S3 Refuel - Page 6 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2019, 03:17 PM   #51
Bruce_D
Member
 
Bruce_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cunning_Fox View Post
And as for throttle I move it like 3 mm. I mean, seriously small movements. I've vertically landed a Harrier on a Carrier deck moving at 20 knots at night in storm, but this is even harder. My throttle is between 0 and 20%. Anything above that seems to make F-14 overtake the S3.

I use to have the exactly same problem, and then I adjusted the curve of my X52 Pro to 25 and put a Dead Zone of 4. Now I can easily refuel on the S3.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cunning_Fox View Post
My curves are undajusted. Since they were unadjusted in real F-14, I am thinking why should I adjust them? And besides, if I adjust them for refuelling, they are going to be unresponsive in a dogfight. I have tried adjusting curves before up to +15 for roll and pitch and maybe -5 or +17 on pedals (depending on the airframe), but in the end I've settled on a +5 dead zone on all axes.
I know that the real F-14 does not have this curve, but my throttle is not the same as the F-14, that’s why I have to adjust. With this adjustment I didn’t have problems during dogfight.

Please, don’t take me wrong, but maybe if you increase the curve you will have better results. This is my humble opinion and maybe I’m wrong.

Good Luck in your flights and I hope that I could help.
Bruce_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:26 PM   #52
nicka117
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 192
Default

Thinking a toy hotas with no curves is more realistic is not correct.
nicka117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:29 PM   #53
lunaticfringe
Senior Member
 
lunaticfringe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,076
Default

Quote:
Since they were unadjusted in real F-14, I am thinking why should I adjust them?
Because a Tomcat pilot had 100% throttle resolution spread over (if memory serves) eight inches of travel, while you barely have three. Similarly, you have an inch and a half of stick movement in each direction, whereas the pilot had four.

Arguing that you shouldn't need to apply curvature for your controls, when an actual pilot used less than your total physical throw on both the stick and throttle for tanking applications, while it accounted for less than a quarter of the applied output from said controls, is rather amusing.

In essence, you're arguing that because his inputs were within half an inch of center, you should be able to do so within less than one eighth. Good luck with that.
lunaticfringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:33 PM   #54
nicka117
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 192
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ryiJP3H7OY

This is an F-18 but you can see how much he moves the throttle in the groove. The f-14 is going to be somewhat similar. If 3 mil of movement on the toy throttle spikes the fuel flow, it won't work at all. You need curves for it to be more realistic.
nicka117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:33 PM   #55
Bruce_D
Member
 
Bruce_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicka117 View Post
Yep, forgot to mention, set throttles as slider.
I've never tried this set. Does it improve precision?


Tks, I'll try it
Bruce_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:50 PM   #56
nicka117
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 192
Default

Setting as slider allows you to use the curves correctly.
nicka117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 04:10 PM   #57
Bruce_D
Member
 
Bruce_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicka117 View Post
Setting as slider allows you to use the curves correctly.
Do you input dead zones for the throttle?
Bruce_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 04:37 PM   #58
TacoGrease
Member
 
TacoGrease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaticfringe View Post
Set throttles up as Slider axes with User Curves. Negative and positive curvature collapse or expand both ends, when what you need is to expand the center- thereby increasing resolution, and therefore control, and minimize the loss of throw on the bottom end. Linear axis settings easily lose 25% of usable range just past idle given the "flat" power curve of turbines in that region.

Get rid of the symmetry and increase the usable range. Stuck hand syndrome and power over/undershoots go away.
Would you mind posting a screenshot of your throttle curves?
__________________
2080Ti FTW3 Ultra - G.Skill RJ 32GB (16x2) DDR4 3200 - Ryzen 2700X 4.2Ghz OC - Corsair H100i Pro - Samsung 970 EVO M.2 2TB - TMW HOTAS w Delta Sim - 10cm Sahaj - TrackIR 5 Pro - Rift CV1 - MFG CWind - BuddyFox UFC - DSD RK II - Cougar MFDs w/ LCDs
Soon: VPC MongoosT-50CM base - TM F/A-18C grip

- Maps: Caucasus (duh), NTTR, Persian Gulf, Normandy
- Modules: FC3, F-14A/B, F/A-18C, AV-8B, A-10C, F-16C, F-86, KA-50, P-51D, WWII assets, and [insert campaign name]
Dreaming of the F-15E / F-14D
TacoGrease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 06:15 PM   #59
VampireNZ
Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaticfringe View Post
Because a Tomcat pilot had 100% throttle resolution spread over (if memory serves) eight inches of travel, while you barely have three. Similarly, you have an inch and a half of stick movement in each direction, whereas the pilot had four.

Arguing that you shouldn't need to apply curvature for your controls, when an actual pilot used less than your total physical throw on both the stick and throttle for tanking applications, while it accounted for less than a quarter of the applied output from said controls, is rather amusing.

In essence, you're arguing that because his inputs were within half an inch of center, you should be able to do so within less than one eighth. Good luck with that.

Don't bother trying to talk logic with this guy..I tried, look where that got me lol


Also, are people actually using a throttle not set to slider...with deadzones? WTF parallel universe is this lol
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.40GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S |

VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 06:46 PM   #60
nicka117
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce_D View Post
Do you input dead zones for the throttle?
No sir.

I've gone slider, and the set negative curves to make the fuel flow rate proportional to throttle travel in the 3500 lbs to 6500 lbs range, which is where you are for landing and tanking. It just makes it so I have to go a little more past the warthog detent to get into burner, but who cares.
nicka117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:44 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.