DCS World 2.5.x Terrain Texture Tiles - Page 29 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 12:20 PM   #281
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,192
Default

Pedro is right. If you copy a mod into \DCS it overwrites the original files -- they will be lost, and the only way to get them back is to do a repair.

When you then allow an update to run, all the mod files you have installed will be moved to \DCS\_BackupX .

OvGME and JSGME programs are Generic Mod Enablers, which allow you to actually manage the mods you wish to use.

Basically, when you configure a GME to manage a mod, they also manage the original installation files. So when you tell it to implement a mod consisting of for example \DCS\Mod\tech\some_files before the mod file 'some_files' is copied into \DCS the original 'some_file' is copied to a safe place, and only then is the mod file copied into \DCS .

You can later tell the GME to remove the mod, in which case the mod file(s) are removed and the original files are moved back into their original locations.

This is all done with simple clicks in the GME, and all this power and safety is absolutely free
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 03:00 PM   #282
dresoccer4
Member
 
dresoccer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by =Pedro= View Post
If you just copying mod files into the DCS subfolders without making a backup instead of using proper manager, you have absolutely no control especially after each update
that's true. however most mods these days go in the <user>\Saved Games\DCS\Mods\ folder so updates don't affect them. but some mods still have to go in the main DCS folder, and those are affected. then during update DCS will realize those aren't supposed to be there and stick them all in the $backup folder. it works for me
__________________
Acer Predator Triton 700 || Win10 64bit || i7-7700HQ || 512GB SSD || 32GB RAM || GTX1080 Max-Q || All DCS Modules
dresoccer4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 03:23 PM   #283
=Pedro=
Senior Member
 
=Pedro='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CENTRAL POLAND
Posts: 1,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dresoccer4 View Post
that's true. however most mods these days go in the <user>\Saved Games\DCS\Mods\ folder so updates don't affect them. but some mods still have to go in the main DCS folder, and those are affected. then during update DCS will realize those aren't supposed to be there and stick them all in the $backup folder. it works for me
Fair enough
__________________
i7 6700K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte GTX 1080 8 GB | 16 GB DDR4 | Win7 Ultimate X64 | TrackIR 5 | TM Warthog HOTAS | MFG Croswinds Pedals
=Pedro= is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.