y2kiah's A-10C cockpit build - Page 60 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2015, 05:51 PM   #591
weeb
Member
 
weeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 275
Default

twin

They are dxf files, it is the way you are viewing them m8.
What default programme are you trying to open them in?
__________________
Windows 7 64 Home Premium, i5 3570K (3.4 @ 4.4GHz), Asus P8Z77-V LX, 16GB dual channel 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidia GTX980ti, 240 GB OCZ SSD, 3 TB Raptor, Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas and Throttle, Saitek Pro Combat Rudder pedals.
weeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 09:53 PM   #592
twin383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 37
Default

I right click, save as and the dxf downloads as txt. document. Name of file ends with .dfx. What am I doing wrong. Mach3 licensed is on another computer and when attempting to run it an error occurs with 0 not valid.

Last edited by twin383; 09-24-2015 at 12:57 AM.
twin383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 07:35 AM   #593
weeb
Member
 
weeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 275
Default

I'm away from home today so no computer, but I will try it when I get back tonight unless someone else responds to you first.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Home Premium, i5 3570K (3.4 @ 4.4GHz), Asus P8Z77-V LX, 16GB dual channel 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidia GTX980ti, 240 GB OCZ SSD, 3 TB Raptor, Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas and Throttle, Saitek Pro Combat Rudder pedals.
weeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 03:29 PM   #594
twin383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weeb View Post
I'm away from home today so no computer, but I will try it when I get back tonight unless someone else responds to you first.
Thanks Weeb.
twin383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 04:16 PM   #595
Boltz
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 444
Default

Mach 3 is for controlling a CNC and as far as I know does not work with DXF. You need something like AutoCAD or a DXF viewer to read these files
Boltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 06:08 PM   #596
twin383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 37
Default

LazyCAM will convert dxf files. I have attempted it but it is still seen as a text document.

Last edited by twin383; 09-24-2015 at 11:18 PM.
twin383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 10:07 PM   #597
Warhog
Member
 
Warhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 733
Default

Maybe what you need to do is tell us what you thought these dxf files will let you accomplish. Do you have any CAD or CNC background? It is difficult to provide assistance with out this information.

DXF files are in fact text files. They are used as a vehicle to move drawing data from one CAD program to another in a very basic, stripped down, text format. The DXF file extension is short for Drawing eXchange Format
__________________
Regards
John W
aka WarHog.


WIN 10 Pro, i8-8700k @ 5.0ghz, ASUS Maximus x Code, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum Ram,
AIO Water Cooler, M.2 512GB NVMe,
500gb SSD, EVGA GTX 1080 ti (11gb), Sony 65” 4K Display
VPC MongoosT-50, TM Warthog Throttle, TRK IR 5.0, Slaw Viper Pedals
Warhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 11:16 PM   #598
twin383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 37
Default

I am a novice with CNC. Building anything is my strength when equipped with knowledge. The DXF files here is the cockpit that will sit on the 6 DOF motion platform being built. Actually 3 simulators are being built for by boys and self. We look forward to joining the community of flying. Thank you for knowledge for dummies and your assistance will be much appreciated.
twin383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 03:32 AM   #599
weeb
Member
 
weeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 275
Default

Twin, What John says ^^^^^^. I have these open perfectly in autocad, got them all here opened. Do you have autocad or a dxf viewer. PM me can probably help you m8
__________________
Windows 7 64 Home Premium, i5 3570K (3.4 @ 4.4GHz), Asus P8Z77-V LX, 16GB dual channel 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidia GTX980ti, 240 GB OCZ SSD, 3 TB Raptor, Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas and Throttle, Saitek Pro Combat Rudder pedals.
weeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 03:39 AM   #600
twin383
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 37
Default

PM'ed you Weeb. AutoCAD will work in Lazy CAM.

Last edited by twin383; 09-25-2015 at 03:42 AM.
twin383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a-10, a-10c warthog, cockpit, cockpit building, home-built

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memento10's Cockpit Build memento10 Home Cockpits 14 10-16-2011 12:28 AM
A-10C cockpit sweinhart3 Home Cockpits 64 08-12-2010 03:06 AM
Steve's A-10C pit build sweinhart3 Home Cockpits 42 02-23-2010 03:02 PM
How build a nice F-16 cockpit Sokol1_br Input and Output 4 09-16-2009 03:41 AM
Want to build your own Cockpit Red Hammer PC Hardware and Related Software 0 08-31-2006 03:51 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.