Interface between dumb bombs and the aircraft. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2019, 03:34 PM   #1
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,941
Default Interface between dumb bombs and the aircraft.

On the Stores page, you can set the fuzing for dumb bombs (Mk-80 series) and it'll actually take effect. My question is, since the bombs lack a communication interface, how can the pilot choose the fuze options himself?
Or is this not true IRL and the the bombs are fully configured on the ground?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 04:12 PM   #2
Eddie
Veteran
 
Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oman
Posts: 4,951
Default

You can’t physically change the fusing on bombs in flight, it has to be done by the weapons crews on the ground. The pilot simply sets the aircraft to match the weapons.

The exception being joint programmable fuse etc of smart weapons with a data connection to the aircraft.
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 04:45 PM   #3
AvroLanc
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
You can’t physically change the fusing on bombs in flight, it has to be done by the weapons crews on the ground. The pilot simply sets the aircraft to match the weapons.

The exception being joint programmable fuse etc of smart weapons with a data connection to the aircraft.
Indeed. In addition, my question is what the significance of the pilot choosing/specifying between an electric instantaneous vs. delayed fuze in the SMS? Does the jet care? It’s not as if the ballistics will be affected by a timer function on a FMU-140 tail fuze?

Always been unsure of this one.....
AvroLanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 05:12 PM   #4
Lordzarj
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 135
Default

It might be used to change the pull up cue to keep the pilot out of the frag envelope? Inst you would need to be higher compared to delay.
Lordzarj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 05:43 PM   #5
Eddie
Veteran
 
Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oman
Posts: 4,951
Default

Yep, used to both drive abort cues and select which arming wire(s) is pulled on weapon release.
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 07:45 PM   #6
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,941
Default

So the fact that we can actually set Instant or Delayed EFUZ in-flight and the bombs actually detonate instantly or with a delay respectively, is unrealistic, correct?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3

Last edited by Harker; 07-21-2019 at 07:52 PM.
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 07:59 PM   #7
AvroLanc
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
Yep, used to both drive abort cues and select which arming wire(s) is pulled on weapon release.
Ahh Ok. Abort cues makes sense. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
So the fact that we can actually set Instant or Delayed EFUZ in-flight and the bombs actually detonate instantly or with a delay respectively, is unrealistic, correct?
I believe so. Would be great if we could configure fuzing options on the loadout screen. Same goes for laser codes......

I believe ED plans to model the JPF and DSU-33 airburst for JDAMS. Will be interesting to see how they get loaded/optioned?
(Seeing the old M904 mech nose fuze on a JDAM is just wrong)
AvroLanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 11:49 AM   #8
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
Yep, used to both drive abort cues and select which arming wire(s) is pulled on weapon release.
Is the latter (arming wire) related to the MFUZ?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.