Advice: Cold War era module for online

Bozon

Hello,

I am new to DCS, but a veteran of online combat sims (20 years of Aces High, dedicated Mossie pilot). I am mostly here waiting for the Mosquito and P47 modules to come out. While I wait, I think it will be fun to get into jets - early stuff, till the late 60’s, don’t want anything too complicated. If DCS had Mirage III I’d be all over that drooling, but alas the RAZBAM project seems to have been pushed beyond the horizon.

So, I narrowed it down to:

F-86

Mig-15

Mig-21

F-5

Which of the above do you think will be the best 1st module - mostly for online play. Offline campaigns content are bonus. The Mig-15 is winking at me. Should I?

“Mosquitoes fly, but flies don’t Mosquito” :pilotfly:

- Geoffrey de Havilland.

... well, he could have said it!

As an owner of all 4 of those modules I would go with the F-5 first.

It has a wide range of capability, is easy to learn, challenging to fly and will give you the most bang for your buck.

The Mig21 is also very capable but slightly harder to learn.

The F-86 and Mig 15 are both awesome but not much to do with them. They are not even correctly matched against each other.

EDsignaturefleet.jpg

Thanks.

I was more interested in the online gameplay of these models. Do they have good servers/big enough community?

F86 and Mig15 are basically Korea only and are the only contemporaries of each other. Is there a sufficient large community for a Korea server during Euro-evenings?

Mig-21bis is a 70s model (already somewhat beyond its peak by then) - who are its contemporaries? Only the Mig-19 and F-5? Is there a good server for this matchup? Do the F-5/Mig21 mix well with more modern aircraft in other servers? I suppose running the Mig21 vs the F-teen series and getting splatted BVR will get frustrating really fast.

- Geoffrey de Havilland.

Cold War Server for the F-5/Mig-21

Unfortunately it isn't VR friendly so I don't fly in there much