Yet Another "Upgrade Advice" Post

I think I've figured out what to do, but I have a couple of minor questions I was hoping to get answers to. I've been playing DCS since December 2018, and I mostly play single player, but I'm wanting to play multiplayer in the future. Graphics quality is probably near the top of why I play games like this.

My wife surprised me with a gaming computer for Christmas: HP Pavilion Gaming Desktop 690-00xx. It's certainly not a great gaming computer, but it's much nicer than the toaster oven I thought I was getting.

Basic components out of the box are: AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.0GHz, 16MB RAM, Seagate 1TB HD, and AMD RX 550 GPU.

I found a cool site (http://www.userbenchmark.com) that allowed me to get a baseline of my performance and then to get performance estimates if I swap out various components. It looks like the most bang for the buck is to upgrade the GPU to a GTX 1070ti, which is a little over $500, which is about what I want to spend. Adding RAM or moving to SSD didn't seem to improve FPS. Obviously an SSD would help with boot up and loading times, but I can live with what I have.

So, my two basic questions: I have most of the display settings in DCS at LOW or MEDIUM, and I get 40 to 60 FPS. What should I expect by upgrading to a GTX 1070ti? Second, does it matter which vendor I go for when buying this GPU? Prices vary a little, so is there any reason why I shouldn't go for the least expensive? I see that the 2070 and 2080 have been released recently. Will this drive down prices on the 1070 in the near future?

Thanks!

Edited by Shakey
i'm horribly confused

You need CPU every bit as much as GPU in this game. Look at the ryzen 5 2600 and 2600x, same socket and you should notice a difference. Starting at $160 it's a great investment imo

Graphics settings often affect both gpu and CPU, max out your settings with a 1070 and that CPU will likely wind up being a bottleneck

Update your Mobo bios before you do anything