Having a heck of a time

LC34

Boy this plane is giving me a run for my money. I am new to it but have gotten decent at take offs and landings with the 109, however with the mustang I bounce and skirt all over the runway on both take off and landing.

Before I started it up I read many how to's and manuals for it, I thought the 109 was supposed to be a "tougher" plane on take offs and landings? If I post a link to me taking off and a short flight with a landing would anyone care to comment on what I'm doing so wrong? I have thick skin and know its all my fault but I don't know what exactly I'm doing wrong.

AMD Ryzen 7 7800X#D

64 GB Ram

MSI RTX 4090

Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

I am getting the take off now, I wasn't letting the plane fly itself off the ground. However on landings, too fast? Tried trimming in other landings but, every landing is pretty similar to this one. Usually get a bounce, then a slam, then a burn or boom.

AMD Ryzen 7 7800X#D

64 GB Ram

MSI RTX 4090

Jesus, that landing :/

Okay, little bit too hot and high, but the biggest mistake was chopping the throttle and then centering the stick, resulting in the slam as the nose dropped (dialed in some nose down trim, or not dialed in tail trim when lowering the flaps?).

Try forgetting about chopping the throttle or flaring, instead have the aircraft trimmed for level flight and just gently lower the throttle on approach and fly the airplane over the runway at a height of a foot or so under power, make sure your VSI is 0, then close the throttle and let it aircraft slowly glide onto its wheels.

Yes, you'll use a fair bit of runway, but once you get the hang of that you can start shortening it up and actually going by the book, flares and all.

Edited by Buzzles
  • Like 1

Looks like Buzzles beat me to it, but I'm posting this unedited anyways: