VR zoom - possible to bind key to hotas? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2018, 04:30 PM   #1
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 263
Default VR zoom - possible to bind key to hotas?

Is it somehow possible to bind the zoom function to one of the hotas buttons? It is bound to my Oculus touch controller by default, but that's useless during combat situations.
I allready tried all zoom key's I could find in the "controls setup"

(I found several topics where this has been discussed, but I don't find the answer)
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:34 PM   #2
DowntownSIX
Member
 
DowntownSIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 143
Default

It's possible - on the drop down menu at the top left in controls you're looking for "UI Layer", there is a zoom function in there that works in VR.
__________________
Devils Canyon i7 4790K |16gb 2400MHz DDR3 | MSI GeForce GTX 1080Ti | Samsung 860 EVO

Thrustmaster Warthog | VKB-Sim T-Rudder Mk.IV | Acer X34A (21:9) | Oculus Rift CV1

A-10C | AJS-37 | AV-8B | C-101 | F/A-18C | F-14 | F-5E | KA-50 | L-39 | M-2000C | SA342 | Spitfire LF Mk IX | UH-1H
DowntownSIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:39 PM   #3
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,687
Default

Yes and while you are in the UI layer binding VR zoom to a button, go ahead and bind VR-Recenter to a button as well. Very handy.

You can also bind mouse functions in there to buttons. I have left click, right click, and scroll assigned to buttons on my Warthog throttle in there.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | EVGA DG 87 Case |
dburne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 05:26 PM   #4
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 263
Default

Excellent!
And good idea to map the mouse buttons (I still use my old Thrustmaster Cougar hotas so I need all buttons available )
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 02:27 PM   #5
cercata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
and scroll assigned to buttons on my Warthog throttle in there.
You have the mouse scroll mapped to 2 buttons ? Or a rotary ?
cercata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 02:29 PM   #6
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cercata View Post
You have the mouse scroll mapped to 2 buttons ? Or a rotary ?
Two buttons on my VKB MCG Pro grip. I have a 4 way hat plus push on right side of grip, have all my mouse functions assigned to it.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | EVGA DG 87 Case |
dburne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:17 PM   #7
Vannipo
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Two buttons on my VKB MCG Pro grip. I have a 4 way hat plus push on right side of grip, have all my mouse functions assigned to it.
Hopefully, u use it with a modifier key, that u dont have to waste important buttons on a joystick for mouse functions...
Vannipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:41 PM   #8
milkojohns
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 31
Default

Mouse mapped to stick, probably one of the buttons i use most. I map it to DMS switch and the zoom to the G overide. Tried a bunch of combos and couldnt find something that works better for me

Feels great to zoom in and click a few buttons with hands on throttle and stick
milkojohns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 01:14 AM   #9
Tundra
Member
 
Tundra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vannipo View Post
Hopefully, u use it with a modifier key, that u dont have to waste important buttons on a joystick for mouse functions...
Well let´s say the T-50 joystick has several buttons and, even more important, quite a few axis.

__________________
i5 8400 | 16 Gb RAM | GTX 1080 | Virpil MongooseT-50 base w/ Warthog stick | Warthog throttle | Virpil desk mount | Saitek rudder pedals | Oculus Rift CV1 | Buddy-Fox A-10 UFC | TM MFDs | Realteus ForceFeel
FC3 - A-10C - F-5E - Harrier - Hornet - Tomcat - NTTR - PG
Tundra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.