Summer sale tips for a beginner?

laban

I have been playing DCS 2.5 in VR for a little while now, and I really enjoy free flight, just taking off, flying, landing. Missions etc will come later.

As a beginner I can't miss the fact that modules are expensive. Don't get me wrong. I understand why they are. Now that the summer sale makes things affordable I thought I should grab a new map and a new plane before they are back at full price again. So, with free flight as my highest priority, what should I get?

Map: Persian Gulf or Nevada?

Persian Gulf is newer and has more features such as sea and islands. On the other hand Nevada is more familiar. I'm Swedish, but still Nevada is more well-known in the western hemisphere. What are your personal preferences?

Plane: JA37 Viggen or Flaming Cliffs 3?

As a Swede I grew up watching JA37 in various air shows, and I'm very tempted to buy it. On the other hand I do get more planes with FC3. Since I don't have the time to fully learn a high-end module like JA37, maybe I'm better off with FC3? Can I even take off and fly the JA37 easily, just like the SU-25, or does it require in-depth knowledge just to get off the ground?

Any other highly summer sale recommendations for a free-flight beginner?

Thanks in advance!

If you don't have the time to learn the Viggen, get FC3 instead. There's a red flag payware campaign for the F-15 in Nevada, so maybe NTTR and this campaign would make for a nice complement for FC3.

Edited by tintifaxl

Windows 10 64bit, Intel i9-9900@5Ghz, 32 Gig RAM, MSI RTX 3080 TI, 2 TB SSD, 43" 2160p@1440p monitor.

Map = Persian Gulf sooooooooooooooo much this

Plane = FC3 , you get a lot of fun planes with a low cost (and you get to use the J-11A free mod), they are not clicky cockpits tho, but still worth it

No more pre-orders

Click here for tutorials for using Virpil Hardware and Software

Click here for Virpil Flight equipment dimensions and pictures.