Normandy Map Discussion - Page 280 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2019, 08:52 PM   #2791
71st_AH Rob
Member
 
71st_AH Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 664
Default

Good to hear that this is going to be updated for certain now. Looking forward to the update.
__________________
Georgian Spring Server: Join the Revolution!
http://georgianspring.enjin.com/

Training for Sabre Pilots
http://1-fighter-otu.enjin.com/

http://www.il2aceshigh.com/
71st_AH Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 05:26 AM   #2792
TripRodriguez
Member
 
TripRodriguez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Scranton Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 589
Default

NineLine, thank you for the fantastic news. The rumors that Ugra had no plans to work on Normandy until after Syria release were deeply troubling and I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels a massive sense of relief to hear they are actively working on it. I actually feel borderline elated after reading your post. =)
__________________

Demo of my 6DOF Motion VR Sim: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gYiSBwy0t0
TripRodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 06:03 AM   #2793
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 23,868
Default

Ditto, I am as excited as anyone at the news Normandy will get some love.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 06:56 AM   #2794
Thumper1911
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Default

I don’t have the normandy map or any wwii ac. If I buy the map, can I fly the a-10 or any modern ac on it?
Thumper1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 07:13 AM   #2795
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper1911 View Post
I don’t have the normandy map or any wwii ac. If I buy the map, can I fly the a-10 or any modern ac on it?
Yes, you can fly any aircraft on any map.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 07:16 AM   #2796
tintifaxl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,871
Default

Theoretically you can, but you would need to fly instant action or create your own missions. I am not sure if the a-10 can use the airfields on this map.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel i9-9900@5Ghz, 32 Gig RAM, Palit RTX 2080 TI, 1 TB SSD, 43" 2160p@1440p monitor.
tintifaxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 07:30 AM   #2797
imacken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintifaxl View Post
Theoretically you can, but you would need to fly instant action or create your own missions. I am not sure if the a-10 can use the airfields on this map.
Not really any different in that respect to some other modules, and yes, the A-10 can use the airfields in Normandy. (I haven't tried them all, but certainly the ones I have tried are OK).
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · HTC Vive Pro
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 10:04 AM   #2798
xvii-Dietrich
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pohjoiskalotti
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper1911 View Post
I don’t have the normandy map or any wwii ac. If I buy the map, can I fly the a-10 or any modern ac on it?

Yes, but just be aware that many WWII airfields are short and rough by modern jet standards.

There are only three paved airfields on the map: Evreux, Carpiquet and Tangmere (each of which has a maximum runway length of 1650 metres).

That said, we have flown the Hornet, C-101, Harrier, A-10C and Viggen on this map a few times, although we have gone back to Caucusus due to the performance problems.
xvii-Dietrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 06:13 PM   #2799
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xvii-Dietrich View Post
There are only three paved airfields on the map: Evreux, Carpiquet and Tangmere
Good point!

In addition, there are absolutely no modern nav-aids available on the Normandy map. So even with a mission date so to the modern age (say, 2019), there are no TACAN, ILS, RSBN, NDB, VOR stations or anything of that kind. The map was built to reflect 1944 or 1945, after all.

Still, I think it's a beautiful map, and when I fly the A-10C there (which is very occasionally), I tend to enjoy it quite a bit.

By now, there are also a few instant action missions for many modules, so that there is indeed a fair bit of content available out of the box. However, I would not expect any major modern jet campaigns ever taking place there; jet pilots don't necessarily have the map, and the map doesn't support them all that well, so I guess it's rather unlikely to ever see something like The Enemy Within on Normandy. Then again, you never know what strange ideas campaign authors come up with when they have too much spare time on their hands...
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 06:55 PM   #2800
Rakkis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 22
Default

Well, with just a rudimentary knowledge of how the Mission Editor works you can stick an Aircraft Carrier or LHD in the channel for the Hornet and Harrier folks, also if you MUST have modern navigation put Tankers with TACANS over important airfields on short racetracks.

Last edited by Rakkis; 06-16-2019 at 06:56 PM. Reason: word flow
Rakkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.