Dust makes water invisible - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 01:03 PM   #1
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4,829
Default Dust makes water invisible

If you enable the "Dust" option in the weather settings. It will get rid of the water. And if you place ships on the map, they will look as if they float.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190316_150010.png
Views:	130
Size:	603.4 KB
ID:	206522   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190316_150016.png
Views:	128
Size:	1.21 MB
ID:	206523  
__________________
Rig: Maximus VII Ranger, 4790K @ 4.00 Ghz, MSI GTX 980 Ti, 16 GB non-oc RAM, 250 GB SAMSUNG EVO 850 SSD, 2TB HDD, Win 10 64-bit
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 02:11 PM   #2
Ironwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 168
Default

Helicarriers for the win
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 04:02 PM   #3
SpecterDC13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Default

That is actually pretty funny not gonna lie.
__________________
My setup: Alienware 17 R5 / GTX 1080 OC / i9 8950HK 5GHz / 32GB RAM / SAMSUNG 250GB M.2 / SAMSUNG 500GB M.2 / 1TB HDD / 1440p 120Hz G-Sync Display / TM Warthog HOTAS / TM Cougar MFD's / TM TFRP Rudder Pedals / TrackIR
SpecterDC13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 04:50 PM   #4
HC_Official
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 360
Default

what map is that on ?
HC_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 12:41 AM   #5
Ironwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 168
Default

Persian Gulf, I believe. You have to enable dust on the mission editor options in weather.
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 02:02 PM   #6
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,579
Default

I've deduced that this is caused by MSAA. I flew a dusty mission in VR, MSAA disabled, and everything was fine. Tried the same mission with MSAA x2, and x4, and in both cases the dust made water invisible. I reverted back to MSAA off, and the water returned.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 11:30 PM   #7
Ironwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 168
Default

My MSAA is set to 2x... I will try turning it off and see if I get the same result.
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 12:54 AM   #8
Ironwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 168
Default

Can confirm on any MSAA setting except off, water is effected when dust/smoke is on
Ironwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 02:01 AM   #9
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 3,579
Default

Fortunately it doesn't affect fog. It seems limited to the dust/smoke.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.