Spotting Distance... again - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2019, 02:33 PM   #11
SharpeXB
Senior Member
 
SharpeXB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 1,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kongamato View Post
Not everybody have a 32" 4K monitor as you have, according your firm. If a monitor of 80 cm. ultra HD is a recommended requisit for this simulator in order of seeing and identify other planes in the distance, DCS should say it.
No a large 4K monitor isn’t required. But many complaints come from people using small low res (sub 1080p) or laptop screens. Those are obviously not sufficient for playing without icons.
IMO the minimum display required is 24” 1080p capable of 16.7 million colors.
__________________
Velocity Micro PC | Asus Z97-A | i7-4790K 4.7GHz | Corsair Liquid CPU Cooler | 32GB DDR3-1600MHz Memory | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC | 240gb Intel 520 Series MLC SSD | 850 W Corsair PSU | Windows 10 Home | LG 32UD99-W UHD Monitor | Bose Companion 5 Speakers | CH Fighterstick | Ch Pro Throttle | CH Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5

Last edited by SharpeXB; 03-15-2019 at 02:36 PM.
SharpeXB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 03:33 PM   #12
samich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 8
Default

I'd love to see this addressed as well.
I have a high quality 1080p gaming monitor. It's big, it has good colour definition and spotting is an absolute nightmare in dcs and it really can ruin the fun at times
samich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 03:46 PM   #13
Kongamato
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SharpeXB View Post
No a large 4K monitor isn’t required. But many complaints come from people using small low res (sub 1080p) or laptop screens. Those are obviously not sufficient for playing without icons.
IMO the minimum display required is 24” 1080p capable of 16.7 million colors.
I have a LG IPS 27" full HD 1080p monitor and track IR, and I find dificult to spot the enemy planes to start a dogfight.
Kongamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 04:42 PM   #14
=Grizzly=
Junior Member
 
=Grizzly='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 79
Default

Spotting its wrong! period. always has been wrong, its not hardware problem nor settings, its not "game habits" its the way that the sim renders the objects in the distance, and always appears people that says "i have not problems spotting i have a super vision 20/20 and a super monitor" or the most common "its the way IRL you need to have a 20/20 vision to spotting planes at 0.5 miles" they just justifing a obvious fail in this sim...Spotting its just wrong!
__________________
=Grizzly= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 04:47 PM   #15
33-DFTC
Member
 
33-DFTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 346
Default

I concur with Grizzly comment. I play various sims (modern and WWII) and DCS is the only sim of the three to give me headaches at spotting. It needs a serious revamp of the rendering system.
__________________
There are only two types of aircraft, fighters and targets. - Major Doyle "Wahoo" Nicholson, USMC
--
Every day, we are one day closer to the release. - NineLine, Community Manager
33-DFTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:41 PM   #16
SharpeXB
Senior Member
 
SharpeXB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 1,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kongamato View Post
I have a LG IPS 27" full HD 1080p monitor and track IR, and I find dificult to spot the enemy planes to start a dogfight.
I had a monitor just like that and found spotting and visibility to be fine. I could see and identify armored vehicles on the ground, at night with NVGs on, in that mono green hue and still see them. I could see ground targets visually in the A-10 that were 14,000’ below me. It takes practice but it’s possible.
__________________
Velocity Micro PC | Asus Z97-A | i7-4790K 4.7GHz | Corsair Liquid CPU Cooler | 32GB DDR3-1600MHz Memory | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC | 240gb Intel 520 Series MLC SSD | 850 W Corsair PSU | Windows 10 Home | LG 32UD99-W UHD Monitor | Bose Companion 5 Speakers | CH Fighterstick | Ch Pro Throttle | CH Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
SharpeXB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:54 PM   #17
wilbur81
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 615
Default

1080p is easy (and probably unrealistically so) when compared to 4K spotting.
__________________
i7 8700K @ Stock - Win10 64 - 32 RAM - GTX 1070 SC - TIR5 - Black X-56 Throttle + TM Warthog Stick - Cougar MFDs - Saitek Combat Pedals - Home built ACES II - 55" 4k TCL s405 TV
wilbur81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:56 PM   #18
Strong05
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 93
Default

Phil style posted some good videos on this subject:

https://youtu.be/4bZFbwEsabw

https://youtu.be/LDLcqzr19aA

https://youtu.be/7Aq3B3UFwhc
__________________
i7-6700K @4.7GHz, 16GB DDR4@3300, 1080ti-GTX 11GB, Odyssey, Gunfighter/TMWH
Strong05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 06:19 PM   #19
SharpeXB
Senior Member
 
SharpeXB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 1,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strong05 View Post
Yeah but this stuff about seeing a fighter sized contact at 50km is baloney. At any resolution when an aircraft gets within the range that you’d see it at IRL, maybe at the most 7-8 miles. It’s already rendering at more than a single pixel and is visible. Not easily visible. But if you know where to look you’d see it.
I can see other modern fighters at a range before their icons even appear which I think is 10 miles.
__________________
Velocity Micro PC | Asus Z97-A | i7-4790K 4.7GHz | Corsair Liquid CPU Cooler | 32GB DDR3-1600MHz Memory | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC | 240gb Intel 520 Series MLC SSD | 850 W Corsair PSU | Windows 10 Home | LG 32UD99-W UHD Monitor | Bose Companion 5 Speakers | CH Fighterstick | Ch Pro Throttle | CH Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
SharpeXB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 06:26 PM   #20
wilbur81
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 615
Default

I seem to remember reading some where that (part of) the problem with spotting at resolutions greater than 1080p (I have nothing really to say to people who think that 1080p spotting is hard) in DCS is model .LODs of different aircraft. I was flying yesterday in the Hornet with some of the beautiful new F-14B AI's. When the tomcats got within half or 3/4 mile from me, sections of their aircraft seem to actually become invisible, like pixels are missing. This is all at 4K on a 55 inch screen. Maybe this is an MSAA issue (I play with it off), but I've heard people speak of this elsewhere.

I'm still of the opinion (could certainly be wrong here as I'm not a combat pilot) that the difficulty of 4K spotting in DCS is actually pretty close to real life. When I played in 1080p, I was accidentally spotting other fighters in the 1-5 mile range while looking in their general direction. In 4K, you don't accidentally spot anything unless it's 1/2 mile out or less (speaking of smaller fighters here).
__________________
i7 8700K @ Stock - Win10 64 - 32 RAM - GTX 1070 SC - TIR5 - Black X-56 Throttle + TM Warthog Stick - Cougar MFDs - Saitek Combat Pedals - Home built ACES II - 55" 4k TCL s405 TV
wilbur81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:59 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.