CPU Bottlenecking? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2019, 07:56 AM   #1
franzy666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 3
Cool CPU Bottlenecking?

Hi all,

Well I am not an expert in computing so I seek your help to understand what happens.
I play DCS only in VR with a Pimax 5k with Steam SS 200%, Pitool SS 0.5, Ingame SS 1.2 (that's the best combination I found following many advices of fellow users).
My system is as follows:

Core i7 5960X
32 RAM DDR4
RTX 2080Ti
500GB SSD
Win 10

I attached a screenshot of FPSVR so that you see what happens when some demanding situations occur. FPS drops very low and the experience becomes uncomfortable and even unplayable.

I don't understand why the top-end GPU runs at only around half its capacity (56% here) and the CPU only 16%.
My system doesn't preform at its maximum at all.....
Is this CPU bottlenecking???
Even in free flight I get 50 FPS which i accept but the GPU never exceeds 60% and the CPU 20%.
If yes then i could replace the CPU but with which one? My motherboard is an X99 which I think is not compatible with most of the recent CPUs.


Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-06-11 16.55.4323.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	3.50 MB
ID:	211898  
franzy666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 08:17 AM   #2
Panthir
Member
 
Panthir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 333
Default

At first check NVIDIA CPL settings for max performance (avoid optimal).
__________________
My Hardware: GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS Master - Intel Core i7-8700K 3.7 GHz @ 5.1 ghz (Delid Copper IHS) - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB DDR4 3200 (14-14-14-34 CL) - GigaByte 1080ti OC 11gb Gaming - 2 X Samsung Nvme 500GB RAID 0 - TM Warthog + Trackhat + G25 + AOC AG271QG 27"

My Modules: AV-8N/A, F-18C, ASJ37, MiG-15Bis, MiG-21Bis, Fw-190D, Bf-109K, P-51D, F-86F, Ka-50, UH-1H, Mi-8MTV2, NS430, FC3, A-10C, Mirage 2000C, L-39, F-5E-3, SA342, Spitfire.

My Maps: Nevada, Normandy, Persian Gulf.
Panthir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 08:45 AM   #3
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by franzy666 View Post
My system is as follows:

Core i7 5960X

I don't understand why the top-end GPU runs at only around half its capacity (56% here) and the CPU only 16%.
That 16% usage is an average of all the cores on your cpu, as dcs runs on only one core mostly (a 2nd is used for audio processing) ... so, most likely you have a single core at 100% with the remaining close to idle.

Unfortunately, your high end cpu derives its power from using 8 cores in parallel, which is wasted on DCS ... the sim prefers a high single core performance, rather than having so many cores.

For your next dcs processor, look for a 4-6 core unit with the highest single core performance possible, the passmark benchmark gives an accurate measure for SC performance .. yours has a SC passmark of 2000, while a modern processor like the intel core i5 9600K, that costs a quarter of yours, has a SC rating of almost 2700.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 09:46 AM   #4
JimmyWA
Junior Member
 
JimmyWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 79
Default

I had similar performance issues. Couldn’t work out why my cou usage sat at around 30% and gpu at 50%, yet VR performance was terrible.

After a lot of research and testing, I discovered my dcs.exe was only using 1 core. I changed it to use 2, and had sound issues. I changed it to use All, and suddenly VR was fantastic. No more stutters. I have to set it up each time I fly, but it’s worth it. My CPU usage is now around 16%

Check how many cores your DCS is using, and experiment - if it is only using 1, with it running on All, or 2. To do this (from memory - not at PC), start DCS, once at the main opening page, press on CTRL ALT DEL, Task Manager, go to processes. Select DCS, details, then click on DCS.EXE, right click, select Affinity. If only on core is selected, try select all. Once done, DCS will now use all cores. Put on your VR headset and load a mission. See how the performance is. If it isn’t any better, go back and set Affinity to 2 cores only.
Closing DCS andcrestarting DCS will put it back to using it’s default cores.
__________________
i7 6800k OC 4 Ghz, 16 GB DDR4 OC 3200 mhz, GTX 1080, Water cooled, C: NVME SSD, F; DCS on SSD TM HOTAS Warthog Stick & Throttle, CH Rudder Pedals, 2 x Thrustmaster MFDs, HTC Vive
JimmyWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:04 PM   #5
Delta59R
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 260
Default

Yes I would a agree Single core performance is king in DCS. I have a test I do where I fly around downtown Dubi. I see it drop below the acceptable 45fps that motion reprojection forces, It will drop to around 35fps and become studdery most noticable when looking sideways. When this is happening I see about 35% cpu usage and 75% gpu usage.
If i look at individual cores they are all even at 35%... so where's the bottleneck? What's happening with the CPU? Is the CPU just dividing a 2 core load amongst all the cores?
I have a 5.0ghz 8700k with HT OFF
32gigs ram and a 1080ti
__________________
Meshify C, Noctua Industrial Fans, Asus Hero X, Delided 8700k 5.0 HT off, 32gb 4000 c18 Gskill, EVGA SC2 1080ti, Captain 240, Sam 512g pro, Sam 120g pro, Seasonic 1000, MSFF2, Razer Mamba, O+, HP Reverb, 4k Sony TV
Delta59R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:11 PM   #6
Delta59R
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 260
Default

Yes I would a agree Single core performance is king in DCS. I have a test I do where I fly around downtown Dubi. I see it drop below the acceptable 45fps that motion reprojection forces, It will drop to around 35fps and become studdery most noticable when looking sideways. When this is happening I see about 35% cpu usage and 75% gpu usage.
If i look at individual cores they are all even at 35%... so where's the bottleneck? What's happening with the CPU? Is the CPU just dividing a 2 core load amongst all the cores?
I have a 5.0ghz 8700k with HT OFF
32gigs ram and a 1080ti
__________________
Meshify C, Noctua Industrial Fans, Asus Hero X, Delided 8700k 5.0 HT off, 32gb 4000 c18 Gskill, EVGA SC2 1080ti, Captain 240, Sam 512g pro, Sam 120g pro, Seasonic 1000, MSFF2, Razer Mamba, O+, HP Reverb, 4k Sony TV
Delta59R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:40 PM   #7
toutenglisse
Member
 
toutenglisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: French Alps
Posts: 633
Default

Delta the results you have monitoring cpu are dependant of monitore software resolution.
With msi afterburner you can increase the resolution and see a different result.
while with 1 sec reso I see nice almost stable % usage for each core, if I set reso to 1/10th of second I see all cores spiking to 100% each in turn very quickly, instead of showing lets say 30% usage on each.
__________________
Hardware : I7 7700K - Z270 gaming M5 - 32GB ( 4x8 ) ddr4 3200Mhz - 1080Ti gaming X - SSD M2 - TM Twcs / TM Rgt yaw pedals / MS sidewinder FF2 - Oculus Rift CV1.
toutenglisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 03:57 PM   #8
Delta59R
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toutenglisse View Post
Delta the results you have monitoring cpu are dependant of monitore software resolution.
With msi afterburner you can increase the resolution and see a different result.
while with 1 sec reso I see nice almost stable % usage for each core, if I set reso to 1/10th of second I see all cores spiking to 100% each in turn very quickly, instead of showing lets say 30% usage on each.
Interesting, ill check that out. Thx
__________________
Meshify C, Noctua Industrial Fans, Asus Hero X, Delided 8700k 5.0 HT off, 32gb 4000 c18 Gskill, EVGA SC2 1080ti, Captain 240, Sam 512g pro, Sam 120g pro, Seasonic 1000, MSFF2, Razer Mamba, O+, HP Reverb, 4k Sony TV
Delta59R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 04:06 PM   #9
franzy666
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you all, guys for your remarks.
I now understand better what is going on.
I will give a try to what JimmyWA suggests and come back.
franzy666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 04:23 PM   #10
Delta59R
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 260
Default

Now I'm wondering if a 2080ti or 2080ti super would be a waist. Maybe i should spring for one of those 5.4ghz cherry picked 8086k's!
__________________
Meshify C, Noctua Industrial Fans, Asus Hero X, Delided 8700k 5.0 HT off, 32gb 4000 c18 Gskill, EVGA SC2 1080ti, Captain 240, Sam 512g pro, Sam 120g pro, Seasonic 1000, MSFF2, Razer Mamba, O+, HP Reverb, 4k Sony TV
Delta59R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2080ti, 5960x, bottleneck, fps performance, pimax

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:27 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.