Easy Refuel Option - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2018, 02:19 AM   #1
Teriander
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 210
Default Easy Refuel Option

This game needs a easy refuel option when doing Air-air-refuel. Like if you're within 4 feet of the refuel box, that's close enough. Can't tell you how many times I've hit the stupid refuel tube only for it to refuse a connection. It's by far the most frustrating part of the game.


I just feel like shooting down the refuel tanker when I close in, just so I can have a sense of accomplishment. God knows I'm not refueling.
Teriander is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 02:34 AM   #2
USMC_Trev
Senior Member
 
USMC_Trev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Debtsville
Posts: 2,538
Default

The old LOMAC did that. Maybe the new MAC will have it and that'll be more your speed. This here's the real stuff.
__________________


Stapp's Law: The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle.

i7 4770K OC'ed to 4.7, GTX 1070 Seahawk (OC'ed), Oculus Rift CV1, 32Gb RAM, 64-bit Windows 10
USMC_Trev is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 02:53 AM   #3
Wizard_03
Member
 
Wizard_03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teriander View Post
This game needs a easy refuel option when doing Air-air-refuel. Like if you're within 4 feet of the refuel box, that's close enough. Can't tell you how many times I've hit the stupid refuel tube only for it to refuse a connection. It's by far the most frustrating part of the game.


I just feel like shooting down the refuel tanker when I close in, just so I can have a sense of accomplishment. God knows I'm not refueling.
It sounds like your chasing the basket, Look only at the tanker never the basket, just use the corner of you eye to watch the probe and basket, but keep your focus on the tanker the entire time.

Seems counter intuitive but it works, I promise you.

If you miss, don't try and fix it in close. Back on up and think about WHY you missed (Too low, High, Right or Left, ect.) Make the correction and try again.
Also if your having a hard time. Just try and fly close formation with the tanker, and relax for a bit then try again. It's a sim, there's no pressure.
__________________
DCS F/A-18C
Wizard_03 is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 03:04 AM   #4
Deano87
Senior Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,130
Default

Easy mode? Naaah. Make it harder, give me wake turbulence from the tanker and the hose and basket bobbing about in the airflow. And then when I screw up I break the basket off on my probe and the tanker has to jettison the flailing hose and I have to RTB with the cone of shame.

More seriously, just keep practicing dude. It’s meant to be hard, because it is pretty damn hard IRL. And this is a simulator after all... we are here because we are trying to simulate real life as closely as possible. When you DO finally crack it the satisfaction will be huge.

Lots of good tutorials on YouTube about it.
And start with baby steps of just trying to finesse your formation flying so you can hold station reasonably well before you start trying to hook up. Throttle control is super important and remember don’t chase the basket! I’ve found when teaching people and especially with a very light jet a bit of airbrake helps make the throttle a bit less sensitive, and having the afterburner gate fitted to your throttle (if your throttle has one) is also a good idea to stop you inadvertently going into AB during quick throttle movements.
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

Proud owner of:
PointCTRL VR : Finger Trackers for VR -- Real Simulator : FSSB R3L Force Sensing Stick. -- Deltasim : Force Sensor WH Slew Upgrade -- Mach3Ti Ring : Real Flown Mach 3 SR-71 Titanium, made into an amazing ring.

My Fathers Aviation Memoirs: 50 Years of Flying Fun - From Hunter to Spitfire and back again.
My Screenshots
Deano87 is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 03:37 AM   #5
Fropa
Junior Member
 
Fropa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 80
Default

Ah getting the first virtual "poke". Just keep at it, and utilize the curvature function in the settings menu for your control axes if you haven't already.
Fropa is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 03:58 AM   #6
micro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 15
Default

When i use old <CH HOTAS>, yes, I realy hope , It's mustbe have "Easy Mode" ! or Mission impossibel !

But, when i use my new <Warthog HOTAS > and set one Button to change Joystick Curve
EX:
"SetSCurve(&Joystick, JOYX, 0, 2, 0 , 0, -3);"
"SetSCurve(&Joystick, JOYY, 0, 2, 0 , 0, -3);"
"SetSCurve(&Throttle, THR_RIGHT, 0, 0, 0, 0, -2);"
"SetSCurve(&Throttle, THR_LEFT, 0, 0, 0, 0, -2);"

when to Refueling it's very helpful, pitch and roll control more stable
and i can finish refueling mission.

when i finish refueling , just press another button set Joystick to Noraml Curve
SetSCurve(&Joystick, JOYX, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0); //Scale set to "0"
SetSCurve(&Joystick, JOYY, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0); //Scale set to "0"
"SetSCurve(&Throttle, THR_RIGHT, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);" //Scale set to "0"
"SetSCurve(&Throttle, THR_LEFT, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0); //Scale set to "0"

Last edited by micro; 12-09-2018 at 12:24 PM.
micro is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 04:19 AM   #7
Gladman
Senior Member
 
Gladman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kitscoty, AB
Posts: 1,438
Default

Good HOTAS make a world of difference. I'm torn on the topic because I understand not all can have the good stuff.
__________________
i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz - ASUS Maximus Hero XI - 32GB 4266 DDR4 RAM - ASUS RTX 2080Ti - 1 TB NVME - NZXT Kraken 62 Watercooling System - Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas (Virpil Base) - MFG Crosswind Pedals - Pimax 5K+
VFA-25 Fist Of The Fleet
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic99190_2.gif
Gladman is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 04:38 AM   #8
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,876
Default

Practice man, and don't look at the basket. Refueling might actually get harder in the future when they add basket physics and possibly tanker turbulence.
__________________
i7 9700k@ 5GHZ - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 05:04 AM   #9
RePhil
Member
 
RePhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StandingCow View Post
Practice man, and don't look at the basket. Refueling might actually get harder in the future when they add basket physics and possibly tanker turbulence.
If you are getting the F-14 according to heat blur the have include wake turbulence for it so have fun
RePhil is offline  
Old 12-07-2018, 05:28 AM   #10
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,255
Default

Make sure to watch this really well done vid.



It's not easy and bad things can and do happen.
__________________

i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 32GB Corsair 3000Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Corsair HX850i Platinum 850W | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | VKB Gunfighter Pro

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.