Steam Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) and Steam Specific Issues - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2013, 01:36 AM   #1
ShaZe88
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 32
Default Steam Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) and Steam Specific Issues

Hello everybody, since the same questions are asked a billions time despite being clarified everywhere, let's link them all together.

**EFFECTIVE 05/12/2017, STARTING w/ DCS:M2000C and Newer, Modules will no Longer Use Starforce and Will Use Steam's DRM, There fore these Modules Cannot be Purchased and Used with the Eagle Dynamics Distribution**
(Easiest Way to tell is Modules that still use starforce will have the 3rd Party DRM Notice in the Features List on the Right Side when You are on Module's/DLCs Page).

Can I activate my DCS World Module purchased on steam on DCS World Standalone(Non-Steam)?

Yes, you will simply need to retrieve your serial key which can be found within your steam library and right-clicking on DCS World -> "View CD Key" then use this serial key to authenticate your module on DCS World.

Another way to view your cd-key is by simply by clicking the "CD-Key" link on the right side menu displayed after clicking DCS World within your library as SkateZilla mentioned


Can I use my modules purchased from ED Store on Steam?

Note: from 06/07/2014, License Keys purchased from ED, Gamefly or other External Sources will no longer activate on Steam.


See:
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.ph...02#post2085202


My Steam DCS World does not show any key!

It can sometimes happen that the steam store run out of keys for the games sold on their platforms. Wait until the developers give them a fresh batch of keys and you will be able to get your key afterward.



I just purchased a module off steam and it is now in rebate!, what can I do!?

This is basically your fault for not waiting on future deals but you can always contact steam to see if they can do somethings about it (which can sometimes happen if it was purchased a few minutes earlier)

You can contact them by accessing the following page : https://support.steampowered.com/



I have added my key to Steam but the module does not appear in the game

After entering the key of your newly purchased product, Steam will update DCS World. Make sure the game is not active and let the update finish before re-entering the game.



I purchased a newly released module and I cannot register it over steam

If the module has been released within a month, you will have to wait until the module is published on the steam platform and then wait for the keys purchased from the ED store to be added to the Steam database. If you really want to try to module right away, your only option is to get it from the DCS World Standalone which can be found on the main website :
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.co...rld/dcs_world/



Can I have both the standalone and Steam versions of DCS installed? Do they share settings? Are there any negative side-effects?

You can have both installations on your PC at the same time. There won't be any negative effects due to both installations keeping all their updates / configurations within their own folders.



How do I add command line arguments to a steam shortcut?

- Right click on DCS World within your Steam Library
- Select Properties
- Click on "Set Launch Options"
- Type your command line options.

Every time the game is launched, the arguments will be executed.


Why doesn't the game track my time played?
Why the Steam overlay is not working?

This is currently an issue with the launcher which should soon be fixed. Once the issue is resolved, the time will be tracked as long as you are not playing in "Steam Offline Mode".


Are patches/updates for the Steam version of DCS released at the same time as the standalone? Is this a source of potential issues if both are installed and used between updates?

DCS World Updates are pushed through ED servers for the standalone and Steam Servers for the Steam platform thus resulting in a delay when using Steam (since Steam has to first receive and handle the new update). The good new is that the updates will be much quicker to download from your Steam platform. The negative side is that you might have to wait before being able to play with your friends using the standalone version on the latest revision.


What are the differences between the Standalone DCS World and the Steam version?

Steam Version :
- Auto-Update without launching the game (as long as steam is open)
- Faster Update Speed
- Steam In-Game Overlay
- Steam Friend List Notifications
- Quick Repair
- DLCs not present on steam are unsupported

Standalone DCS World :
- Get all the modules as soon as they are released
- Does not require any extra program to be launched
- Has every single modules available

If you are fine with waiting for most product to be available on steam and like most of the Steam feature, the Steam version might be for you.
If you own unsupported products such as Upgrades / FC3 or do not care about the Steam functionalities, Standalone DCS World might be for you.


My Steam installation crash / does not work properly anymore, is there any way to fix it?

You repair your installation by going in the properties of DCS World which can be done by right clicking on DCS World within your library and selecting Properties. Then selecting the Local Files tab, which allow you to repair or uninstall the software.



Feel free to add your own question / answer using the same format below. Please refrain from saying ANY COMMENTS since this is basically the main reason why these questions are repeated so often (visibility)

Attachments:
View Cd-Key :


Redeem :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	verify.jpg
Views:	50941
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	87607   Click image for larger version

Name:	viewcd-key.jpg
Views:	49075
Size:	100.0 KB
ID:	87608   Click image for larger version

Name:	redeem.jpg
Views:	48179
Size:	25.3 KB
ID:	87609  


Last edited by SkateZilla; 09-12-2017 at 03:11 PM. Reason: marked non-steam dlcs as unsupported by the steam version
ShaZe88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 01:39 AM   #2
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,622
Default

You can Also Get your CD Key via:
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 08-28-2014 at 07:51 PM.
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:07 AM   #3
Harpoon
Member
 
Harpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC upstate, United States
Posts: 435
Question

Are we able to purchase Steam versions and use the key on a non-Steam DCSW installation?
__________________
If you want to talk to anyone about anything personal, send it to their PM box. Interpersonal drama and ad hominem rebuttal are things that do not belong on a thread viewed by the public.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadTommy View Post
One thing i have to point out... naming a thread.. "OK, so" is as useful as tits on a bull.
Harpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:09 AM   #4
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yours Truly View Post
Are we able to purchase Steam versions and use the key on a non-Steam DCSW installation?
From the post at the top of the thread. Two posts above yours. The very first question, in fact.

Quote:
Can I activate my DCS World Module purchased on steam on DCS World Standalone?

Yes, you will simply need to retrieve your serial key which can be found within your steam library and right-clicking on DCS World -> "View CD Key" then use this serial key to authenticate your module on DCS World.

Another way to view your cd-key is by simply by clicking the "CD-Key" link on the right side menu displayed after clicking DCS World within your library as SkateZilla mentioned
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:11 AM   #5
Harpoon
Member
 
Harpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SC upstate, United States
Posts: 435
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
From the post at the top of the thread. Two posts above yours. The very first question, in fact.
Sorry, didn't see that.
Harpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:18 AM   #6
Rincevent
Member
 
Rincevent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 133
Default

Thanks for the thread, well deserved. Bravo
__________________
How can you govern a country which has 246 varieties of cheese? Charles De Gaulle
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rincevent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:15 AM   #7
JetlinerX
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 206
Default

Will I have to buy BS2 since I cant use the upgrade?
__________________


Take a look at our in-depth DCS A10C tutorials HERE

If you want to participate in these tutorial sessions, please send me a PM and I can get you setup!

TUTORIALS TO RETURN "VERY SOON"
JetlinerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 05:21 AM   #8
Deck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for doing this ShaZe88.

Some suggested additions for ShaZe88 to edit into the OP: (some may have obvious answers, but I think it's important to cover everything in one place)

Q: How do I launch directly into Multiplayer Mode from Steam?

Q: Can I have both the standalone and Steam versions of DCS installed? Do they share settings? Are there any negative side-effects?

Q: Why doesn't the game track my time played?

Q: Are FC3 and the BS2 Upgrade coming to Steam, or is this not planned?

Q: Are patches/updates for the Steam version of DCS released at the same time as the standalone? Is this a source of potential issues if both are installed and used between updates?
Deck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:12 PM   #9
Squid
Member
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: a friendly place in Alpha Centauri
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Squid Send a message via MSN to Squid Send a message via Yahoo to Squid
Question Steam DCS A-10C

Can i merge a steam purchased DCS A-10C & ED shop purchased FC3 in WORLD ?
__________________
.

i7 880 | HD 7870 | 8 Gb DDR3 1600 | ECS P55H-A | OCZ Vertex 2 180 | Intel 330 180 | WD 500 AAKS | 2x WD 2T Green | Enermax Liberty 620 | CH Combatstick & Throttle | TrackIR 3 | HP ZR24W | Windows 7 x64
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:17 PM   #10
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squid View Post
Can i merge a steam purchased DCS A-10C & ED shop purchased FC3 in WORLD ?
Yes, but since FC3 is not supported on Steam, you will have to do it with a non-Steam install of DCS World.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buy, buying, campaign, crash, dcs, dcs store, fc3, lo:mac, progress, purchasing, sale, steam, time

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.