how do you guys fix your Track IR on the monitor - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 03:38 PM   #11
borntofly_zhang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to borntofly_zhang
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reksi-Erkki View Post
Double sided tape is my choice as well - and I just got this idea of using a ball joint from a car phone mount... should be adjustable enough.
that's a good idea and I'll try
borntofly_zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:49 PM   #12
borntofly_zhang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to borntofly_zhang
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaelu View Post
I have a PS3 Eye Camera for head tracking and I made a "perfect fit" holder for it on my monitor with poxiline.

I've put on the monitor some paper tape for protection. Then fitted the camera in a stable position and then prepared the poxiline and clay-model it around the base of the camera and on the monitor. I pressed good all over it to make it enter in all areas and after I was satisfied of how it looks I let it harden. It gets hot while doing this so the monitor should be off.

Then I painted it in black. I removed the protection paper (it was a bit tricky to unstuck it from the place but with care it can be done) and now I can place it on the monitor very easy and it stay there perfectly because it has the shape of the monitor bezel.

I'll try to post some pictures (I had some on the WIP stages but they are not hosted anymore)
I appreciate the sharing of your wonderful homework and expect to see the pictures,it's great job.
borntofly_zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:52 PM   #13
borntofly_zhang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to borntofly_zhang
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali View Post
Velcro will work great also.
should i attach the Velcro on both the monitor and the IR first?
borntofly_zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 04:12 PM   #14
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,640
Default

Clear Hockey Tape
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 04:19 PM   #15
Hellfire257
Member
 
Hellfire257's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 259
Default

With difficulty!

No, I just use the included stand. Last year when I had no overhead clearance for it, I used to use blutack to stick it to the frame. When it heated up it made a sticky mess but it did the job.
Hellfire257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 07:29 PM   #16
Crunch
Veteran
 
Crunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge ON Canada
Posts: 3,156
Send a message via MSN to Crunch
Default

Take note though, I believe you need to make sure that the back of the camera is open, i.e. not butt up against your monitor. Else you run the risk of possible over heating. I had to replace my TIR once. I think it was because I had it taped to my monitor.
Crunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 07:39 PM   #17
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,640
Default

I taped my to the top of my monitor by taping the legs to the frame,

I tried taping it to the wall behind the monitor to allow more movement tracking.

I need to re-arrange my setup due to sunlight.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:10 PM   #18
ShuRugal
Senior Member
 
ShuRugal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,197
Default

I just use the included stand, I have yet to encounter an object i can't get it to stay on.

on the go solution:


aaand at my desk:
ShuRugal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 12:03 AM   #19
Cali
Veteran
 
Cali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by borntofly_zhang View Post
should i attach the Velcro on both the monitor and the IR first?
Yes and if you use velcro, you shouldn't need a big piece. I would use velcro, but I move my TrackIR to another monitor when I'm playing Arma II.
__________________
i7-4820k @ 3.7, Windows 7 64-bit, 16GB 1866mhz EVGA GTX 970 2GB, 256GB SSD, 500GB WD, TM Warthog, TM Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Pedals, TrackIR 5, G15 keyboard, 55" 4K LED


Cali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:09 AM   #20
zaelu
Veteran
 
zaelu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nice, France
Posts: 3,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by borntofly_zhang View Post
I appreciate the sharing of your wonderful homework and expect to see the pictures,it's great job.
here are the pictures made then (with a potato ) when I get home I'll take some with something better with the final work if these are not "explanatory enough"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo-0438.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	187.9 KB
ID:	97954   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo-0437.jpg
Views:	300
Size:	162.2 KB
ID:	97955   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo-0440.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	109.4 KB
ID:	97956  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo-0444.jpg
Views:	299
Size:	187.4 KB
ID:	97957   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo-0442.jpg
Views:	306
Size:	189.6 KB
ID:	97958   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo-0443.jpg
Views:	313
Size:	153.7 KB
ID:	97959  

__________________

I5 4670k, 32GB, GTX1070, Thrustmaster TFRP, G940HOTAS extremely modded with Bodnar0836X and a wooden pc case (really!), Oculus Rift S
zaelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.