, Samsung 840 EVO SSD, Gigabyte GTX 1080TI, HTC VIVE, Windows 7 Ultimate

This was his 1080TI usage in sim using MSI afterburner below.






This was my usage on 4 main cores below, sim on max settings no GPU overclock.




I was using the 4 main cores, so it's more like I was using 50% of all 4 cores with one spiking all the way to 90.

-
That's VERY interesting, my thanks.
__________________
System: i5 2500@3.8Ghz, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, VPC T50/Mongoose, CH Throttle, MFG Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 06:31 PM   #25
DocSigma
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 359
Default

I have two builds im on the fence about, and the only thing holding me back from pulling the trigger is intel still not announcing the z390 boards. It's clear that the board will support CL, but will it support the 8700k? The z390 is supposed to have better usb3.1 support. Its frustrating. I'm tempted to pull the trigger on the 2700x build just out of spite because Intel is pissing me off.
__________________
Watson!
DocSigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 06:31 PM   #26
Pilotasso
Veteran
 
Pilotasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Working for IMF (not as an employee:] )
Posts: 11,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoffster View Post
Lots of good input here. I pretty much decided on a 8700k. My 1060 6gb will carry over to the new system until a 1080 is not crazy expensive anymore.
Last time i fired up DCS was right after 2.5 beta came out in january, and my fps on ground was 25-35 fps slowly climbing to 60 at altitude single player 1 aircraft loaded in caucasus.
Hopefully some improvements have been made in a couple of months.
The DCS itch is real now!
Forget that 1080, the 11 series are about to be released and a 1170 is almost as fast as a 1080Ti, thats the one you will want.
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4448_29.gif
My PC specs below:
Spoiler:
Case: Corsair 400C
PSU: SEASONIC 760W Platinum
CPU: AMD RYZEN 2700X @ 4.2Ghz
RAM: 32 GB 4266Mhz (two 2x8 kits) of trident Z RGB @3533Mhz CL 15 CR=1T
MOBO: ASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI AM4
GFX: GTX 1080Ti MSI Gaming X
Cooler: NXZT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2+6GB WD 6Gb red
HOTAS: Thrustmaster Warthog + CH pro pedals
Monitor: ASUS PB278Q IPS 27" LED 1440P
Pilotasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 06:45 PM   #27
Hoffster
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotasso View Post
Forget that 1080, the 11 series are about to be released and a 1170 is almost as fast as a 1080Ti, thats the one you will want.
Yes i do want that when it comes out but im sure it will have mining tax from day 1? Surely the current "mining" price will be reduced on the current gen cards. here in Swe prices for 1070,1070ti,1080 are about the same about 550-600+ eur
Hoffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 10:56 AM   #28
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by etherbattx View Post
that’s because the same “job” is being context’d switched over to the next free random core. but none of the cores are being fully utilized.

most likely, someone could turn off 2 of those cores, leaving you with 4 and you wouldn’t even notice the difference.
No, I do not agree. My graphs and logs tell me a different story and this "DCS is 2 threads only" has been ditched by the devs already some time ago , which they have stated numerous times.


The thing is, there are a lot of people asking questions because their DCS wont run properly.
When you tell them how it works better, they either accept it, or not. I couldnt care less, my DCS runs fine and smooth, regardless of their attitude and theories.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3000MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 06:10 PM   #29
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by etherbattx View Post
that’s because the same “job” is being context’d switched over to the next free random core. but none of the cores are being fully utilized.

most likely, someone could turn off 2 of those cores, leaving you with 4 and you wouldn’t even notice the difference.
Exactly, but it's not clear,,, of how much cores DCS need in total. Maximum utilization and operating operation is not the same. The rate of sampling of a monitoring software can be an issue. Even DCS can't tell in their "Recommended system requirement". Multithreads don't means that you necessarily need more cores, as long as you feed the video card. It's coming
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.

Last edited by Demon_; 06-03-2018 at 06:18 PM.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 03:15 PM   #30
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 164
Default

I'm glad I found this thread right before I was about to pull the trigger on a 2700X. Now I'm not so sure anymore. I feel like I am torn between a 8700k and the Ryzen 7 2700x. I am not looking to overclock the CPU anytime soon as I usually don't for the first few months after making a new build. Correct me if I'm wrong but from what I have read here, if I am someone who is looking for best performance out of the box in DCS, the 8700k is the CPU of choice when compared to the 2700x. Yes?
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | TrackIR 5 | Saitek Pro Combat Pedals
Heatware

ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.